Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment People 
Thread started 18 Dec 2012 (Tuesday) 08:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Give me some feedback of this pic of my son

PhotoGeek
Goldmember
1,120 posts
Joined Jan 2006

Dec 18, 2012 08:46 |  #1

I want to give the grandparents some nice portraits of our kids for Christmas, so I set out to experiment last night on my son (good sport that he is). This is my first attempt to shoot a "portrait" style photo using lighting indoors, so any constructive crit you can give is very much appreciated. That is, what should I look for in the lighting, etc.

Set up was one 580EX on a stand and shot through an umbrella on camera left above and pointing down, and about 45 degrees off center. I had a 430EX to camera right about eye height and about 45 degrees off center, shot through a diffuser. Speedlights were triggered with PWs. I shot a fair number of frames, and experimented with different placement of the speedlights and a white reflector. Speedlights were set to ETTL. I had a fair amount of trouble with shadows and hot spots. I'm going to pick up another umbrella.

Camera and lens, if it matters, were 1DIII and 135 f2, and camera settings were 1/100 and about f3.2 in manual mode.

Here's the best of the bunch after processing:

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO

Comments? Suggested reading?

1DX, 1DIII, lenses, flashes, wires and stuff
http://jimlanterphotog​raphy.com (external link)

sponsored links
gadiper
142 posts