Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 04 May 2013 (Saturday) 03:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D Mark III and 600EX-RT FEC Issue

 
ChadAndreo
Goldmember
Avatar
1,879 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Nov 2006
Location: WPB, FL
     
May 04, 2013 03:47 |  #1

I was wondering if anyone could tell me why I cannot control the flash exposure compensation on the 600EXRT from a 5Diii?
When I hit the ISO/FEC button, the option is not available.


Photographer + Cinematographer
LETS CONNECT - SOCIAL PHOTOGRAPHY SITE LINKS | Website (external link) | Wedding Site (external link) |
| Flickr  (external link) | Gear | 500px  (external link) | Tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
abbadon31
Goldmember
Avatar
4,920 posts
Gallery: 260 photos
Best ofs: 10
Likes: 4008
Joined Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
     
May 04, 2013 04:24 |  #2

did you update your firm ware


I AM SHOM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChadAndreo
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,879 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Nov 2006
Location: WPB, FL
     
May 04, 2013 04:32 |  #3

The cameras firmware is up to date. I don't know about the flash though.


Photographer + Cinematographer
LETS CONNECT - SOCIAL PHOTOGRAPHY SITE LINKS | Website (external link) | Wedding Site (external link) |
| Flickr  (external link) | Gear | 500px  (external link) | Tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
May 04, 2013 10:02 |  #4

I didn't know the flashes had firmware that could be updated. I haven't seen a data port that would be used to do this...


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
Avatar
4,920 posts
Gallery: 260 photos
Best ofs: 10
Likes: 4008
Joined Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
     
May 04, 2013 10:16 |  #5

The new 5D mKIII firmware had a update for the flash. The old firmware didn't let the flash use the AF-assist beam.


I AM SHOM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
Avatar
3,089 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 118
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
May 04, 2013 10:44 |  #6

ChadAndreo wrote in post #15896246 (external link)
I was wondering if anyone could tell me why I cannot control the flash exposure compensation on the 600EXRT from a 5Diii?
When I hit the ISO/FEC button, the option is not available.

Probably because the flash exposure compensation on the flash is not at 0.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
May 04, 2013 10:48 |  #7

abbadon31 wrote in post #15896799 (external link)
The new 5D mKIII firmware had a update for the flash. The old firmware didn't let the flash use the AF-assist beam.

Understood. My comment was in reference to this:

ChadAndreo wrote in post #15896287 (external link)
The cameras firmware is up to date. I don't know about the flash though.

abbadon31, the firmware you describe above was for the 5D MKIII... which allowed functionality of the flash, but not an update of firmware on the flash itself.


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abbadon31
Goldmember
Avatar
4,920 posts
Gallery: 260 photos
Best ofs: 10
Likes: 4008
Joined Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
     
May 04, 2013 12:46 |  #8

No it don't update the flash. Not sure if the camera firmware would help the flash problem above. I don't use speedlites so I have no clue.


I AM SHOM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
May 04, 2013 13:35 |  #9

I can/could set FEC in camera from the ISO button, quick menu and flash function menu with both the new and old firmware. The only thing I've noticed that changed flash wise is I can AF much faster when using assist beam.

The only time I can't set FEC is if the mode is in green box, it even lets me set it if the flash is off.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,222 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 5D Mark III and 600EX-RT FEC Issue
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fitactions
607 guests, 239 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.