Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 10 Aug 2012 (Friday) 07:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Nothing but trouble with Intuos 5

 
aepoc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
438 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Madison, WI
     
Nov 23, 2012 12:57 |  #61

I understand, but that's very difficult to do. I'm not going to work on an inferior laptop when my desktop SCREAMS with everything else.


Canon 7D+grip, 40D+grip, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L, Canon 60mm f/2.8, Canon 28mm f/1.8, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 430ex flash, Canon 430ex II flash
aepoc.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
my blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kouasupra
Goldmember
2,750 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 471
Joined May 2008
Location: Fresno/Clovis, CA
     
Nov 23, 2012 13:47 |  #62

aepoc wrote in post #15278979 (external link)
It's custom, I built it, and I know what I'm doing. The HD is fine, though I am thinking of moving to an SSD at some point soon just to see if that's going to help the performance of Lightroom (4), so perhaps that will help. The computer is fine in every other way except Lightroom, and the tablet. And the performance of LR4 is a widely-known issue. The tablet issues didn't happen on the other computer because I haven't been able to invest the required amount of time in order to test it thoroughly. I think I was only able to put a few hours of editing into editing on the laptop; I have too much other work to get done that needs to be done on my machine. Besides, other people have this issue as well. Sounds like something with the Windows 7 64-bit driver, and Wacom isn't exactly looking at it.

All do respect, replacing the computer is not an option. I refuse to replace it in order to make a $350 tablet work the way it is designed to work. This is not my issue, or my computer's issue, it's Wacom's. If it was on my end, my system would show other signs of something wrong, and it doesn't.

If it works fine with your laptop then it's your PC computer. If it's a custom built I would start by swapping out your HD. Either your HD or RAM is corrupted. I have built plenty of computers for customers who uses Wacom products without a problem. If your going to grab a SSD I would definitely do it. If that doesn't solved the problem then at least that's one process of elimination you don't have to worry about.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Nov 23, 2012 16:49 |  #63

aepoc wrote in post #15278979 (external link)
The HD is fine, though I am thinking of moving to an SSD at some point soon just to see if that's going to help the performance of Lightroom (4), so perhaps that will help.

Even putting tablets and lightroom aside, I highly recommend adding an SSD. You wont regret it.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thirtyfivefifty
Member
171 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Oct 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
     
Nov 24, 2012 01:28 |  #64

I think it's a Windows 7 issue.


tools

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,692 views & 0 likes for this thread
Nothing but trouble with Intuos 5
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is miltiades
1927 guests, 319 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.