Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 30 Nov 2012 (Friday) 18:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Use your camera to create slit camera (slit-scan or timeline) images.

 
zackdezon
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Aug 2017
     
Aug 30, 2017 07:48 |  #151

Hi, Martin! Thanks so much for creating this wonderful program. I've already used it to create a series of 'portraits' I'm very happy with:

http://www.zackdezon.c​om/pareidolia/ (external link)

I have a similar question to chelioz from earlier, as I've been wrestling with the question of 'why is it that analog slitscan processes are so much easier to get high-speed results with than digital?' Since film doesn't have a 'framerate' to deal with, just the speed at which you pull the film across the sensor, that's obviously a big reason. But I also realized that analog slit-scan cameras don't have to deal with the problems caused by 'slit perfection,' as your 1-pixel-at-a-time algorithm creates. Analog slits are never going to be small enough to hit only one grain of emulsion per unit motion.

So, my question would be, as a non-programmer—is there a way to 'widen' our digital slit at all? In my imagination, it would involve first pulling more than 1 pixel per frame (as many as 10-30 I imagine would still represent a pretty narrow slit given a 4K vertical dimension) and then overlaying some percentage of those pixels (perhaps with an 'addition' blending mode—this would require underexposing the original video to wind up with a correct exposure) frame by frame.

Would love to hear your thoughts.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Martin ­ Dixon
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,864 posts
Gallery: 59 photos
Likes: 274
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Ealing
     
Aug 31, 2017 11:28 as a reply to  @ zackdezon's post |  #152

My program can't get finer resolution than the framerate. You can use photoeditor to expand an image in the time dimension, though you obviously lose resolution.

I did think some kind of averaging would improve image quality - in fact I coded this in the original , but it made no noticable difference - see post:

Martin Dixon wrote in post #18012955 (external link)
clelioz, I can't see how you can get over the framerate limitation. For your purpose I think you would need a camera with fast framerate option......

You could replicate an analogue camera using a scanner type sensor (linear image sensor) which is just one line of pixels and can be read at far higher framerates than full image sensors. My guess is that after some research this wouldn't be very hard to do or that expensive if you have some techy interest. Presumably then you can conentrate more light using a prism lens if needed (that being the"widening" you speak of.

I have some idea that "Magic Lantern" alternative software for Canon cameras might possibly find faster framrates using unusual frame sizes but I havem't looked at that for a while.

I did think of some crazy ideas using mirrors and multipe "slits" so you could pick up fractions of a frame as it information is read raster fashion, line by line - but I think this is likely the hard way to do it.

Let me know if you take up the challenge!


flickr (external link) Editing OK (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Daniel ­ Wallraven ­ Marsden
Hatchling
Avatar
3 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2016
     
Sep 30, 2018 08:28 |  #153

I use your program in my GCSE photography a couple of years ago and got an A, the examiner loved the stuff I made and apparently wanted to give me an A* but the marking scheme didn't really work for weird stuff like slit scan. Anyway lots of thanks and if I can get access to my GCSE stuff again I'll post it here.

I've been using the program again recently and made these using videos of Geysers in Iceland, I never intended to put them through the program but came out pretty great anyway.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

45,537 views & 12 likes for this thread
Use your camera to create slit camera (slit-scan or timeline) images.
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Gaspedal21
854 guests, 438 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.