Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 13 Jun 2013 (Thursday) 15:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Do You Save Photoshop Layers?

 
BigBadWolfie
Senior Member
268 posts
Joined Jul 2011
     
Jun 13, 2013 15:56 |  #1

Do you normally save photoshop layers or flatten the image to conserve space?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
30,599 posts
Gallery: 440 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 12266
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 13, 2013 15:56 |  #2

Only rarely on images that I think I might be coming back to for some reason.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,656 posts
Gallery: 145 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1192
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
Jun 13, 2013 16:24 |  #3

BigBadWolfie wrote in post #16028346 (external link)
Do you normally save photoshop layers or flatten the image to conserve space?

It depends. If it's a photo that I might come back to then yes. If I feel that I've done all that can be done, then no. I'll always have the RAW to revisit if I need to, because I never do any permanent changes to that. I do all of my nondestructive RAW processing in LR, then send a copy to PS Elements if needed for more work.


Rick
6D Mark II - EF 17-40 f4 L -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EL_PIC
Goldmember
Avatar
2,028 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Austin Texas - Lucca Italy
     
Jun 13, 2013 16:34 |  #4
bannedPermanent ban

Generally No.
Often a waste of space.
Always leave your Raw image intact and rename the modified image regardless of format.


EL_PIC - RIT BS Photo '78 - Photomask Engineering Mgr
Canon DSLR - Nikon SLR - Phase One 60MP MFDSLR
http://www.Photo-Image-Creations.com (external link)
http://www.musecube.co​m/el_pic/ (external link)
http://www.facebook.co​m/PhotoImageCreations (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 464
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jun 13, 2013 16:59 as a reply to  @ EL_PIC's post |  #5

Why worry about space when HD's are so cheap? :confused:


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MCAsan
Goldmember
Avatar
3,905 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
     
Jun 13, 2013 21:21 |  #6

Why worry about space when HD's are so cheap?

Excellent point. 3TB drives are cheap at Costco and others.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sapearl
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
16,802 posts
Gallery: 227 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 2534
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Jun 13, 2013 21:26 |  #7

EL_PIC wrote in post #16028435 (external link)
Generally No.
Often a waste of space.
Always leave your Raw image intact and rename the modified image regardless of format.

This +

Once I'm done processing the RAW image I'm finished with it. I'll save it as a TIFF with a new name but always leave the original RAW file alone. It's just not part of my work flow to go back to a particular layer.


GEAR LIST
MY WEBSITE (external link)- MY GALLERIES (external link)- MY BLOG (external link)
Artists Archives of the Western Reserve (external link) - Board

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,867 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Likes: 1133
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
     
Jun 13, 2013 23:38 as a reply to  @ sapearl's post |  #8

If I worked it a lot and I think the image is good, yes. HD is cheap. Yes sometimes it's an extra Gb of space.

But it's not like that many of my shots go into multiple PS layers.


Edward Jenner
5DIV, M6, GX1 II, Sig15mm FE, 16-35 F4,TS-E 17, TS-E 24, 35 f2 IS, M11-22, M18-150 ,24-105, T45 1.8VC, 70-200 f4 IS, 70-200 2.8 vII, Sig 85 1.4, 100L, 135L, 400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,867 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Likes: 1133
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
     
Jun 13, 2013 23:39 |  #9

chauncey wrote in post #16028506 (external link)
Why worry about space when HD's are so cheap? :confused:

Because you can easily end up with a quagmire of crap.

Or at least I would.


Edward Jenner
5DIV, M6, GX1 II, Sig15mm FE, 16-35 F4,TS-E 17, TS-E 24, 35 f2 IS, M11-22, M18-150 ,24-105, T45 1.8VC, 70-200 f4 IS, 70-200 2.8 vII, Sig 85 1.4, 100L, 135L, 400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nWmR12
Senior Member
669 posts
Likes: 97
Joined Oct 2008
     
Jun 14, 2013 02:18 |  #10

Most of the time I save it (TIFF) but usually it is because I have spent a lot of time on it. Or if I want to see how I did it and try to apply it to another photo. Then again very few actually go into PS as most I feel are good enough for LR.


5DIII, 5Dc, 24-105L, 100-400L, 14mm Rokinon 21 ZE, 35L, 50 1.4, 50CM 2.5, Rokkor 58mm 1.2. 85 1.8, 135L |S90| Film: Mamiya RZ67 ProII/ Mamiya 7II | Rolleiflex 2.8C
flickr (external link)|500px (external link)|facebook (external link) - Travel/landscape | facebook (external link) - Portrait| Instagram (external link)
Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
StayFrosty
Senior Member
Avatar
407 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2012
Location: UK
     
Jun 14, 2013 02:34 |  #11

Personally I always save my working documents including layers. If it's something I've cared enough about to put time and effort into doing then I don't want to delete it.

I'm pretty brutal with culling pics though, I used to save everything but now when I download my pictures off the camera I reject and delete probably 80% or more of my stuff. Even family snaps! Looking back in 20 years time I won't want to trawl thru' all the crap that I've produced just my better stuff or stuff that is interesting or means something to me.


flickr (external link) Vimeo (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
boerewors
Goldmember
Avatar
1,948 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Sep 2009
Location: South African living in Indonesia
     
Jun 14, 2013 11:36 |  #12

I do as much editing as i can possibly get away with in the raw converter so it can all be saved in the xmp file. In PS i dont usually save the layers but after having several images returned to me due to spelling mistakes in images with text, i now save those in layers :)


The most important piece of gear you own, resides in your head and its called your brain.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
30,599 posts
Gallery: 440 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 12266
Joined Dec 2006
     
Jun 14, 2013 11:42 |  #13

boerewors wrote in post #16030732 (external link)
I do as much editing as i can possibly get away with in the raw converter so it can all be saved in the xmp file. In PS i dont usually save the layers but after having several images returned to me due to spelling mistakes in images with text, i now save those in layers :)

Oh yes, save anything with text in a form with layers preserved. That font thats so cool now my end up being the the typographic equivalent of the harlem shake, cool today, tacky tomorrow.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Jun 14, 2013 12:01 |  #14

Sometimes.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
Avatar
3,993 posts
Likes: 337
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ky
     
Jun 14, 2013 12:17 as a reply to  @ Lowner's post |  #15

As ACR capabilities have improved I find less and less that needs to make the trip to PS. Anything that takes more than a couple of minutes gets saved as a un-flattened, 16 bit, psd master which is usually only images that need cloning/healing or masking.


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,561 views & 0 likes for this thread
Do You Save Photoshop Layers?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ArleeZarling
527 guests, 209 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.