Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 29 Jan 2013 (Tuesday) 18:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Building My First Lighting Kit

SFtag
35 posts
Joined Jun 2012

Jan 29, 2013 18:59 |  #1

Not a total newbie with flash photography but I would like some guidance/advice as to light modifiers and brackets you guys have had success with for your speedlites.

Heres my situation:

I have a 430 and 580 for right now. I plan on adding either another 580 or I might pick up an AB Einstein. I have been firing these wirelessly. I do not own any speed rings, softboxes, or beauty dishes. My concern is what mounting options are there that can be used easily on the speedlites I have but can also be adapted to a monolight that I plan on purchasing down the road? I guess it's mainly about the mount I'm concerned with.

For example should I buy paul c buff modifiers, use them with some sort of speedlite adapter, then if I pick up an einstein, I am in good shape? I don't know the quality of their modifiers so maybe some user experience with quality products you have would be helpful. I am the kind of person who would rather spend more on quality then have to replace something due to the poor build so I'm not looking for cheapo solutions.

Thank you for any and all help. Also links to some good articles on these topics would be awesome if you have them.

Professional Camera Operator
Amateur Photographer

Hot ­ Bob
Goldmember
1,021 posts
Joined Jul 2009

Jan 30, 2013 09:17 |  #2