Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 19 Apr 2013 (Friday) 13:37
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D Mark III AF doesn't work?

 
KeyserSoze1
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:37 |  #1

Hi guys, Im having an issue with my 5Dm3 have done all that i could think of .


1) removing the battery and recharging it to full.
2) removing the CF card it doesn't shoot even if the shoot without CF card is enabled.
3) checked the MF switch on the lens .
4) changed and tried at least 5-6 diff lenses.
5) cleared all custom functions.
6) set the camera again to default factory settings.

How ever it does the following.
1) can shoot in Manual Focus Mode .
2) Can shoot auto focus in Live View Mode
3) Can Shoot in Movie Mode.

The AF only works on full automatic mode (Green Box) but AV, TV and Manual mode auto focus/blink doesnt work.


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
maverick75
Cream of the Crop
5,707 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 613
Joined May 2012
Location: Riverside,California
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:45 |  #2

Do you have back button focus turned on?


- Alex Corona Sony A7, Canon 7DM2/EOS M, Mamiya 645/67
Flickr (external link) - 500px (external link) - Website (external link)- Feedback -Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:46 |  #3

KeyserSoze1 wrote in post #15845730 (external link)
The AF only works on full automatic mode (Green Box) but AV, TV and Manual mode auto focus/blink doesnt work.

OK, forgive me for starting with the obvious, but you would be surprised how often it is something simple.

Are you in AI servo? It doesn't blink or lock focus in servo mode, only in one shot (same as any Canon DSLR). In full auto it is possible it defaults to one shot mode, hence works in green box.

When you say it doesn't AF, do you mean it won't move the lens (i.e. a totally out of focus blur stays as such) or just that the lights don't blink etc?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,242 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1569
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:46 |  #4

Are you using Magic Lantern software of any type with the camera?


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeyserSoze1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:47 |  #5

maverick75 wrote in post #15845748 (external link)
Do you have back button focus turned on?

No, camera settings has been reset.


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:48 |  #6

maverick75 wrote in post #15845748 (external link)
Do you have back button focus turned on?

That was my first thought, but :

KeyserSoze1 wrote in post #15845730 (external link)
5) cleared all custom functions.
6) set the camera again to default factory settings.

That would reset it to the shutter button.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeyserSoze1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:51 |  #7

sandpiper wrote in post #15845751 (external link)
OK, forgive me for starting with the obvious, but you would be surprised how often it is something simple.

Are you in AI servo? It doesn't blink or lock focus in servo mode, only in one shot (same as any Canon DSLR). In full auto it is possible it defaults to one shot mode, hence works in green box.

When you say it doesn't AF, do you mean it won't move the lens (i.e. a totally out of focus blur stays as such) or just that the lights don't blink etc?

Its One Shot/ Lens in AF switch. Thats correct, the lens will not move, totally OOF and it stays as such. I have not touched anything on the AF system menu.


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scroller52
Senior Member
964 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2009
Location: NYC
     
Apr 19, 2013 13:51 |  #8

sandpiper wrote in post #15845751 (external link)
OK, forgive me for starting with the obvious, but you would be surprised how often it is something simple.

Are you in AI servo? It doesn't blink or lock focus in servo mode, only in one shot (same as any Canon DSLR). In full auto it is possible it defaults to one shot mode, hence works in green box.

When you say it doesn't AF, do you mean it won't move the lens (i.e. a totally out of focus blur stays as such) or just that the lights don't blink etc?

this is my guess....


Canon EOS 5D3 | Canon 24mm 1.4L mkII | Canon 85mm 1.2L mkI | Canon 40mm 2.8
my flickr (external link)
my picasa (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lehmanncpa
Goldmember
Avatar
1,943 posts
Likes: 33
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:01 |  #9

In CFn2, you can select how you want to turn off AF. It may not have reset with the restore camera default settings. I think it's a setting in the camera. It's obviously not a mechanical issue, since AF works if in live view, so why wouldn't it work through the viewfinder? Probably software-related.

Has the OP updated the firmware? What version are you running? If you updated the firmware yourself, did you experience any errors when installing the update?


Alex
Gear List
Feedback
Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeyserSoze1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:10 |  #10

lehmanncpa wrote in post #15845798 (external link)
In CFn2, you can select how you want to turn off AF. It may not have reset with the restore camera default settings. I think it's a setting in the camera. It's obviously not a mechanical issue, since AF works if in live view, so why wouldn't it work through the viewfinder? Probably software-related.

Has the OP updated the firmware? What version are you running? If you updated the firmware yourself, did you experience any errors when installing the update?


1.1.3 is the firmware no updates done. Yeah, I tried all options and the only wau the AF works as in locks focus, moves the lens is in A+ mode (Green box).

I may have to send this back to Canon if I don;t get resolution in a few more tests.

Any other suggestions guys? Thanks.


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeyserSoze1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:14 |  #11

lehmanncpa wrote in post #15845798 (external link)
In CFn2, you can select how you want to turn off AF. It may not have reset with the restore camera default settings. I think it's a setting in the camera. It's obviously not a mechanical issue, since AF works if in live view, so why wouldn't it work through the viewfinder? Probably software-related.

Has the OP updated the firmware? What version are you running? If you updated the firmware yourself, did you experience any errors when installing the update?

You derserve a bottle of beer or something. Turns out this was the issue.

THANK YOU Alex!!!

:)


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lehmanncpa
Goldmember
Avatar
1,943 posts
Likes: 33
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:17 |  #12

Just checking, but you don't have the timer set, do you? You have it set for single frame?


Alex
Gear List
Feedback
Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lehmanncpa
Goldmember
Avatar
1,943 posts
Likes: 33
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:17 |  #13

KeyserSoze1 wrote in post #15845852 (external link)
You derserve a bottle of beer or something. Turns out this was the issue.

THANK YOU Alex!!!

:)

You're very welcome. My work here is done. :cool:


Alex
Gear List
Feedback
Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeyserSoze1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
525 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:28 |  #14

lehmanncpa wrote in post #15845875 (external link)
You're very welcome. My work here is done. :cool:

Really appreciate that. I owe you one.


Canon 5DM III, 35 1.4 II 50 1.2L
Canon 6D/// RX1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lehmanncpa
Goldmember
Avatar
1,943 posts
Likes: 33
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
     
Apr 19, 2013 14:32 |  #15

That's what the forum is for. Glad we helped.


Alex
Gear List
Feedback
Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,528 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 5D Mark III AF doesn't work?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Bob Wille
1246 guests, 321 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.