Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Performing Arts 
Thread started 02 Jun 2013 (Sunday) 14:29
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

A few different bands - really need some critique and feedback

onona
511 posts
Joined Aug 2012

Jun 02, 2013 14:29 |  #1

Hey all. I'm relatively new to photography and band photography in particular, having started shooting gigs a year ago (I basically had to learn how to use a camera properly at that point; I've owned cameras for a couple of years but only really used them on auto mode for holiday snaps). I got into shooting gigs because music is my biggest passion.

A year down the line now, it's something I really love to do, and I've been shooting for a friend's hard rock/metal website, so I've had the opportunity to shoot a lot of cool bands in nice venues around London, but it's costing me quite a bit in travel costs, lenses and whatnot (which wouldn't ordinarily be an issue except that I'm in an unusually long break between jobs in my regular profession, which is in the film industry, where we work project-to-project, often with breaks inbetween where I have to live off my savings), so it'd be nice to be able to cover my costs with a few paying gigs here and there. I've tried emailing a few magazine/website picture editors but I never get any response, so clearly I need to improve, but I'm not sure at this point how or where. So I really need to hear from others, especially people who do this professionally, where I need to improve so that I can take my work to a new level.