Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Wildlife Talk 
Thread started 30 Oct 2012 (Tuesday) 12:45
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Protective Gear and other necessities?

sgribbin
365 posts
Joined Oct 2012

Oct 30, 2012 12:45 |  #1

Hi everyone! I am a novice hobbyist and I really enjoy photographing wildlife, as you can see on Flickr; most of everything I shoot is wildlife or nature. I don't have much camera gear yet (see my signature), and so far, I have not ventured more than 15 miles from my house alone for photography. However, I am becoming more brave as I venture alone close to home and I am planning two separate visits to two different nature trails within 45 miles from my home. The two trails I am planning to visit are known for their wildlife opportunities including gators, bison, wild horses, eagles, various birds, raccoon, black bear, snakes, and white-tailed deer. When I go out shooting, I carry/dress light: dressed in jeans, sneakers, dark colored shirt, my camera in hand with neck strap worn, my zoom lens on the camera, cell phone silenced in one front pants pocket; car keys in the other front pants pocket; lens cap in back pants pocket. I don't normally wear or carry a back pack or camera bag, because I normally don't have a need for one. I always let my husband know when I've reached a trail, where I am, etc so that in the event something happens, he can hopefully get to me or find me. We also have iPhones, so he can search for my phone and see where I am to make sure I'm ok. I don't have hiking boots (yet) nor do I carry any protec