Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 18 Sep 2012 (Tuesday) 10:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How is this done in CS6?

 
Shooting
Goldmember
Avatar
1,552 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 18, 2012 10:59 |  #1

Watch this video and tell me how he done what he done. I cannot figure it out. Can someone explain it to me? I mean how did he open the image that was there in raw by clicking on the layer and did he have those settings already premade for just that image or can you do it for any image..help please.


http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=gpiLBxx5xAQ&f​eature=share&list=PLBA​16F332CBB5E2AA (external link)

Thank you.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kirkt
Cream of the Crop
5,869 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 659
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
     
Sep 18, 2012 13:36 |  #2

He had already opened the original raw file via Adobe Camera Raw and converted it to a Smart Object for Photoshop. If you open a raw image (via ACR) as a Smart Object in PS, you preserve the ability to link back to the original raw and tweak the settings and re-render them back into the Smart Object within PS.

While in ACR, hold down the SHIFT key and the Open Image button will change to Open Object. Hit the Open Object button and the rendered raw image will appear in PS as a Smart Object. Now, if you double click on the Smart Object, you will reopen the image in the ACR interface where you can make changes to the raw and re-render it back to PS.

An example - let's say you have a raw you want to edit. You open it in ACR and make your slider edits and hold SHIFT to Open Object in PS. The image now comes into PS as a Smart Object. You start to make additional edits and you realize that the white balance needs to be warmer. So, you double-click the Smart Object, opening the image back up in ACR, and make your WB changes and boom - the new raw edits reappear in the Smart Object in PS. WIth all of the other PS Smart Object filter edits re-applied on top of the edited raw.

You must maintain the Smart Object as a Smart Object for this to work - if you rasterize it, the Smartness is lost.

kirk


Kirk
---
images: http://kirkt.smugmug.c​om (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,552 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 18, 2012 17:12 as a reply to  @ kirkt's post |  #3

Hey...that is great info..thanks. One more question if you don't mind. When he clicked on the Snapshot icon, it says Adobe Camera Raw 7.0 or something like that ..when he clicked on it, it changed the image..how did he get that in the snapshots??




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
Avatar
3,859 posts
Likes: 91
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ky
     
Sep 18, 2012 18:47 |  #4

I would guess he made all the adjustments first, created the snapshot, reverted to defaults and opened as a Smart Object in PS.


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,552 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 19, 2012 15:03 |  #5

D Thompson wrote in post #15011220 (external link)
I would guess he made all the adjustments first, created the snapshot, reverted to defaults and opened as a Smart Object in PS.

Ok..then the snapshot would only be for that one image..it would work for that image only, right?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
Avatar
3,859 posts
Likes: 91
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ky
     
Sep 19, 2012 16:17 |  #6

Shooting wrote in post #15015192 (external link)
Ok..then the snapshot would only be for that one image..it would work for that image only, right?

Two ways to handle this. One would be to apply the Snapshot and then save those settings as a Preset. The second would be to bring the image with the Snapshot and other images into ACR, click on the image with the Snapshot, then select (ctl+click) other images, go to the Snapshot tab and click the Snapshot desired which should apply those same settings to all selected images.


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,552 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 19, 2012 18:28 |  #7

D Thompson wrote in post #15015536 (external link)
Two ways to handle this. One would be to apply the Snapshot and then save those settings as a Preset. The second would be to bring the image with the Snapshot and other images into ACR, click on the image with the Snapshot, then select (ctl+click) other images, go to the Snapshot tab and click the Snapshot desired which should apply those same settings to all selected images.

Ok thank you..mercy, I have a lot to learn on stuff like this.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,574 views & 0 likes for this thread
How is this done in CS6?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is CoolGuy5Million
1096 guests, 239 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.