Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 29 Jul 2013 (Monday) 08:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6D high ISO performance in mRaw format compared to 5D, how much better is it?

 
genjurok
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jul 29, 2013 08:59 |  #1

I've been using 5D (the original 5D) for a few years and will upgrade to 6D soon.

6D mRaw 11mp, 5D raw 12mp, roughly the same number of pixels for me.

From my experience if the 5D pic exposure is sufficient , at ISO 1000 ~ 1250 it retains good detail and not much noise at pixel level. That's the maximum ISO limit for me personally. How much better or how many stops is 6D high ISO performance compared to 5D?

Thanks a lot!


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
JoYork
Goldmember
Avatar
3,079 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2007
Location: York, England
     
Jul 29, 2013 10:16 |  #2

I've only had my 6d a few days but I took some comparison shots in an office at work at ISO 1600, 3200 and 6400 and they are all very usable. Here's one shot at ISO 6400. File was shot in 20mp Raw mode and has had noise reduction added in Lightroom:

IMAGE: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88332160/IMG_0730.jpg

IMAGE: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88332160/IMG_0730-2.jpg

mRaw should provide cleaner images by default, so I'm happy to take some photos later and compare them with the 5Dc.

Jo
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jul 30, 2013 06:10 |  #3

Thanks a lot! Can't wait to see the comparison shots.

Cheers!


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 30, 2013 06:18 |  #4

Recently, I took an SD card to BestBuy and shot some high-ISO stuff with a 6D. I found the SOOC jpgs at 12,800 to be quite useful. At 25,600 I would shoot raw and process them. That really blows away my 60D. On that body I start shooting raw + processing at 3200. Same with the 5D, but it only goes to 3200.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,004 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5834
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jul 30, 2013 07:49 |  #5

Tommy1957 wrote in post #16165927 (external link)
Recently, I took an SD card to BestBuy and shot some high-ISO stuff with a 6D. I found the SOOC jpgs at 12,800 to be quite useful. At 25,600 I would shoot raw and process them. That really blows away my 60D. On that body I start shooting raw + processing at 3200. Same with the 5D, but it only goes to 3200.

Come on, with all your testing and our discussions, we know the 6D is not 3 stops better than the 60D. And your 60D at ISO 3200 is already ahead of the 5Dc. ;)

Now the 6D is probably quite close to being 3 stops better than the 5Dc at ISO 6400 and higher, and shooting at medium raw (effectively just resizing the images down to a smaller size) is really going to lock in a 3 stop difference I would think.

Going from a $500 5Dc to a $1600 6D is a huge improvement across the board, and well worth the $1100 difference, IMO. Menus, features, function and performance all will be better.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 30, 2013 08:18 |  #6

TeamSpeed wrote in post #16166064 (external link)
Come on, with all your testing and our discussions, we know the 6D is not 3 stops better than the 60D. And your 60D at ISO 3200 is already ahead of the 5Dc. ;)

Now the 6D is probably quite close to being 3 stops better than the 5Dc at ISO 6400 and higher, and shooting at medium raw (effectively just resizing the images down to a smaller size) is really going to lock in a 3 stop difference I would think.

Going from a $500 5Dc to a $1600 6D is a huge improvement across the board, and well worth the $1100 difference, IMO. Menus, features, function and performance all will be better.

Yes. You are absolutely correct. Had I phrased it like you did I would have disagreed with myself. I did not go back to check the previous thread. Perhaps I am too-fondly remembering the 6D that I decided I could not afford.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,004 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5834
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jul 30, 2013 08:31 |  #7

Give it time, the 6D will eventually be very affordable from the CLP program, the price has to drop a bit, but I have a couple of SD100s that I have sitting around ready to be offloaded to CLP. :)


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 30, 2013 08:40 |  #8

I have an A1100IS (a pink one) that doesn't focus anymore. CLP is the only reason I keep it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JoYork
Goldmember
Avatar
3,079 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2007
Location: York, England
     
Jul 30, 2013 10:48 |  #9

Sorry I didn't get a chance to take any photos last night. I've got my 6d on me today so I've taken a few more. These look pretty noisy because I didn't shoot to the right, I just let the camera's evaluative meter decide the correct exposure. Pretty sure if I'd have changed the exposure by a stop then a lot of the noise would have gone. In my limited use of the camera I've found it tends to underexpose slightly at times.

The only thing I've done is added some noise reduction in Lightroom 4.4 to the photos (the luminance slider is set to 40 in each case).

The first is from sRaw mode:

IMAGE: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88332160/IMG_0840.jpg


Next up is mRaw mode:

IMAGE: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88332160/IMG_0839.jpg


And finally normal Raw mode:

IMAGE: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88332160/IMG_0841.jpg


For me, there seems only 2 choices - shoot in full Raw mode if you wish to retain maximum resolution or shoot in sRaw if you need to save on space (the files were 13, 19 and 26mb respectively). The sRaw files are clean and sharp whereas I found the mRaw files to look a bit muddy.

I'm annoyed I didn't get a chance to compare with the 5Dc so tonight I'll do another test, this time exposing to the right on each camera, and I'll also throw the 550D into the mix. I've lent my 400D to someone otherwise I'd include that to see how technology has moved on over the years.

Jo
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
genjurok
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
537 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jul 30, 2013 18:37 |  #10

Thanks a lot to Jo and everyone else for the test and information.

I also found this on a different forum
"If you use sRaw, you will have (almost) the same dynamic range control and WB control. You will lose debeyer control, the spatial decode of your image. Meaning, it will make noise reduction and sharpening work far more challenging. In particular, the debeyer step will be baked in the way that the camera was programmed to do it at the time of its manufacture. This means that that step (arguably the most important step of image decode) is stuck in time. If you take the same image and decode it using a state-of-the-art decoder in 2020, it will not bring you any benefit. In contrast, with "proper" raw, you would reap the benefits of advanced technology.

For wedding work you may not care. Personally, my 1DS (mk1) travel images from 2003 get a breath of new life every time a new decoder comes out.

Also note that if you get a 10MP file instead of 20, you won't save 50% of space. A true raw file has one channel per pixel; an sRaw file has all three channels per pixel. So you get about 3/4 the file size (a bit more compact due to the way the compressor works). The main speed benefit of sRaw is (1) the debeyer step is skipped since it's already baked in (and that happens to be the slowest part of the process), and (2) the image has a smaller memory footprint in your image processing app of choice. It has little to do with I/O, it has to do with the debeyer and then with CPU cache misses which is what is a good part of what's killing today's raw decoders.
"

It seems to me that the best way is to shoot standard RAW and in postprocessing I can always choose the output size.

Cheers!


6D
Canon 17-40mm f/4L | Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
Canon 50mm f/1.8 | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 | Canon 100mm f/2
580 EX | 430 EX | Pixel King Pro wireless radio trigger and receiver (x2)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jul 30, 2013 18:43 |  #11

genjurok wrote in post #16163121 (external link)
I've been using 5D (the original 5D) for a few years and will upgrade to 6D soon.

6D mRaw 11mp, 5D raw 12mp, roughly the same number of pixels for me.

From my experience if the 5D pic exposure is sufficient , at ISO 1000 ~ 1250 it retains good detail and not much noise at pixel level. That's the maximum ISO limit for me personally. How much better or how many stops is 6D high ISO performance compared to 5D?

Thanks a lot!

Have both 5dc and 6d. 6d looks pretty good at ISO6400.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,571 views & 0 likes for this thread
6D high ISO performance in mRaw format compared to 5D, how much better is it?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
1660 guests, 314 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.