Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 08 Apr 2013 (Monday) 23:53
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Doing Some Growing

samefly
246 posts
Joined May 2011

Apr 08, 2013 23:53 |  #1

As of now I've just been doing photos of whatever catches my eye. I'm still learning fundamentals and discovering what kind of photographer I am. I'm trying to transition out of snap shots into more more thought through developed photography and taking on
paid gigs. In the beginning I tried hard to find the magical lens that could do it all, coming close with the sigma 17-70mm. I've recently come to understand and respect the power of prime lenses. Each being incredibly strong for specific tasks. I'm on a limited budget so my options are narrow and have to be thought through. I'm also trying to manage expenses until paid gigs justify (and pay for) higher end lenses. I'm currently on a crop sensor but plan to eventual enter the world of full frame so I'd like lenses that can transitions along with me.

So far my train of thought has been to get a couple low cost prime lens workhorses:

Street/Journalistic/Fu​ll Body Portraits - Canon 35mm f/2 (external link) (the older non IS)

Portraits/Headshots - Canon 85mm f/1.8 (external link)

Product/Macro - Canon 100mm f/2.8 (external link) (thinking the longer working distance would be beneficial)