Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 19 Nov 2012 (Monday) 10:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Refresh rate to match burst rate

 
Ito
Member
Avatar
169 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
     
Nov 19, 2012 10:30 |  #1

I have a question that I was wonder if you guys could help me answer.

I am looking to get a strobe that can keep up with the burst rate of the 7D. Obviously this isn't going to be possible unless I buy a a super expensive strobe, but I am not looking to be able to do this at a super high power.

Why? I am trying to do some sequence shots while using a strobe. This will mostly be used for extreme sports (skiing/snowboarding/s​kating) and in lower light situations. My ambient lighting will most likely be similar to what I took in this shot (if not even less).

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 403 | MIME changed to 'text/plain'


I most likly won't be able to plug in to a wall,s o I will probably need to get a power pack as well.

Is this idea even feasible on a budget or is it just a pipe dream for me?

Gear: Canon 6D | Canon 7D | Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 OS | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 OS | Neewer TT850 Flash x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Nov 19, 2012 11:03 |  #2

Leaving the EXIF in the image, or mentioning the settings for ISO, aperture and shutterspeed would have given quite useful info…


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
munzzzzzzz
Senior Member
591 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: SE WI
     
Nov 19, 2012 11:43 |  #3

I'm thinking an Einstein plus a Vagabond Mini Lithium would be the perfect setup. Cost for just the strobe and VML would be about $740.

According to this recent PCB literature, you can shoot 8FPS at 40 WS:

http://www.paulcbuff.c​om …ads/e640_specsm​anship.jpg (external link)

Combine it with their $30 Long Throw Reflector and at 14' you could shoot ISO 200, f/10.


6D | 40mm f/2.8 | 50mm f/1.4 | 70-200mm f/4L IS | 580EXII | 2x PCB Einstein | Various Modifiers

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotographersWorldWide
Senior Member
395 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: UK
     
Nov 19, 2012 11:48 |  #4

You could use multiple flash units and use a trigger system like the Quantum FreeXwire in sequence mode to trigger them.. in sequence. Setting (say) 100Ws on a 400Ws pack will give you 3 shots per pack without recharge. 4 packs.. easily 12fps, you might get to 16.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ito
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
169 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
     
Nov 19, 2012 12:16 |  #5

René Damkot wrote in post #15263868 (external link)
Leaving the EXIF in the image, or mentioning the settings for ISO, aperture and shutterspeed would have given quite useful info…

Shutter Speed: 1/250 sec
Aperture: f/4.5
ISO: 800


Gear: Canon 6D | Canon 7D | Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 OS | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 OS | Neewer TT850 Flash x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,368 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 19, 2012 13:22 |  #6

Funny you ask... I was trying to do the same 2 years ago and still am. All I can say.... is good luck ;). You would have to turn the power of the strobe down so much in order to get it to recycle fast enough that there's no way you'd still be able to effectively light your subject, long-throw reflector or not.


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,368 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 19, 2012 13:23 |  #7

PS: What type of light did you use in the shot above? Do you remember the power settings?


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonphotog
Senior Member
796 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Texas (Greater San Antonio Area)
     
Nov 19, 2012 13:49 |  #8

PhotographersWorldWide wrote in post #15264040 (external link)
You could use multiple flash units and use a trigger system like the Quantum FreeXwire in sequence mode to trigger them.. in sequence. Setting (say) 100Ws on a 400Ws pack will give you 3 shots per pack without recharge. 4 packs.. easily 12fps, you might get to 16.

Quantum FreeXwire in Sequence Mode? You have a link to the directions on how to do that? :wink:


-Ken
Gear List|Kenny D. Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ito
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
169 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
     
Nov 19, 2012 13:51 as a reply to  @ Aressem's post |  #9

That was a 580EX II, no idea the power, I was probably shooting in ETTL...my knowledge of off camera flash has grown a lot since I took this shot :D


Gear: Canon 6D | Canon 7D | Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 OS | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 OS | Neewer TT850 Flash x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonphotog
Senior Member
796 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Texas (Greater San Antonio Area)
     
Nov 19, 2012 14:02 |  #10

Never mind. Found it here. (external link)

"Studio or location versatility. In the studio or on location, use FreeXwire to trigger power packs, monolights or your camera manufacturer's flash, and avoid all those messy sync cables. Additionally, a Flash Sequencer function in the FW10W transceiver can sequentially trigger up to four remote power packs for action sports or fast fashion shoots, as fast as 13 frames per second."

I use my Quantums with FW7Q's and FW9T's. Was totally unaware that the FW10W had that capability. I'll have to look further into this.


-Ken
Gear List|Kenny D. Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cking2
Senior Member
Avatar
423 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Liberty, MO
     
Nov 19, 2012 14:07 |  #11

Ito wrote in post #15263732 (external link)
Is this idea even feasible on a budget or is it just a pipe dream for me?

Why use strobes?

I think you might want to explore a continuous light system that can be powered by DC. Most of the new color balanced LED light (external link)banks would work, but you would need to find a 12 volt power source for it...

and then again there is that budget thing you mentioned:)

good luck...


Rick King

Gear List Here

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ito
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
169 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
     
Nov 19, 2012 14:25 as a reply to  @ cking2's post |  #12

Continous lights wouldn't work. I am relying on the flash duration to stop the motion.


Gear: Canon 6D | Canon 7D | Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 | Sigma 35mm f/1.4 | Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 OS | Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 OS | Neewer TT850 Flash x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
redrocket
Senior Member
Avatar
559 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 84
Joined Oct 2009
     
Nov 19, 2012 15:06 |  #13

broncolor $$$$$ bu the results are nice
http://blog.chasejarvi​s.com …-strobed-photo-sequences/ (external link)


I have G.A.S.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,368 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 515
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Nov 19, 2012 15:23 |  #14

redrocket wrote in post #15264836 (external link)
broncolor $$$$$ bu the results are nice
http://blog.chasejarvi​s.com …-strobed-photo-sequences/ (external link)

I guess you neglected to read the operative word: BUDGET :P


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
munzzzzzzz
Senior Member
591 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: SE WI
     
Nov 19, 2012 15:39 |  #15

Aressem wrote in post #15264375 (external link)
Funny you ask... I was trying to do the same 2 years ago and still am. All I can say.... is good luck ;). You would have to turn the power of the strobe down so much in order to get it to recycle fast enough that there's no way you'd still be able to effectively light your subject, long-throw reflector or not.

I'll admit I've never tried it, and my assumption is based largely on published specifications, but I'm curious as to why you don't think you could make it work.

PCB's specs indicate 8 FPS @ 40 WS achieving f/11 at ISO 200, 14'. The shot the OP posted was at f/4.5, ISO 800. I agree that 40 WS isn't much power, but if the OP is using the settings he mentioned, why would it not work? It would seem he's happy with the shot he posted, which if he was using a speedlite couldn't have been more than 50-60 WS max, he just obviously wasn't getting anywhere near the frame rate his 7D was capable of. The Einstein is obviously a lot more powerful than a speedlite and still provides the short flash durations necessary for this type of shot, along with a high enough frame rate.

OP, where in WI are you located?


6D | 40mm f/2.8 | 50mm f/1.4 | 70-200mm f/4L IS | 580EXII | 2x PCB Einstein | Various Modifiers

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,648 views & 0 likes for this thread
Refresh rate to match burst rate
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nippon245
1189 guests, 262 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.