Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 02 Nov 2012 (Friday) 10:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

question: using an older GPU with a new motherboard

 
zarray
Member
167 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Singapore/ London
     
Nov 02, 2012 10:02 |  #1

Hi guys,

I have an old MSI 9600GT 512mb DDR3 GPU card running on PCIe 2.0 that I have lying around and I thought of using it for a new PC setup running the Asustek P8Z77-V LGA 1155 Motherboard with an i7-3770k chip.

Problem is the the 9600GT has 2 DVI ports while the P8Z77-V motherboard has HDMI and displayport output. Im intending to buy a Dell U2412M monitor which has a DVI-D(no idea if its the same as DVI or not) input and a displayport input.

My question is: if I connect the motherboard's displayport output to the monitor's displayport input, would I be utilizing the GPU or simply bypassing it and using the inbuilt Intel HD4000 graphics?

This issue never occurred to me in my previous custom PC build...


5D Mark II | 5Dc |17-40 | 24-105 | 70-200 F2.8 IS | Sigma 50mm 1.4 | 580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
JoeyC
Senior Member
376 posts
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Chester County, PA
     
Nov 02, 2012 10:05 |  #2

You'd be bypassing it. There is nothing wrong with HD4000 - it is quite capable for integrated graphics.


Joe - SE Pennsylvania
Site (external link)|Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
15,051 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 350
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Nov 02, 2012 16:11 |  #3

Unless your gaming, the HD 4000 is more than capable, I use one to drive a pair of 2412s on a photography work station.

If you are gaming then the 9600 is slow and out dated.


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

Now more than ever we need to be a community, working together and for each other, as photographers, as lovers of photography and as members of POTN.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlankThis
Member
208 posts
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
     
Nov 02, 2012 16:37 |  #4

A graphics card disables the motherboard built in graphics unit, as well as the ports. The 9600GT is an older card but still capable of playing Valve engine-based games like Team Fortress 2, Half Life 2 etc. at max quality. On more graphically advanced games you're going to have to turn down the video quality settings.

DVI and DVI-D are the same


| 5Dc | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zarray
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
167 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Singapore/ London
     
Nov 02, 2012 18:27 |  #5

BlankThis wrote in post #15199889 (external link)
A graphics card disables the motherboard built in graphics unit, as well as the ports. The 9600GT is an older card but still capable of playing Valve engine-based games like Team Fortress 2, Half Life 2 etc. at max quality. On more graphically advanced games you're going to have to turn down the video quality settings.

DVI and DVI-D are the same

That is good to hear. I will utilize the 9600GT then thru the DVI port then.
I'm not using my PC setup for gaming so there's no need for me to buy the lastest DDR5 GPU cards, I just need a basic GPU for occasional use of CAD software(specifically CATIA V5).


5D Mark II | 5Dc |17-40 | 24-105 | 70-200 F2.8 IS | Sigma 50mm 1.4 | 580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,586 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Nov 02, 2012 19:55 |  #6

If you used the lucidlogic virtu option, then you could use the 9600GT through the onboard HDMI.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
EOS Rp | iPhone 11 Pro Max

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,101 views & 0 likes for this thread
question: using an older GPU with a new motherboard
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jgt6
819 guests, 177 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.