Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Guest
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
Thread started 19 Nov 2012 (Monday) 20:53
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

5dIII M-Fn toggle through AF Area selection modes

 
alintx
Senior Member
348 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
     
Nov 19, 2012 20:53 |  #1

Someone please point out my foolish error.

The M-Fn button won't toggle through the different AF Selection modes.

Canon 5D Mark III
Manual mode
One Shot

I have selected all (or other combinations) of AF area selection modes from AF menu 4 (which means I should be able to toggle between them with the M-Fn button after pressing the AF Point Selection Button.

I should be able to:


  1. Press the AF Point Selection Button (the one on the upper right that looks like a checkerboard)
  2. Press M-Fn one or more times to toggle through AF area selection modes (Spot AF, Expand AF Area, Expand AF Area Surround, Manual Select or Auto Selection of 61 pt AF).

What is actually does is just toggle off/on the indicator in the viewfinder that show which AF point is selected (not the selection mode).

I also tried in on AI Servo, with the same response.

And, yes, I did check to make sure that the AF area selection method is set to M-Fn in AF Menu 4 (and not to Main Dial).

UPDATE: For a test, I set it to Main Dial, and I can toggle through them that way, but then I lose left-to-right point selection ability via the Main Dial (which I prefer to using the multi-controller (the little joystick button).

I also tried with two different lenses, since some of the focus system functionality is lens dependent.

What have I got set somewhere to restrict this functionality?

Al
5DIII, 5DII, T2i, TS-E 24mm f3.5L II, 17-40 f/4L, 24-70mm f2.8L, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8 L II, 135mm f/2L, 180mm f/3.5L, Canon 40mm f/2.8, Sigma 50-500 OS, 3 x 600EX-RT, ST-E3-RT, RRS tripod + BH-55, bags out the wazoo, other crap +++
Aerial Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bianchi
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,178 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 25039
Joined Jan 2010
Location: USA
     
Nov 20, 2012 20:55 |  #2

Check out these video's one of them is on 5dIII M-Fn toggle through AF Area selection modes

http://www.youtube.com …a&list=PLD2E776​C1855CF22E (external link)


My Gear flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 05:55 |  #3

Hi I'm having the same issue did you find a fix?

Many thanks
Demos




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dioladetus
Senior Member
657 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 939
Joined Feb 2010
Location: DK
     
Jul 14, 2013 06:01 |  #4

maybe its far fetched. But isn't it because you use one-shot?


www.phodiography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 07:55 |  #5

No tried one shot, ai servo with single shot and multiple shots. Really weird just can't get it to be to choose an area! Really frustrating!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
3,089 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 118
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 14, 2013 08:06 |  #6

dsoup wrote in post #16118788 (external link)
No tried one shot, ai servo with single shot and multiple shots. Really weird just can't get it to be to choose an area! Really frustrating!

Do you also have all 61 autofocus points enabled? I'm just guessing here, but I will test when i get home and report back here.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 08:27 as a reply to  @ frugivore's post |  #7

yep sure do, it was working yesterday when i was in the studio and then it stopped, not sure if i have pressed something to disable. when i press the area selection button far right the af points start to flash but by can not scroll through the zones with m funcftion or if i choose the dial option.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Avatar
2,383 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
     
Jul 14, 2013 09:19 as a reply to  @ dsoup's post |  #8

reset custom functions


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500px (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 10:04 as a reply to  @ Gregg.Siam's post |  #9

Already Tried resetting custom functions still no joy.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,329 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 293
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Jul 14, 2013 10:31 |  #10

dsoup wrote in post #16118788 (external link)
No tried one shot, ai servo with single shot and multiple shots. Really weird just can't get it to be to choose an area! Really frustrating!

This doesn't sound like the same issue the OP is having, unless im reading your post wrong.
The OP is losing the ability to select the different AF point modes, not the different points and areas.
I'd offer you the same reply though.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon R7 | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,329 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 293
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Jul 14, 2013 10:32 |  #11

alintx wrote in post #15266143 (external link)
Someone please point out my foolish error.

The M-Fn button won't toggle through the different AF Selection modes.

Canon 5D Mark III
Manual mode
One Shot

I have selected all (or other combinations) of AF area selection modes from AF menu 4 (which means I should be able to toggle between them with the M-Fn button after pressing the AF Point Selection Button.

I should be able to:

  1. Press the AF Point Selection Button (the one on the upper right that looks like a checkerboard)
  2. Press M-Fn one or more times to toggle through AF area selection modes (Spot AF, Expand AF Area, Expand AF Area Surround, Manual Select or Auto Selection of 61 pt AF).
What is actually does is just toggle off/on the indicator in the viewfinder that show which AF point is selected (not the selection mode).

I also tried in on AI Servo, with the same response.

And, yes, I did check to make sure that the AF area selection method is set to M-Fn in AF Menu 4 (and not to Main Dial).

UPDATE: For a test, I set it to Main Dial, and I can toggle through them that way, but then I lose left-to-right point selection ability via the Main Dial (which I prefer to using the multi-controller (the little joystick button).

I also tried with two different lenses, since some of the focus system functionality is lens dependent.

What have I got set somewhere to restrict this functionality?

Are you using one of the C modes on the camera? Could it be that in one or the other modes that button has been assigned to something else?

Just a guess.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon R7 | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 10:59 |  #12

Hi I'm using manual or av not custom, using the joystick I can select each focal point, what I can't do is select clusters or other zones what so ever.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,329 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 293
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Jul 14, 2013 11:03 |  #13

dsoup wrote in post #16119272 (external link)
Hi I'm using manual or av not custom, using the joystick I can select each focal point, what I can't do is select clusters or other zones what so ever.

Ah right. I miss read your post then.

Have you checked that nothing else is assigned to that button?


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon R7 | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsoup
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Jul 2013
     
Jul 14, 2013 11:07 |  #14

Dave can you check your setting under custom and let me know what is assigned to your mfunction button?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,329 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 293
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Jul 14, 2013 11:13 |  #15

In Custom controls its set to bring up the VF Electronic level.
AF Area Selection method is set to M-Fn Button
I have Select AF Area selec. mode set to all but the last one (61 point)
Selectable AF points are set to all 61 points.

I cant think of anything else to check.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon R7 | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

9,409 views & 0 likes for this thread, 9 members have posted to it.
5dIII M-Fn toggle through AF Area selection modes
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Forums   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset   •  Home

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.55forum software
version 2.55 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is marsmith64
567 guests, 226 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15,144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.