Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 14 Oct 2012 (Sunday) 17:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Pocketwizard Troubleshooting

 
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Oct 14, 2012 17:10 |  #1

I received a used set of 1x MiniTT1 and 2 x FlexTT5s for cheap, played around with them a bit to find they were not triggering reliably so I downloaded the utility software and found a whole bunch of custom settings. I took this as a good sign so I updated the firmware and did a factory reset on all of them.

End result of which is:

Only one FlexTT5 will trigger when I'm using the MiniTT1, and it is always the same one. (Using the working FlexTT5 I still get the occasional missed trigger. I did check the PW blog and used their startup sequence ie. Flash, FlexTT5, MiniTT1, then camera.)

So far it seems like one of the FlexTT5s is faulty, except when I hit the test button on either FlexTT5, the other will trigger.

Any more troubleshooting steps to try before I entertain getting these looked at?


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,520 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 162
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Oct 14, 2012 22:17 |  #2

batteries...
most of my miscommunication issues are resolved with a fresh set of batteries

another test you can do is use a TT5 instead of a TT1 as the transmitter... i find a TT5 to be slightly better (both in reliability and distance)... probably not by much, but it appears to be...


5D IV / EOS R / 7D2 / 1D IV I BADLY WANT A 1D X
24-105L, 100-400L, 100L, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
Sig35A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Oct 15, 2012 12:40 |  #3

Have been using fresh batteries with the exception of the CR2450 in the TT1, I found one at Walmart the other day for $12.95!!! I skipped that purchase...

I did consider using a TT5 solely as a transmitter since it seems to trigger consistently that way.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eaphotos
Member
Avatar
160 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Oct 15, 2012 13:45 as a reply to  @ joeblack2022's post |  #4

I sold my TT1 and went to using just TT5's because of the batteries. I like just having to carry one type of battery for everything.


Canon 1D Mark IV / Canon 7D gripped / Canon 10-22mm / Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 / Canon 24-70mm f2.8L / Canon 70-200mm f2.8L / Canon 50mm f1.4 / AB800 (x3) / 430 EXii (x2) / Vivitar 285HV / PocketWizard Plus III(x5)
ericabneyphotos.com (external link)
facebook.com/EricAbney​photos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CptTripps
Senior Member
Avatar
567 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, AK.
     
Oct 21, 2012 14:29 |  #5

Which flashes are you using? Just curious if you have 580's and are experiencing noise issues.


60D - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - 50mm 1.8 ImkII - 18-135 IS - 70-200 2.8 mkII - 2x430ex II - 3xFlextt5+AC3 - Einstein 640 w/mc2 - Vagabond Mini

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Oct 21, 2012 21:41 |  #6

CptTripps wrote in post #15150516 (external link)
Which flashes are you using? Just curious if you have 580's and are experiencing noise issues.

420EX and 430EX II, as far as I know they aren't associated with the noise issue.

Results are the same even without the flashes on and just using the test button while watching for the receiver LEDs to light up, though haven't had a chance to play with them lately.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,202 views & 0 likes for this thread
Pocketwizard Troubleshooting
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is RobDMB
813 guests, 297 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.