Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 30 Jul 2012 (Monday) 16:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger

 
iituner
Senior Member
Avatar
326 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2012
Location: RUSSIA
     
Feb 08, 2013 20:21 |  #1876

CliveyBoy wrote in post #15588108 (external link)
Thanks, iituner. I have added the problem with 1D X to the listing, for the next revision.

I think that it is unlikely that Canon have changed the digital words that control these matters, as that would abandon all existing flashes. It is more likely to be the result of ever faster processors in the camera. Synchronising firing Group A and the camera reading the result, then Group B, then C is critical. The process is an outgoing instruction and synchronised, sequenced responses. Tricky.

Do Manual group levels still work? They are much simpler outgoing instructions, and I would expect them to work flawlessly.

Has this been reported to LiangGC ?

All features, including manual power control, works flawlessly
Problems only in the wireless E-TTLII with ratios in groups

I have not been in contact with Mr. LiangGC about this problem


WWW.YN622.RU (external link) CANON EOS 70D | EF 50mm F/1.4 USM | EF 24-105mm F/4L IS USM | EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS STM | JINBEI DPIII600 | EINSTEIN E-640+CC/CST/CSXCV/CSR | YONGNUO: YN600EX-RT, YN-E3-RT, YNE3-RX, YN622C-TX, YN622C, RF-605C | SHANNY: SN-E3-RT, SN600C-RT, SN-E3-RF, SN600EX-RF, SN600C-RF, SN600SC, SN600SN, SN910EX-RF | PIXEL X800C (bulb dead)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mixednuts
Member
96 posts
Joined Sep 2010
     
Feb 08, 2013 20:51 as a reply to  @ iituner's post |  #1877

I have a 40D, 3 YN-622's, a 580ex 2 and a YN 568.

I am thinking of upgrading bodies. Would a 7D, 6D or 5D mk3 offer an improved off camera flash experience. Would the menus work better? Sorry if this has been discussed. I suck at search.


7D, 10-22, 17-55, 70-200 2.8, Sig 30 1.4, Canon 40 2.8, Canon 85 1.8, 580EX2, Yong Nuo 568, Yong Nuo 622x3
A day without sunshine is like night.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
9,025 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Likes: 1105
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
Feb 08, 2013 21:45 |  #1878

mixednuts wrote in post #15589202 (external link)
I have a 40D, 3 YN-622's, a 580ex 2 and a YN 568.

I am thinking of upgrading bodies. Would a 7D, 6D or 5D mk3 offer an improved off camera flash experience. Would the menus work better? Sorry if this has been discussed. I suck at search.

With the YN-622 all three will be about the same. Its essentially a 580EXII as are as the camera is concerned. 6D and 5DIII offer ability to interoperate with 600EX-RT and its advanced features. These go beyond the ability of the YN-622. A 600EX-RT on a YN-622 on a 5DIII is a 580EXII as far as the camera is concerned.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
R.I.P.      He will be missed
Avatar
3,272 posts
Likes: 42
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Tauranga, NZ
     
Feb 08, 2013 22:25 |  #1879

mixednuts wrote in post #15589202 (external link)
I have a 40D, 3 YN-622's, a 580ex 2 and a YN 568. Would a 7D, 6D or 5D mk3 offer an improved off camera flash experience. Would the menus work better?

Better menus? - 7D, no. 6D or 5D III, definitely yes.

See the difference in TOYUG p11-13 (link in signature).


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.10 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DarkBoxPhotography
Senior Member
380 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Location: UK
     
Feb 09, 2013 02:45 |  #1880

CliveyBoy wrote in post #15588544 (external link)
Adrian - Yes, within limits. See Elv's Flash Havoc site (see post 1822.)

He reports that the RF603 may introduce a lowering of the usable shutter speed.

You can have Cam + 622 + 603 TX on top, and 603 + strobe, and 622 + speeedlite. You will get only 1st curtain sync.

If you use cam + 622 + pc-sync cord to 603 TX, you will get 1st or 2nd curtain sync.

Thanks Clive. Mounting 603 on top of 622 is not a problem and as long as there are no sync issues (ie speedlites fire before/after strobes for example), that will do.

I don't use HSS or 2nd curtain in my studio work anyway, so not an issue. In regards to shutter speed issues, as long as it is fine at 1/125s all is good.

I should know soon though, as I expect the delivery today.

Thanks again, Clive


Adrian
Gear
My website

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
losangelino
Senior Member
925 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 139
Joined Jul 2012
     
Feb 09, 2013 02:54 |  #1881

I think I will pull my trigger on this too. If i like it, then sell my radiopoppers. My st-e2 has been acting up.



Flickr (external link)
IG: @spyology (external link)
IG: @photomagicology (external link)
website: ClothesAndDagger.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amphoto11
Member
Avatar
38 posts
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Ragusa, Italy
     
Feb 09, 2013 07:32 |  #1882

CliveyBoy wrote in post #15588841 (external link)
I assume you were using the Metz 50 AF-1. The behaviour is that of faulty/intermittent contacts.

Clean the 5 contacts on all hotshoes and hotfeet.
Clean the insides of the rails (Ground).
Ensure the foot is pressed firmly forward, and clamp is full engaged.

"HSS went off"? Do you mean the flash LCD display stopped showing the HSS symbol? Bad contacts. That leaves the transmitting 622 in HSS so camera releases shutter block, and the remote 622 firing the flash in x-sync in pre-shutter/supersync mode. = black band.

Typically, this problem tends to polish itself off in use, but unaided it may takes weeks. The Strato's do not make use of the digital codes passing through the pins, so poor contacts are not revealled.

Thanks for reply Clive.
Yes I were using my two Metz.
I've talked with my assistant this morning, and we remembered that one flash unit was not fully tightened on the 622 unit, and was moving on the hot shoe itself with the weight.
I was assuming the HsS went off because of the black banding and camera not forcing to x-sync shutter speed of 1/200.
So I think we found the problem, bad contact of the rails because of not tightened flash.

Yes, I understood the difference of the Strato, they not transmit any data on the rail(s) but fire signal only.

The time was running out that day and we changed the flash unit with the gelled CTO one we had in the bag, so my assistant forgot to tight it.
Now that I remember he forgot to tight the flash on the 622 and the 622 itself on the cold shot adapter.
Infact the unit fallen on the ground.
The 622 survived with no structural damage.
I can say they are very well built.


Canon EOS 5D Mark II gripped, EOS 7D gripped, 5D gripped | Canon 14mm f2.8 L II USM | Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L USM | Canon 70-200mm f4 L IS USM | Canon 85mm f1.8 USM | 2x Metz 50 af-1 | YN 622C | Phottix Strato II Multi | 2x Bowens Esprit DX 500 | Blackrapid DR-1
website (external link) | wedding (external link) | facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sherpa25
Member
55 posts
Joined Nov 2012
     
Feb 09, 2013 08:51 |  #1883

Can I use a 603 (for remote shutter release) with the 622?
Setup as follows:
- 622 on top of camera, 603 on top of 622. (Plug the 2.5mm cable that comes with the 603, into the 60d)
- slave flash on 622.
- 603 as shutter release

I have a friend who has 603's that I can borrow easily, and thought this might even be better than using the standard wireless shutter release, w/c is only IR.


Canon EOS 60D | Σ17-50 f2.8 | Canon 50mm f1.8 | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f3.5-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
R.I.P.      He will be missed
Avatar
3,272 posts
Likes: 42
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Tauranga, NZ
     
Feb 09, 2013 09:01 |  #1884

Yes, but not in that configuration. The 622 will actively fire the 603 as a flash.

Park the 603RX somewhere else, and trigger it with the 603TX in the usual way.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.10 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sherpa25
Member
55 posts
Joined Nov 2012
     
Feb 09, 2013 09:20 |  #1885

CliveyBoy wrote in post #15590480 (external link)
Yes, but not in that configuration. The 622 will actively fire the 603 as a flash.

Park the 603RX somewhere else, and trigger it with the 603TX in the usual way.

Oh, right. Is this the correct setup?

- 622 on top of camera (w/ or w/o on-cam flash)
- slave flash on 622
- hanging 603 with 2.5mm cable plugged into the 60d
- 603 as shutter release.


Canon EOS 60D | Σ17-50 f2.8 | Canon 50mm f1.8 | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f3.5-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ksbal
Goldmember
Avatar
2,585 posts
Gallery: 331 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 2015
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.E. Kansas
     
Feb 09, 2013 10:42 |  #1886

Here is the set up, same flash, one with RF-603, one with YN-622. One of each on board the top of my 50D.

The fun part is you need 4 603's to pull this off. One on top the 622, one on the flash. one plugged into the remote trigger on the camera, and one in hand.
Took me forever :oops: to figure out that you are flash fire when using the hotshoe or bottom foot on the 603 and you must have it plugged in with the jack into the side of the camera to use it as a remote.
If there is a way to cut out a 603 or two, I'm all ears. Hope the illustration is helpful.

If all you need is a remote, then you only need the pair of 603's.. but I presume you have at least 1 622 on camera hot shoe, and then one for each flash to be fired.

BUT.. with the new YN-560III... you will still need a 603 on top of the 622 on camera.. but that should fire the 560III unit.. as many as you have of them.

IMAGE: http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8385/8457939931_d1e4f2d701_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …ddenrockranch/8​457939931/  (external link)
One603One622SetUp (external link) by Hidden Rock Ranch (external link), on Flickr

Here is the proof, both fire off the RF-603 held in my hand.

IMAGE: http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8373/8457940035_e727a77a7f_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …ddenrockranch/8​457940035/  (external link)
One603One622 (external link) by Hidden Rock Ranch (external link), on Flickr

Godox/Flashpoint r2 system, plus some canon stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ksbal
Goldmember
Avatar
2,585 posts
Gallery: 331 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 2015
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.E. Kansas
     
Feb 09, 2013 10:55 |  #1887

sherpa25 wrote in post #15590531 (external link)
Oh, right. Is this the correct setup?

- 622 on top of camera (w/ or w/o on-cam flash)
- slave flash on 622
- hanging 603 with 2.5mm cable plugged into the 60d
- 603 as shutter release.

Yes, that should work.


Godox/Flashpoint r2 system, plus some canon stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sherpa25
Member
55 posts
Joined Nov 2012
     
Feb 09, 2013 11:16 |  #1888

ksbal wrote in post #15590792 (external link)
If all you need is a remote, then you only need the pair of 603's.. but I presume you have at least 1 622 on camera hot shoe, and then one for each flash to be fired.

Thanks. Yes, I was only looking at being able to use a remote shutter release.

ksbal wrote in post #15590792 (external link)
BUT.. with the new YN-560III... you will still need a 603 on top of the 622 on camera.. but that should fire the 560III unit.. as many as you have of them.

But w/ 0 or 1 on-cam flash, and 1 or more slave flashes, I believe the 622 will be able to handle them too, right? In other words, a pair of 603's only for remote shutter release, and 622's to drive all flashes (on and off-cam) in E-TTL. On the other hand, the lower priced 603 would be better if slaves would be used only in manual. Is this correct?


Canon EOS 60D | Σ17-50 f2.8 | Canon 50mm f1.8 | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f3.5-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stone ­ 13
Goldmember
Avatar
1,690 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
     
Feb 09, 2013 11:34 |  #1889

I'm still experimenting with multiple speedlites, but I have a question:

I have Canon 430 & a YN 568EX with 3 622Cs and I'm noticing a very slight delay between the 2 flashes firing. The 568EX always seems to fire a millisecond or so sooner than the 430, I can swap transceivers between the camera and flashes and it still behaves the same way. I placed the flashes side-by-side and it's very noticeable although I haven't seen any problems with my exposures. Is this normal?


Ken
Fujifilm X100T | 5D III gripped |35L | 24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 85 1.8 | 430 EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX | Billingham 445 | Think Tank UD 60 |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tpatana
Senior Member
460 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
     
Feb 09, 2013 12:07 |  #1890

Did some testing yesterday with 5D3 and the Neewer 300DI strobes. Everything else was ok, but when going faster than 1/200, the top part of the frame started to get darker compared to bottom, and the difference was more obvious the faster I went. At 1/2000 is started to be obvious, and 1/8000 was already quite bad, most of light was only at the bottom part.

Not sure what would do that. Shutter comes down from top, right? That'd maybe mean the strobes are not fully on yet when the shutter already is moving, and towards the bottom I'm getting more light. Maybe? Or something else?


Have: Many cameras with some Ls
Kendo.Photography (external link) / Kendo@Facebook (external link) / TeroPhotography.com (external link) / Tero@Facebook (external link) / CF card Speedtest on my gear (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

714,284 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bsowde
681 guests, 308 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.