Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 01 Sep 2012 (Saturday) 22:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Phottix Odin (in studio)

 
Stickman
Goldmember
Avatar
1,964 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2006
     
Sep 01, 2012 22:52 |  #1

Anyone using these to trigger their studio lights? I'm getting a clean 1/250th in studio.

If anyone knows how to make them cheat and go a little higher, it would open up a world of options for outside the studio.

Anyone able to synch higher with AB 1600s or something else?

Thanks!

ETA- I didn't put this in the other Phottix thread as that one was geared towards ETTL.


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
14,836 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 151
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Sep 01, 2012 23:34 |  #2

I really should give it a go with my Elinchroms, could be interesting to see what I can get out of them.


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stickman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,964 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2006
     
Sep 02, 2012 00:17 |  #3

Moppie wrote in post #14936696 (external link)
I really should give it a go with my Elinchroms, could be interesting to see what I can get out of them.

Agreed, with other units being able to HSS (or a variant of HSS), I would think Phottix could make that mod through firmware and sell it as an upgrade if they really wanted to.

Either that or its already possible, and we just haven't heard about how to do it.


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
14,836 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 151
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Sep 02, 2012 05:02 |  #4

I've heard of people making it working using HSS on the odins, just haven't tried it.


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
elv
Goldmember
1,482 posts
Likes: 177
Joined Jul 2006
     
Sep 02, 2012 05:08 as a reply to  @ Stickman's post |  #5

Yes its already possible, all you do is put the TCU in HSS mode and start using any shutter speed.

Results will vary depending on lights and camera and its usually best to use full power on the monolights. Works best with lights with long flash duration, the AB1600 should go ok.


FLASHHAVOC.COM (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
Senior Member
Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Fresno CA
     
Sep 02, 2012 18:24 |  #6

I have got HHS to work with my AB and Einsteins.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stickman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,964 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2006
     
Sep 02, 2012 18:55 |  #7

sempaidavid wrote in post #14939508 (external link)
I have got HHS to work with my AB and Einsteins.

That is good to hear, using which camera body or bodies? In manual or TTL?


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
Senior Member
Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Fresno CA
     
Sep 02, 2012 22:56 |  #8

Stickman wrote in post #14939601 (external link)
That is good to hear, using which camera body or bodies? In manual or TTL?

There is no TTL on AB, or any strobes that I know of. I tested it on my my 7d. I should test on my 1d mkIV and 5d mkIII now. I just have got around to it.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stickman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,964 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2006
     
Sep 02, 2012 22:59 |  #9

sempaidavid wrote in post #14940322 (external link)
There is no TTL on AB, or any strobes that I know of. I tested it on my my 7d. I should test on my 1d mkIV and 5d mkIII now. I just have got around to it.

Obviously not on the strobes.... how would the a strobe see "TTL"? I should have phrased it differently, my bad. :D


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
elv
Goldmember
1,482 posts
Likes: 177
Joined Jul 2006
     
Sep 02, 2012 23:47 as a reply to  @ Stickman's post |  #10

It doesn't matter if you have the TCU on ETTL or manual.

I set it to manual just out of logic, but it was sempaidavid's comments earlier that made me realise it makes not difference. Just turn HSS on, on the TCU and you're good to go.


FLASHHAVOC.COM (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
Senior Member
Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Fresno CA
     
Sep 03, 2012 17:50 |  #11

So I just tried to achieve this again so I could post examples and it was a no go. Not sure if it has anything to do with me recently updating my Odins firmware.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lukx
Member
Avatar
193 posts
Joined Sep 2008
     
Sep 04, 2012 01:34 |  #12

I though Odin works only with hotshoe flashes ?


www.lukx.com (external link) :: cgi

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stickman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,964 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2006
     
Sep 04, 2012 02:13 |  #13

sempaidavid wrote in post #14943473 (external link)
So I just tried to achieve this again so I could post examples and it was a no go. Not sure if it has anything to do with me recently updating my Odins firmware.

I got mine to work, and now it won't. I can't figure out if I changed a setting or what happened.


Stick
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/stickgunner/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
anshum_m
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Jun 2010
     
Apr 28, 2014 22:29 as a reply to  @ Stickman's post |  #14

Sempaidavid, Stickman... I used my phottix odin's with my elinchrom master rx strobes a week back and was able to perfectly sync even at 1/8000. And yet yesterday when I tried the same in an actual shoot situation, it failed. Seems u both faced the same problem. Were you able to find out why it occurred or how to overcome it? I know this is now a really old thread but i really need to hear back on this. Thanks in advance!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chris_holtmeier
Goldmember
Avatar
2,155 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2310
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Omaha
     
Apr 28, 2014 22:33 |  #15

Wow, necro-bump.

anshum, I know this sounds like a stupid question, but did you have the transmitter in HSS mode?



https://www.facebook.c​om/FotonFoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,657 views & 0 likes for this thread
Phottix Odin (in studio)
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Ellie.outram2002
1056 guests, 299 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.