Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Sep 2012 (Tuesday) 14:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1Dx WILL focus with f8 !!

 
Evan
Goldmember
Avatar
1,327 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Oregon
     
Sep 05, 2012 03:04 |  #16

umphotography wrote in post #14949260 (external link)
Any reports if the 5D3 has the same results ??

5d3 didn't work with the kenko. He first tried it on the 5d3, didn't work, so he tried it on 1dx.


--
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Neilyb
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,200 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Munich
     
Sep 05, 2012 03:45 |  #17

Not a fan of RTs shots to be honest and the 1200mm ones don't look great even at 1000px. I would guess taping pins on a mkIII TC would yield better results.


http://natureimmortal.​blogspot.com (external link)

http://www.natureimmor​tal.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
modchild
Goldmember
Avatar
1,469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Lincoln, Uk
     
Sep 05, 2012 05:25 |  #18

My Kenko 1.4x Pro300 DGX reports properly on all the bodies I've tried it on and it also retains AF up to f8 on the bodies too. I had a Canon 100-400 IS L with working AF throughout the range on everything from a 550D, 60D, 7D, 5D2 and 5D3. It was still fast for AF and there's hardly any IQ drop off as well and well worth the money I paid for it. On my Canon 70-200 2.8 MkII it gives me at least the same IQ with the Kenko 1.4x as my Canon MkIII 2x converter does but the Kenko is less than half the price of the Canon.


EOS 5D MkIII, EOS 70D, EOS 650D, EOS M, Canon 24-70 f2.8L MkII, Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII, Canon 100 f2.8L Macro, Canon 17-40 f4L IS, Canon 24-105 f4L IS, Canon 300 f4L IS, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50 f1.4, Canon 40 f2.8 STM, Canon 35 f2, Sigma 150-500 OS, Tamron 18-270 PZD, Tamron 28-300 VC, 580EX II Flash, Nissin Di866 MkII Flash, Sigma EM 140 Macro Flash and other bits.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,286 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Sep 05, 2012 06:38 as a reply to  @ modchild's post |  #19

If it does focus with the cameras mentioned then it does not report its presence properly. That's it. Perhaps it only reports the focal length?


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,505 posts
Likes: 3433
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Sep 05, 2012 08:42 |  #20

BirdBoy wrote in post #14949660 (external link)
5d3 didn't work with the kenko. He first tried it on the 5d3, didn't work, so he tried it on 1dx.

Funny and I hear folks saying 1.4xTC works fine on f5.6 lens on 5dmk3. I can try but don't have any f5.6 lens.

If TC in non reporting, it will AF on any camera body. Now the AF might be slow. It is same since old 10d days. Heck 2x non reporting tamron TC worked fine when using horizontal AF points on the original digital rebel about 10 yrs ago.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,286 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Sep 05, 2012 09:20 as a reply to  @ bobbyz's post |  #21

It's the same since the dawn of the EOS system, long before image recording went from chemical to digital.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mileslong24
Senior Member
508 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jun 2011
     
Sep 05, 2012 21:01 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #22

Maybe I need clarification on what "reporting" means. My Kenko 1.4 when used on my T3i with my 400 5.6L shows F8 on camera and EXIF and still has AF. It works very well with little IQ hit and focus speed is still really good.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,505 posts
Likes: 3433
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Sep 05, 2012 22:25 |  #23

mileslong24 wrote in post #14953060 (external link)
Maybe I need clarification on what "reporting" means. My Kenko 1.4 when used on my T3i with my 400 5.6L shows F8 on camera and EXIF and still has AF. It works very well with little IQ hit and focus speed is still really good.

It it reports f8 on camera then your camera can't AF. If it is doing it something special on that camera. Only non rpeorting 1.4xTC will let you AF as with it camera still thinks it is f5.6 even though it is f8.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mileslong24
Senior Member
508 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jun 2011
     
Sep 06, 2012 10:22 |  #24

bobbyz wrote in post #14953416 (external link)
It it reports f8 on camera then your camera can't AF. If it is doing it something special on that camera. Only non rpeorting 1.4xTC will let you AF as with it camera still thinks it is f5.6 even though it is f8.


I just said that my camera DOES say F8 and all images taken with it report it as F8 in the EXIF and it still has AF.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
phreeky
Goldmember
3,514 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Australia
     
Sep 06, 2012 10:29 |  #25

bobbyz wrote in post #14953416 (external link)
It it reports f8 on camera then your camera can't AF. If it is doing it something special on that camera. Only non rpeorting 1.4xTC will let you AF as with it camera still thinks it is f5.6 even though it is f8.

Kenko DGX teleconverters report the correct f-stop but still AF. Just like a Kenko Pro DGX 1.4x with a 400mm F/5.6 on a 7D will show a maximum of F/8 on the LCD, the EXIF will be correct, but it will still AF.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sportsshooter50
Member
249 posts
Joined Nov 2008
     
Sep 06, 2012 15:00 |  #26

I was just curious if the Kenko teleconverters worked consistently well even under not so great lighting conditions. Considering some of the posters' experiences, I'm also a little puzzled by the following statement from THK's site:

1. Most Canon EOS camera bodies are programmed to shut down auto focus if the calculated effective aperture for the lens and teleconverter is smaller than f/5.6, the Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 converters work the same way.

Does this mean that Kenko does not support or guarantee focusing at f8?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
petrus
Mostly Lurking
18 posts
Joined Nov 2003
     
Oct 11, 2012 16:01 |  #27

1dx with 500/4 and Kenko 2x dgx reports F8, autofocus works excellent in all conditions, result is sharp, however needs 2 step under exposure (or even more), colors seem cooler (in RAW) than with Canon 1,4 x extender. EXIF reports focal length 1000 AND F8. On top of this AF works with ALL focus points.
7D AF works in good light and on high contrast targets only with same combination 500/4 and Kenko 2x DXG.
I also tried the old version of Kenko DX 2x, tried the tape trick on Canon 2x extender. These two tests were both no-go with the 1Dx.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,204 views & 0 likes for this thread
1Dx WILL focus with f8 !!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is txlaflash
781 guests, 242 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.