Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 08 Mar 2013 (Friday) 20:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Serious back focus issue with my 500mm f4, but only on my 7D.

 
SVTmaniac
Goldmember
Avatar
1,920 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
     
Mar 08, 2013 20:36 |  #1

I've been using my 7D ever since they first came out and I have never had an issue with it. It works great with my 70-200, 300mm f4, 400mm f5.6 and any other lens I have used it with. I recently purchased a Canon 500mm f4L IS version 1 and from day one I noticed a focus issue with the lens on my 7D.

I attempted to MFA and it needed -18 to get the focus to look right. This seems like a lot to me. What complicates this though is that the lens works absolutely perfectly on my 6D with no MFA required. Today I took it back to my friend that I bought it from and tried the lens on both of his 7D's and his 1D Mark IV. On both of his 7D's the results were the same, -18 MFA to get it right. But on the 1D Mark IV it was perfect at 0 MFA.

It is an older lens, the date code is from 2000 so I thought maybe the autofocus chip was having a compatibility problem on 7D's, but the fact that it works perfect on even newer cameras like my 6D and the 1D Mark IV has me really stumped.

I am a CPS member and I want to send the lens to them with the 7D, but I'm afraid that if they calibrate the combo to work well together that I will have issues when I put the lens on another body. I would like to use it with both my 7D and 6D.

I guess I could just live with the fact that it needs -18 MFA and just wait for the 7D Mark II or just get a 1D Mark IV, but for as much as I paid for this thing, I expect it to work perfect on whatever I put it on.

Any suggestions from anyone here who has experienced something like this before?

Here is a photo from yesterday after I got the MFA dialed in. This was from about 20ft shot wide open at F4 so I know I got it right. It just bothers me that it requires so much MFA to work. It's almost maxed out on MFA while other bodies need 0.

IMAGE: http://www.worldwildimages.com/img/s8/v76/p1469202442-5.jpg

-Chris
More gear than talent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3476
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Mar 08, 2013 21:48 |  #2

So what is the issue if it works fine with -18MA?


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:03 |  #3

I wouldn't let the lens get adjusted, and frankly, I'm with Bobby, just let the MFA do it's thing.

Maybe it's a crop thing? Have you been able to put it on any other 1.6x crop bodies? Plus the lens will work best on your 1D and 6D anyways, giving you superior IQ. I'd not jeopardize that marriage so your 500m can sleep around with that strumpet 7D! :)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SVTmaniac
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,920 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:04 |  #4

bobbyz wrote in post #15693847 (external link)
So what is the issue if it works fine with -18MA?

Well for starters, it's not very consistent. -18 is close but sometimes it's more sometimes it's less. Also if you paid 6K for a lens would you be happy that it needed almost all the MFA your camera can provide just to sort of work ok?

As I already said, why is this only on happening on multiple 7D's and not on any other bodies that I've tried? Is there some sore of firmware update for the lens to make it work better on a 7D?


-Chris
More gear than talent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3476
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:07 |  #5

I thought it was consistent at -18MA. I have had old 500mm f4, never an issue with 1dmk2 which had no MA. On old 30d it was a bit off.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SVTmaniac
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,920 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:08 |  #6

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #15693912 (external link)
I wouldn't let the lens get adjusted, and frankly, I'm with Bobby, just let the MFA do it's thing.

Maybe it's a crop thing? Have you been able to put it on any other 1.6x crop bodies? Plus the lens will work best on your 1D and 6D anyways, giving you superior IQ. I'd not jeopardize that marriage so your 500m can sleep around with that strumpet 7D! :)

Well, the whole reason for buying the 500 was to get as much reach as possible, which means using it on my 7D. Yes I know it's not technically reach but it is much more pixels on target. On the 6D I have to use an extender to sort of match what I get on the 7D without an extender. And we all know what extenders do to image quality.


-Chris
More gear than talent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:09 |  #7

No, after paying 6K I would not be happy either. But it does not sound like the lens is at fault.
If you send it to Canon with the 7D, I'd make sure that the Mk IV goes too.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SVTmaniac
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,920 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:14 |  #8

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #15693935 (external link)
No, after paying 6K I would not be happy either. But it does not sound like the lens is at fault.
If you send it to Canon with the 7D, I'd make sure that the Mk IV goes too.

I don't personally own a Mark IV, the guy I bought it from does and I tried it with the lens to see if it had the same issue and it doesn't. I have a 7D and a 6D for now. Have been thinking of getting a Mark IV for a while though.

It just sucks cause I saved for over two years for this thing and I've lusted over it for longer than that, only to finally get one and it's not as perfect as I would have hoped.

Also to answer your previous question, I haven't tried it on any other crop camera.


-Chris
More gear than talent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3476
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:21 |  #9

If it works consistent then I wouldn't do anything. Only if different MA for different distances etc then send it in. It won't be cheap with insured shipping unless you local to canon service center. BTW - That lens need some stopping down. And get 1.4xTC if you don't. Here is at 700mm f8 with my old 30d.

IMAGE: http://www.bobbyzphotography.com/img/s2/v1/p759799260-5.jpg

Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:22 |  #10

Ahh, sorry, this makes your 7D issue much more pressing. My misunderstanding.
Yes, sounds like a trip to Canon might be in the works. If they tweek the 7D, you may need to MFA your other lenses afterwards.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,867 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Likes: 1133
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:26 as a reply to  @ CyberDyneSystems's post |  #11

I don't think they can 'tweak' the body, they just need the body to properly adjust the lens. It may or may not need MFA on the other bodies that it currently needs MFA on.


Edward Jenner
5DIV, M6, GX1 II, Sig15mm FE, 16-35 F4,TS-E 17, TS-E 24, 35 f2 IS, M11-22, M18-150 ,24-105, T45 1.8VC, 70-200 f4 IS, 70-200 2.8 vII, Sig 85 1.4, 100L, 135L, 400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:26 |  #12

bobbyz wrote in post #15693958 (external link)
.. BTW - That lens need some stopping down.

Wait, wait wait .. I know the landscape has changed a bit since the new IS II super telephotos were released, but up until 2009 or so the 500mm f/L IS was one of, if not the sharpest lens in Canon's stable.

It shoots happily wide open all day!

And get 1.4xTC

YES! And nice shot by the way!


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SVTmaniac
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,920 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:26 |  #13

bobbyz wrote in post #15693958 (external link)
If it works consistent then I wouldn't do anything. Only if different MA for different distances etc then send it in. It won't be cheap with insured shipping unless you local to canon service center. BTW - That lens need some stopping down. And get 1.4xTC if you don't. Here is at 700mm f8 with my old 30d.

I'll play with it some more tomorrow but I think -18 is about as close as it gets. I do stop down usually to at least f5.0 or 5.6 if I have enough light. And I do have the 1.4x extender but I won't use it until I get the focus issue sorted out without an extender.

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #15693960 (external link)
Ahh, sorry, this makes your 7D issue much more pressing. My misunderstanding.
Yes, sounds like a trip to Canon might be in the works. If they tweek the 7D, you may need to MFA your other lenses afterwards.

That's what I was afraid of. So they would tweak the 7D and not the lens, correct?


-Chris
More gear than talent.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:28 |  #14

ejenner wrote in post #15693966 (external link)
I don't think they can 'tweak' the body, they just need the body to properly adjust the lens. It may or may not need MFA on the other bodies that it currently needs MFA on.

There is an adjustment for back/front focusing that can be done on bodies too.. this is what the MFA does for us on a per lens basis, but there is a master setting, if you will.


Here is how you can do it yourself on a "Pre MFA" body;

https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=345457


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,816 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9948
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 22:32 |  #15

SVTmaniac wrote in post #15693968 (external link)
That's what I was afraid of. So they would tweak the 7D and not the lens, correct?

Honestly, I don't know. But I would assume that if they found the 7D was out of spec, it would get adjusted. Strange it's the one lens on one hand, and the one body on the other. Really weird.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,473 views & 0 likes for this thread
Serious back focus issue with my 500mm f4, but only on my 7D.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mareseatoats
259 guests, 233 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.