Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 02 May 2013 (Thursday) 05:54
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flags for standard light stands

Pearlallica
Goldmember
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008

May 02, 2013 05:54 |  #1

I have some background lights on standard light stands that I want to flag, probably with something basic like a black piece of foam core. I envision achieving this by attaching a grip head to something like a 20" boom. I'm guessing this arm can be attached with a super clamp and another grip head and the appropriate pin.

Do you you guys have a more simpler way of flagging your background lights using less components? I want compactness, nothing bulky like bi-fold doors.

jonathan @ tlcphoto.com (external link) - pro wedding and portrait photog
5d2 5d3 50L 16-35 70-200 ElinchromRX600 580EX 600EX VIV285

sponsored links
ksbal
Goldmember
2,745 posts
Gallery: 374 photos
Best ofs: 9
Joined Sep 2010

May 02, 2013 09:54 |  #2

Barn doors?

Godox/Flashpoint r2 system, plus some canon stuff.

Tobi.
469 posts
Joined Feb 2010

May 02, 2013 12:22 |  #3

I use a Manfrotto Superclamp (external link), then an articulated arm (external link), a spring clamp (external link) and simple foam core. The arm is long enough to reach around my flash head and beauty dish and even flag that.

Not the cheapest solution, but very flexible (as in: adjustable. Yes, it also flexes a little bit.). If I was to buy it again, I'd seriously consider a magic arm (external link) for the gain in adjustment speed.

Tobi

Pearlallica