Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Dec 2012 (Monday) 17:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Need advice on new full-frame body

ifi
173 posts
Joined Jun 2010

Dec 24, 2012 17:39 |  #1

Hi,

I've got some money saved up (about 2k) and am thinking of buying a new full frame body. My existing equipment is listed in my signature. I've been reading posts and seems like everyone is asking similar questions i.e. 5d2 vs 5d3 vs 6d.

Question-1:
I'm a hobbyist and almost always shoot with viewfinder. I do landscapes, architectures and portraits, not into videos, just still images. Which full frame body makes more sense for me?

Question-2:
Another question I have is if I sell my non-full frame lenses or keep them as backup?

Thanks,
-ifi

:)

sponsored links
stlouis_26
304 posts
Joined Sep 2009

Dec 24, 2012 17:45 |  #2

Looks like you have some good lenses and a camera for wildlife and action. I have a 5d and I love it coupled with my 7d for the wildlife and action photos. I think you could not go wrong with the 5D II and if you really wanted to save money the 5d. The II has some real advantages over the classic.

bmitch
144 posts
Joined Feb 2008

Dec 24, 2012 17:49 |  #3

Go for the Mark II. It's going to set you back more than a new 5d but it is a better camera. Keep your lenses at least for a bit and see what kind of results you get with them. You might surprise yourself. If after a bit you don't want them, sell them then.

Canon 5D Mark III, Canon EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM, 580EX II