Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 12 Jan 2013 (Saturday) 13:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

problem using extention tubes. need help

 
ekfaysal
Senior Member
Avatar
417 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:11 |  #1

first of all, i'm sorry if im posting in wrong section. couldnt figure out where to post this macro extension related question
now here is the thing
today i got my cheap macro extension tubes from ebay
its manual tube. im using 60D with 50 1.8, 18-55 and 55-250 lens
now the thing is , i know i must have to manually focus plus manual exposure.
but i cant get it right. i have tried with my all 3 lenses.
the image is always blur. it never gets sharp. i been trying to set manual focus plus shuffling ISO and Shutter-speed, but i cant get it right.
any help ?
thanks


My INSTAGRAM (external link)

Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,034 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 2234
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:13 |  #2

get closer...you have to get really close...and if you're like me you put all 3 on at once...in which case you have to get really really close...:)

but bottom line is you're too far away

also you don't have to manually expose(wait, i just saw you have the manual tubes, maybe you do, although i still doubt it)...set the lens to AV mode, and you should get the correct shutter speed...if there's not enough light, then motion blur could be affecting you, and if you have enough light then the DOF being so shallow could be a problem


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,015 posts
Likes: 2180
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:21 |  #3

past a sample. Need more data.

Light? Needs lots and lots of light.
Shutter speed? Need to be pretty fast as even micro movements will impart lots of blur.
Mirror lock up? It helps reduce camera shake.
Tripod? The closer it is to a ton of iron, the better. ;):)
Aperture? Even at f/11 your DOF is going to be razor thin.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekfaysal
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
417 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:31 |  #4

DreDaze wrote in post #15479355 (external link)
get closer...you have to get really close...and if you're like me you put all 3 on at once...in which case you have to get really really close...:)

but bottom line is you're too far away

also you don't have to manually expose(wait, i just saw you have the manual tubes, maybe you do, although i still doubt it)...set the lens to AV mode, and you should get the correct shutter speed...if there's not enough light, then motion blur could be affecting you, and if you have enough light then the DOF being so shallow could be a problem

thanks alot for the reply
and yes. that was the thing. i was using all of the three at once :D
Plus i was not too close to the subject as well
tried it now. n it worked well,
Thanks alot.
as for manual exposure thing . well there is no aperture thing when the extension tube is attached. so i guess the aperture wud be locked , im having control of just shutter speed and ISO i guess.


My INSTAGRAM (external link)

Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,244 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 271
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:32 as a reply to  @ gjl711's post |  #5

You'll also want to set a smaller aperture for closeups. Since the tubes don't transmit aperture information, mount the lens you want to use directly on the camera. Set the aperture you want and press the depth of field button to close down the iris. With your third hand (while holding the DOF preview button with your second hand), press the lens release and twist off the lens. The aperture will now be locked at your desired setting.

You can now mount the tube(s) and lens on the camera.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
s.l.k
Member
143 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Oregon
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:37 |  #6

ekfaysal wrote in post #15479404 (external link)
as for manual exposure thing . well there is no aperture thing when the extension tube is attached. so i guess the aperture wud be locked , im having control of just shutter speed and ISO i guess.

You could set the aperture, hold the DOF preview, and remove the lens, then attach it to the tubes. Kind of a pain though.

EDIT: oldvultureface beat me to it


Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,244 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 271
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:39 |  #7

s.l.k wrote in post #15479430 (external link)
EDIT: oldvultureface beat me to it

Yeah, but it's the thought that counts. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snowyman
Goldmember
Avatar
3,636 posts
Gallery: 187 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1393
Joined Oct 2011
     
Jan 12, 2013 13:46 |  #8

Buy a set of tubes with the electrical connections, Polaroid, Kenko and a few others do them. Tubes without control of the aperture will either make you the most accomplished manual photographer in the World or the most bitter, twisted, deranged and forlorn person on Earth. My money would be on the latter. In short; you haven't saved any money by buying cheap tubes, you have bought a World of pain.


Snowy's Gear
Deviant Art (external link)
Flickr (external link)
Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekfaysal
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
417 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jan 12, 2013 14:02 |  #9

thanks guys
all of you
it really helped me :D
im now gonna play with ext tubes n will try to capture some cool macros


My INSTAGRAM (external link)

Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,518 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2461
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Jan 12, 2013 16:36 |  #10

It is quite common that a very short FL on the wide-to-short-tele zoom lens will result in needing to have the object 'inside the lens' for it to be in focus...the focus distance is not possible. Try setting your zoom FL to at longest setting when using the extension tube, and you will likely be able to achieve focus. Then you can shorten FL progressively until you discover the limit at which it is impossible to achieve focus.

You should be able to achieve focus with the 50mm f/1.8 and extension tube...just keep trying until you get focus, then note the focal plane-to-subject distance...it will be quite close with long extension tube use.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekfaysal
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
417 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jan 13, 2013 15:23 |  #11

Well, Thanks everybody for suggestions.
you guys rock
i saved money and got the cheaper one. n iknow its gonna be pain to capture macros each time
Here is what i experiment today.
practically my first macro shot :D
Thanks everybody.

IMAGE: http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8324/8378197080_f802abec23_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …lsphotography/8​378197080/  (external link)
My little macro (external link) by faysalelahi (external link), on Flickr

My INSTAGRAM (external link)

Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,244 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 271
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Jan 13, 2013 15:38 as a reply to  @ ekfaysal's post |  #12

Nice. Which one of your lenses did you use? It's very sharp.

Nevermind. I saw it in the 55-250 thread.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekfaysal
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
417 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Jun 2007
     
Jan 14, 2013 06:35 |  #13

oldvultureface wrote in post #15483535 (external link)
Nice. Which one of your lenses did you use? It's very sharp.

Nevermind. I saw it in the 55-250 thread.

Yeah. that was with 55-250... n did some post processing as well.


My INSTAGRAM (external link)

Facebook page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,426 views & 0 likes for this thread
problem using extention tubes. need help
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is marchuntington
941 guests, 318 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.