Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 22 Sep 2012 (Saturday) 01:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Two 5dmkii and different iso quality

 
rapurimanka
Member
140 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Moscow
     
Sep 22, 2012 01:30 |  #1

I've got two different 5d mark ii cameras, on both i took picture with closed lens on the same setting on hi iso. And mine is more noisy then my partners :(

Take a look:
me
https://dl.dropbox.com​/u/5020311/Compare/640​0.JPG (external link)
friends
https://dl.dropbox.com …mpare/6400%28vi​ach%29.JPG (external link)
raw
https://dl.dropbox.com​/u/5020311/Compare/640​0.zip (external link)

What is it? (((

I really need these iso's

Can anyone with latest firmware preset same photo with closed lens and viewfinder. On iso 3200-6400-12800. Raw files


6D | Canon 85 1.8 | Canon 24-105 4 | Lightroom 4
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/27393138@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
-dave-m-
Senior Member
491 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 49
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
     
Sep 22, 2012 01:45 |  #2

If you are going to compare bodies you should at least make sure all the settings are the same. One body has long exposure noise reduction set to auto and high iso noise reduction on, the other body has both disabled.


5D MkII Gripped | 7D MkII Gripped | 200 f/2.8L | 17-40 f/4L | Σ 24-105 OS f/4 Art | Σ 50 f/1.4 Art | Σ 150-600 OS f/5-6.3 C | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rapurimanka
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
140 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Moscow
     
Sep 22, 2012 01:48 |  #3

I converted files from raw where i disabled these things. This settings affect only camera jpg, not raw files.

I was converting via dpp


6D | Canon 85 1.8 | Canon 24-105 4 | Lightroom 4
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/27393138@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
evilr00t
Senior Member
304 posts
Joined May 2008
     
Sep 22, 2012 04:55 as a reply to  @ rapurimanka's post |  #4

Long exposure noise reduction affects the raw file. Disable it on both and try again.

FWIW noise should increase if you use LENR because you're doubling read noise -> banding noise. You do get one thing: removal of hot pixels, but you can do this in software post-capture. Whether it's worth the extra noise is up to you (or the convenience of not having to do dark frame subtraction).

EDIT: Checked pictures. Yep, the one with LENR enabled is noisier. SCIENCE


XTi, 1D3, 2x SB-28, 580EX, 550EX, Tamron 28-75, 50/1.8, "EF" 18-55 II, "EF" 18-55 IS, 85/1.8, 75-300 III USM, 70-200/4L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hbomb69
Senior Member
Avatar
255 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Lancashire, UK
     
Sep 22, 2012 06:07 as a reply to  @ evilr00t's post |  #5

No, I agree...the In camera NR does Not affect the Raw Files...


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.uk (external link)
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
2,640 posts
Likes: 343
Joined Jan 2010
     
Sep 22, 2012 06:25 |  #6

hbomb69 wrote in post #15027212 (external link)
No, I agree...the In camera NR does Not affect the Raw Files...

LENR and high-ISO NR are two completely different things. LENR affects the RAW, because it is actually 2 RAWs, one subtracted from the other, the second with the shutter closed. This increases random noise by 41.4%, but kills the effect of thermal noise that is the same in every frame.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
Avatar
2,099 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Bourbon, Indiana
     
Sep 22, 2012 06:31 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

Both of these cameras are complete junk. Send them to me immediately.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rapurimanka
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
140 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 10
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Moscow
     
Sep 22, 2012 09:51 |  #8

Tried with LENR set to off, same picture.


6D | Canon 85 1.8 | Canon 24-105 4 | Lightroom 4
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/27393138@N08/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
babel_fish
Goldmember
Avatar
1,826 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
     
Sep 22, 2012 12:46 |  #9

Reload firmware on both and reset all custom and user settings and try again.


"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time." -Bertrand Russell
"dude, are you even paying attention!,
Mike

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Todd ­ Lambert
I don't like titles
Avatar
12,625 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 123
Joined May 2009
Location: On The Roads Across America
     
Sep 22, 2012 12:56 |  #10

I think the noise pattern is the same on both, it's just that yours has a magenta cast while your friends is more purple. The purple isn't as visible as the magenta, and so it appears noisier. This could be from difference in White Balance, too.

I think your camera is fine, but that you may need to adjust your PP to account for this magenta cast.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
Avatar
2,099 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Bourbon, Indiana
     
Sep 22, 2012 14:51 |  #11
bannedPermanent ban

Todd Lambert wrote in post #15028316 (external link)
I think the noise pattern is the same on both, it's just that yours has a magenta cast while your friends is more purple. The purple isn't as visible as the magenta, and so it appears noisier. This could be from difference in White Balance, too.

I think your camera is fine, but that you may need to adjust your PP to account for this magenta cast.

I'm pretty sure WB settings do not affect the .cr2 file.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
2,640 posts
Likes: 343
Joined Jan 2010
     
Sep 22, 2012 14:55 |  #12

TSchrief wrote in post #15028636 (external link)
I'm pretty sure WB settings do not affect the .cr2 file.

It doesn't affect the RAW image, just the metadata; however, the OP has never seen the RAW files. The OP has seen conversions, which may be affected differently by different metadata.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JohnB57
Goldmember
1,507 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England
     
Sep 22, 2012 15:11 |  #13

John Sheehy wrote in post #15028653 (external link)
It doesn't affect the RAW image, just the metadata; however, the OP has never seen the RAW files. The OP has seen conversions, which may be affected differently by different metadata.

You can't see raw files - they have to be converted to view them. That doesn't mean your point about camera settings is incorrect, but it could be worth using another program such as PS to convert the raw files for comparison.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
17,753 posts
Gallery: 35 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1514
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Sep 22, 2012 15:12 |  #14

If you try it again, make sure both cameras are let to cool and are put on at the same moment before comparison shoot. The difference could simply be motherboard heat level.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
Avatar
2,099 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Bourbon, Indiana
     
Sep 22, 2012 15:54 |  #15
bannedPermanent ban

John Sheehy wrote in post #15028653 (external link)
It doesn't affect the RAW image, just the metadata; however, the OP has never seen the RAW files. The OP has seen conversions, which may be affected differently by different metadata.

Yes. Of course. I did not think of that aspect.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,048 views & 0 likes for this thread
Two 5dmkii and different iso quality
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is masoudyas
925 guests, 329 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.