Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 20 Aug 2012 (Monday) 10:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Tripod selection help

J.Litton
Goldmember
1,741 posts
Joined Jan 2010

Aug 20, 2012 10:52 |  #1

I am a noob for the most part when it comes to Tripod shooting. I have always been a handheld only type guy for the nature photography I do, but I want to expand and start doing better landscapes, long exposures, and night photography. Obviously to do this I will need a tripod.

I am looking for a tripod to ONLY do landscape and night photography, it will never be holding any of my tele lenses.

I am looking for the total cost to be around $350 for the tripod and head. I plan on using it with my 7D and 17-40 lens.

I have been very happy with Induro monopods and have been looking at the Induro AT214 tripod with the BHD2 head.

http://www.amazon.com …LJB&coliid=I156​0CUT1DRRSC (external link)

http://www.amazon.com …1-1&keywords=induro+at21​4 (external link)

7D MK II.17-40L.100-400L.500L
www.jlitton.com (external link)
www.facebook.com/jlitt​on.nature.photography (external link)

sponsored links
DavidR
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Nov 2008

Aug 20, 2012 17:16 |  #2

How tall are you? I'm 6-0 and the extra height that the AT313 (I have the Benro equivalent) has came in handy for me many times.

M10 - ZM 21mm - Elmarit 28mm-CV - Nokton 50mm f/1.2 - Elmarit 90mm

HaroldC3
Goldmember
3,038 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Joined May 2007

Aug 20, 2012 17:25 |  #3