Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Oct 2012 (Tuesday) 08:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5DmkIII firmware, f8 focus!!!

 
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
10,882 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 2688
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
     
Oct 24, 2012 15:26 |  #46

narlus wrote in post #15162666 (external link)
that very well could be your experience.

it's definitely not mine, nor other concert photographers I know.


Ditto.. It probably does not matter much if you can get it to lock at F/3.5 and up. Try putting in on a brides face at F/2.8 and have it lock on her chest because you cant see where to put it...totally sucks.. you can guess. Sucks if you want to shoot shallow and not be able to put the focal point where you want it.....you can work around it,, But WHY !! Just fix the darn thing,,,,stupid design here. Obviously an engineer that has no clue to real world situations designed this... other than F/8 and the black boxes in servo.. this camera is darn near perfect. Love it.


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Scrumhalf
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,427 posts
Gallery: 61 photos
Likes: 3910
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Portland OR USA
     
Oct 24, 2012 15:31 |  #47

Now that this is coming for the 5d3, is there a good reason why this cannot happen for the 7D? I am seriously thinking of 7D + 100-400, + 1.4XTC and would love AF without resorting to the tape trick.


Sam
5D4 | 6D | 7D2 (2 bodies) | Reasonably good glass
Gear List

If I don't get the shots I want with the gear I have, the only optics I need to examine is the mirror on the bathroom wall. The root cause will be there.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,005 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5835
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Oct 24, 2012 17:21 |  #48

Scrumhalf wrote in post #15164387 (external link)
Now that this is coming for the 5d3, is there a good reason why this cannot happen for the 7D? I am seriously thinking of 7D + 100-400, + 1.4XTC and would love AF without resorting to the tape trick.

Well to be fair, you do the tape trick once and once only, and never worry about it again. I really don't consider the tape trick to be something tedious.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 24, 2012 17:22 |  #49

digital paradise wrote in post #15160718 (external link)
OK here I'm lost and need to ask. AF red points - please explain? I can set up my view finder so that the FP lights up red but then goes black again. My 7D does the same thing. I'm not familiar or perhaps can't remember any other scenario.

sempaidavid wrote in post #15160386 (external link)
I wanted the REd until I saw how it was implemented on the 1Dx. Really disappointing.

narlus wrote in post #15160986 (external link)
is it worse than keeping the AF squares black?

Check out this video demo of the new 1DX FW: http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=qvblwDEeR7k (external link)


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
10,882 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 2688
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
     
Oct 24, 2012 17:31 |  #50

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15164873 (external link)
Check out this video demo of the new 1DX FW: http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=qvblwDEeR7k (external link)


saw it... way better than it is right now especially for dark venues. At least you can see what its hitting.


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,435 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 24, 2012 18:11 |  #51

Dumb question - Why it has to blink, why can't they just show the AF point in red itself. Does it keep blinking as I am holding focus button or just blinks once and then goes back to black?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 24, 2012 18:22 |  #52

bobbyz wrote in post #15165112 (external link)
Dumb question - Why it has to blink, why can't they just show the AF point in red itself. Does it keep blinking as I am holding focus button or just blinks once and then goes back to black?

It has to blink because the light sensor for the exposure metering is located above the focusing screen in the pentaprism. If it was on continuously, the exposure metering system would not work.


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,435 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 24, 2012 19:28 |  #53

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15165147 (external link)
It has to blink because the light sensor for the exposure metering is located above the focusing screen in the pentaprism. If it was on continuously, the exposure metering system would not work.

What about guys like me who shoot manual > 90% of the time.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
idsurfer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,958 posts
Gallery: 90 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 3021
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
     
Oct 24, 2012 19:55 as a reply to  @ bobbyz's post |  #54

narlus wrote in post #15162666 (external link)
that very well could be your experience.

it's definitely not mine, nor other concert photographers I know.

bobbyz wrote in post #15162728 (external link)
Do you do weddings or night time sports, most probably not.;)

Most here don't need f8 AF either but really nice for some of us who do.

I shoot in very dark setting many times and I would love to have that darn focus point light up red and STAY red once focus has been acquired. When I use servo it has typically been outdoor and I can see the dark boxes. But low light inside has been getting on my nerves a bit lately. And I can DEFINITELY acquire focus in setting that I cannot see the dark boxes.


Cory
Sony ⍺6400 | Sigma 56/1.4 | Sony/Zeiss E 24/1.8 | Samyang 12/2
flickr (external link)
Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 25, 2012 10:05 |  #55

bobbyz wrote in post #15165390 (external link)
What about guys like me who shoot manual > 90% of the time.

I don't understand. What would shooting manual change about the exposure metering/red light situation?


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,435 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 25, 2012 10:08 |  #56

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15167717 (external link)
I don't understand. What would shooting manual change about the exposure metering/red light situation?

With manual exposure why would you care if camera metering if off due to red light?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 25, 2012 11:03 |  #57

bobbyz wrote in post #15167724 (external link)
With manual exposure why would you care if camera metering if off due to red light?

I would assume that most ppl using Manual exposure would still like for the exposure meter to function properly. I could see a lot of complaints if the meter was disabled in Manual Mode.


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,435 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Oct 25, 2012 11:22 |  #58

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15167919 (external link)
I would assume that most ppl using Manual exposure would still like for the exposure meter to function properly. I could see a lot of complaints if the meter was disabled in Manual Mode.

Give me the option. We talking about $6k plus camera.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 25, 2012 11:28 |  #59

bobbyz wrote in post #15168019 (external link)
Give me the option. We talking about $6k plus camera.

I see your point. It's just not likely to happen, given the way that Canon operates.


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

9,913 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DmkIII firmware, f8 focus!!!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Snap Dragon
514 guests, 247 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.