Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Critique Corner 
Thread started 25 Nov 2012 (Sunday) 20:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Slow Sync Flash

morph2_7
Goldmember
1,112 posts
Joined Sep 2012

Nov 25, 2012 20:43 |  #1

This is my first attempt at slow sync flash to capture light trails and freeze the moving object with 2nd curtain flash. Why does the horse and carriage appear as ghost image?

Is the flash power too low? Is the object out of flash range? I can't remember the distance between the camera and the object but my wild guess is it's at least 25 feet (I'm very bad with distances so I could be completely off). I was standing on the sidewalk on a 2-way street in Riverside, California.

Settings are as follows:
Rebel T2i, 11mm, ISO100, f/8, 2 sec. Second curtain flash.

sponsored links
Fire0725
222 posts
Joined May 2011

Nov 25, 2012 21:22 |  #2

I love it! I love the modern feel of the lights against the ghost of the horse drawn carriage! Well done! :D

Canon 7D
Just learning and having fun!

PhotosGuy
75,877 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Joined Feb 2004

Nov 25, 2012 21:33 |  #3

My guess is that the flash power is too low for f/8 at that distance.

FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,229 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Joined Dec 2006

Nov 25, 2012 21:33 |  #4