Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Birds 
Thread started 06 Feb 2013 (Wednesday) 07:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Gull and tern

REC500
399 posts
Joined Jan 2013

Feb 06, 2013 07:56 |  #1

Hi everyone,
I am new to POTN. I am an beginner at bird photography and have been reading the forum for tips on bird photography. I thought I should post some photos to get critique and advice.
Following are from my 6th or 7th birding efforts and after about 2000 shots at birds. I hope I am on the right track.
Equipment: 550D and EF-S 55-250 IS.
Regards.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE

sponsored links
Tom ­ Reichner
"I am a little creepy"
14,002 posts
Gallery: 149 photos
Best ofs: 1
Joined Dec 2008

Feb 12, 2013 00:46 |  #2

Hello, REC! (what's your real name?)

Looks like several thousand images, you finally nailed focus! That's the toughest part of shooting birds in flight.

You had some strong sunlight for these opportunities, which certainly helps your camera to achieve focus. But it does create some shadows (image #2), which may or may not be desirable, depending on the particular image and the look you are going for.

Could you please post the EXIF information for each of these photos - such as aperture, shutter speed, ISO, metering mode, etc? Also, knowing the time of day would be helpful, as it relates to sun angle. Generally, the more information you can provide, the more constructive critique you'll receive.