Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 11 Apr 2013 (Thursday) 20:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photos keep getting blown out! Help!

lisaannephotography
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2013

Apr 11, 2013 20:52 |  #1

So I'm new at studio photography, I have a b800 with a large octabox, and I usually have it at half power, about 4 feet away & up above the subject. My settings on the camera are usually: ISO 100, SS 160, & F stop between 8-10. I've played around with the settings & where the light is positioned quite a bit, and the photos keep ending up a little washed out. What is the best way to fix this? Also, what is "hot lighting" ? On the critique forums I keep getting told my lighting is a bit hot but not sure what that means. :oops:

Thanks so much!!

(I'll attach an example)

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

sponsored links
sapearl
Cream of the Crop
16,343 posts
Gallery: 152 photos
Best ofs: 1
Joined Dec 2005

Apr 11, 2013 20:57 |  #2

Lisa, how are you measuring exposure? Are you using a flash meter?

GEAR LIST
MY WEBSITE (external link)- MY GALLERIES (external link)- MY BLOG (external link)
Artists Archives of the Western Reserve (external link) - Board

lisaannephotography
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2013

Apr 11, 2013 21:23 as a reply to  @ sapearl's post |  #3

sapearl, I tried using a flash meter (cheap one from amazon) & it kept saying to use F stop 12+, which made the photos too dark. So I've just been using "trial & error" really.