Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 18 Jan 2006 (Wednesday) 21:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Why do you guys use manual? AV makes more sense.

chrishunt
Goldmember
1,899 posts
Joined Jan 2005

Jan 18, 2006 21:28 |  #1

I am by no means an expert on sports photography, but I know that I desire at least 1/500 and minimum DOF when shooting sports. It makes sense to me use AV, open up the aperture as wide as I can, and bump my ISO as needed to hit the 1/500 + mark. This way, I have minimum DOF and always the fastest shutter possible for each particular shot.

Why do so many of you shoot in manual or TV for sports? I wouldn't like TV because my DOV may be increased, which is bad (for me), and manual seems strange because lighting conditions change rapidly when outdoors and vary indoors as well depending on where you stand.

I always use custom WB, but am I missing something by not using manual exposure?

sponsored links
Croasdail
making stuff up
6,716 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2005

Jan 18, 2006 21:38 |  #2

Well, there are so many things that can trick the camera's readings, glare from the floor, light colored uniforms, etc. By reading off of skin tons, then locking that down, you can be assured the people in the shot come out looking proper. That is my reasoning... not sure about anyone else....

Mark
Its by knowing and mastering all the rules that you learn which ones you can break.

Tom ­ Reid
213 posts
Joined Feb 2005

Jan 18, 2006 21:41 |  #3