Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 25 Sep 2013 (Wednesday) 12:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

IMac, Mac Mini, or Mac Pro?

 
rdalrt
Goldmember
Avatar
1,708 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 845
Joined Aug 2008
Location: The Great White North
     
Oct 08, 2013 18:20 |  #31

jrafael wrote in post #16356213 (external link)
bw!

Hackintosh FTW !!!

Been there, done that.

If you are tech savvy and don't mind monkeying around trying to find kexts to make things work, then by all means go for it.

I guess I am too old. I got tired of the seemingly simplest things breaking my hackintosh and having to spend half a day getting things working correctly again.

Sold my hack, and bought a used Mac Pro to go with my Macbook Pro and Mac Mini. Everything just works. And thats just fine with me. :)


Just Sports Photographyexternal link
My Junk ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 09, 2013 10:06 |  #32

rdalrt wrote in post #16356625 (external link)
Been there, done that.

If you are tech savvy and don't mind monkeying around trying to find kexts to make things work, then by all means go for it.

I guess I am too old. I got tired of the seemingly simplest things breaking my hackintosh and having to spend half a day getting things working correctly again.

Sold my hack, and bought a used Mac Pro to go with my Macbook Pro and Mac Mini. Everything just works. And that's just fine with me. :)

That's is partially true if you already have a system and want to install OSX in it, however if you are building a pc from the ground up you can piece together are very nice and easy system that will require very little intervention from your part to run almost stock osx.

In my case I bought and use dell precision M4300 from ebay $70 then bought retail snow leopard from apple store $19.99 and with the help from the folks at http://www.osxlatitude​.com/ (external link)

I was able to upgrade with out much fuss to ML 10.8.5 (the only thing that I changed in the laptop was the wireless card, bought and original apple airport for $13 shipped from amazon).

All of this its no much different than installing windows and then replacing the stock Microsoft drivers for the more up to date drivers from the manufacture themselves (ati, nvidia, etc).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
Avatar
3,606 posts
Gallery: 127 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 826
Joined Dec 2009
Location: 604
     
Oct 09, 2013 12:00 |  #33

jrafael wrote in post #16358057 (external link)
That's is partially true if you already have a system and want to install OSX in it, however if you are building a pc from the ground up you can piece together are very nice and easy system that will require very little intervention from your part to run almost stock osx.

In my case I bought and use dell precision M4300 from ebay $70 then bought retail snow leopard from apple store $19.99 and with the help from the folks at http://www.osxlatitude​.com/ (external link)

I was able to upgrade with out much fuss to ML 10.8.5 (the only thing that I changed in the laptop was the wireless card, bought and original apple airport for $13 shipped from amazon).

All of this its no much different than installing windows and then replacing the stock Microsoft drivers for the more up to date drivers from the manufacture themselves (ati, nvidia, etc).

It's still work. I've had 3 Hackintoshes in the past and although you've been lucky with upgrades, point releases have to be researched to make sure you don't kernal panic your installation, and new kexts are sometimes not completely compatible depending on your hardware revisions.

That being said I loved working and building a Hackintosh but if I was working on a time critical video or paid work, it was always a worry if something would go down. I hated to pay Apples prices but in the end I got a Mini and maxed it out myself and have the peace of mind that it's reliable to a fault as far as general operation goes. I would have the same feeling if it was a standard Windows box.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 09, 2013 12:57 |  #34

flowrider wrote in post #16358359 (external link)
It's still work. I've had 3 Hackintoshes in the past and although you've been lucky with upgrades, point releases have to be researched to make sure you don't kernal panic your installation, and new kexts are sometimes not completely compatible depending on your hardware revisions.

That being said I loved working and building a Hackintosh but if I was working on a time critical video or paid work, it was always a worry if something would go down. I hated to pay Apples prices but in the end I got a Mini and maxed it out myself and have the peace of mind that it's reliable to a fault as far as general operation goes. I would have the same feeling if it was a standard Windows box.

I know what you mean, however Apple user themselves are not exempt of that either:

https://discussions.ap​ple.com/message/231895​14#23189514 (external link)
https://discussions.ap​ple.com/message/232597​71#23259771 (external link)

not much different than using a hackintosh.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flowrider
Goldmember
Avatar
3,606 posts
Gallery: 127 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 826
Joined Dec 2009
Location: 604
     
Oct 09, 2013 13:09 |  #35

jrafael wrote in post #16358465 (external link)
I know what you mean, however Apple user themselves are not exempt of that either:

https://discussions.ap​ple.com/message/231895​14#23189514 (external link)
https://discussions.ap​ple.com/message/232597​71#23259771 (external link)

not much different than using a hackintosh.

Too true but often an update will only break part of the mac such as wifi. An update can break the entire installation on a Hackintosh and give you a kernal panic which is significantly more trouble than missing wifi.

One thing if you have a Hack is you have to be very vigilant with your backups and it's always a good idea to keep a mirrored bootable backup handy. It's a good idea for all computer users though.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 09, 2013 13:31 |  #36

flowrider wrote in post #16358493 (external link)
... you have to be very vigilant with your backups and it's always a good idea to keep a mirrored bootable backup handy. It's a good idea for all computer users though.

bw!

For this I personally found Time Machine a very handy tool.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,903 posts
Likes: 204
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Oct 09, 2013 15:52 |  #37

Rushmore wrote in post #16326292 (external link)
I use an iMac...

BUT.. going to do a Hackintosh..

£5000 equivalent,
for around £850

jrafael wrote in post #16356213 (external link)
bw!

Hackintosh FTW !!!

It's pure fantasy to suggest a £850 hackintosh is equivalent to a Mac Pro.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 10, 2013 00:32 |  #38

Tony-S wrote in post #16358911 (external link)
It's pure fantasy to suggest a £850 hackintosh is equivalent to a Mac Pro.

lol,

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=Kqjvj8mUCKI (external link)

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=DvHm_zGAMvM (external link)

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=jSWWp_VYy6w (external link)

http://nofilmschool.co​m/build-a-hackintosh/ (external link)

http://www.eoshd.com …well-as-on-a-5000-mac-pro (external link)

http://itsjustjustin.c​om …ct-hackintosh-macpro/6851 (external link)

http://forums.planet5d​.com …-%28for-4K-RAW-editing%29 (external link)

http://www.insanelymac​.com …-builds-for-every-budget/ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FarmerTed1971
fondling the 5D4
Avatar
6,960 posts
Gallery: 66 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4763
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Portland, OR
     
Oct 10, 2013 00:49 as a reply to  @ jrafael's post |  #39

For the industrious and extremely patient person by all means try and build a clone. For the rest of us that prefer a machine that just works properly after firing it up right out the box we'll continue to shell out the dough for the real deal.

I'd love to have the time to build my own, but I frankly HATE pc's with a passion and they continue to frustrate me every day at work. When I come home and fire up my Apple products I feel relaxed and confident.


Getting better at this - Fuji X-t3 x2 - Fuji X-Pro2 - Laowa 9mm - 16 1.4 - 18-55 - 16-80 - 23/35/50/90 f2 - 50-140 - flickr (external link) - www.scottaticephoto.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,903 posts
Likes: 204
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Oct 10, 2013 07:26 |  #40

jrafael wrote in post #16359814 (external link)
lol,


LOL for sure. Can any of those take 128 GB of RAM?
Can any of those take two processors?
Do any of those use EEC RAM?
Do any of those use Xeon processors?

You can build a high-performance hackintosh, but they are not "equivalent" to a Mac Pro.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 10, 2013 09:05 |  #41

Tony-S wrote in post #16360133 (external link)
LOL for sure. Can any of those take 128 GB of RAM?
Can any of those take two processors?
Do any of those use EEC RAM?
Do any of those use Xeon processors?

You can build a high-performance hackintosh, but they are not "equivalent" to a Mac Pro.

Lol, again.

Of course it can, did you check the youtube video that i linked, there is a guy showing off a dual processor (12 cores total) hackintosh.

Since apple moved to intel processors its easy to piece together high quality/performance equipment for less than "real" mac.

And I'm not saying hackintosh are for everyone, however all platforms and os have the fair share of issues, if you don't believe take a look at the supports forums at apple, Microsoft, Debian, etc.

All electronics components are going to fail, deteriorate or be out of spec sooner or later, example, something as simple as a capacitor it can cause blue screen of death, kernel panics, etc, there is not "black magic" or voodoo involved. some manufactures use better quality components than others but that doesn't exempt from this.

Motherboard $579.99 http://www.newegg.com …aspx?Item=N82E1​6813182354 (external link)

CPU - $899.99 x 2 http://www.newegg.com …aspx?Item=N82E1​6819117267 (external link)

Memory - $689.99 x 2 http://www.newegg.com …aspx?Item=N82E1​6820239276 (external link)

$3,759.95

even after adding the rest of the needing componets (gpu, psu, etc) the new mac pro its going to cost probably 2x or more than that.

There is a very detailed step by step guide in this link, perhaps will help clear some of the FUD that has been posted.

http://nofilmschool.co​m/build-a-hackintosh/ (external link)

Other user's super macs builds:

http://www.macbreaker.​com …on-hackintosh-server.html (external link)

http://www.tonymacx86.​com …b-geekbench-28-000-a.html (external link)

http://www.macintouch.​com/reviews/supermax/ (external link)

32 cores hackintosh !!! http://www.reduser.net …s-ready-CS6-vs-REDROCKET& (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Luckless
Goldmember
3,064 posts
Likes: 189
Joined Mar 2012
Location: PEI, Canada
     
Oct 10, 2013 09:25 |  #42

Tony-S wrote in post #16360133 (external link)
LOL for sure. Can any of those take 128 GB of RAM?
Can any of those take two processors?
Do any of those use EEC RAM?
Do any of those use Xeon processors?

You can build a high-performance hackintosh, but they are not "equivalent" to a Mac Pro.

Will 128 GB of ram out preform 64GB in many applications that most users will run into?

No. No it will not as for many problem sets you will barely push a 8GB, and for the vast majority of users you will barely make real use of 2GB even today.

Will 2 processors be better than 1 for a majority of processing tasks?

Nope, not even close. Most processing tasks these days barely even make use of two cores, let alone two processors.

Will most problems be better served with more expensive ECC ram?

Nope. In more than a decade of computer sciences research I can count the number of times I have had a ram corruption (that wasn't related to an actual hardware failure) on one hand. That hand looks kind of like a fist when counting them, because I've never had one.

Will most problems be best served with a Xeon Processor (of the grade Apple ships with their current line of pros)? ... Given that for 1/4 of the price you can get higher bench mark scores with an i7, I would say no, not at all.

There are lots of ways computer systems may be 'equivalent' or 'more powerful'. Through one of my jobs I have access to a few super computers. One of which is a dedicated custom cluster that cost a few million when it was brought online a year ago. It eats terabytes of data in the blink of an eye. (It has something insane like 20000 1.something ghz cores)

Clearly a better computer than my old home built desktop with an i5 right? Try loading photoshop on it...


Canon EOS 7D | EF 28 f/1.8 | EF 85 f/1.8 | EF 70-200 f/4L | EF-S 17-55 | Sigma 150-500
Flickr: Real-Luckless (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,903 posts
Likes: 204
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Oct 10, 2013 10:22 |  #43

jrafael wrote in post #16360288 (external link)
Lol, again. Of course it can, did you check the youtube video that i linked, there is a guy showing off a dual processor (12 cores total) hackintosh.

Thanks for showing you can't build an equivalent to the Mac Pro for £850 ($1350).

Since apple moved to intel processors its easy to piece together high quality/performance equipment for less than "real" mac.

I know all about hackintoshes. I've built 4 of them and one still runs my home theater.

even after adding the rest of the needing componets (gpu, psu, etc) the new mac pro its going to cost probably 2x or more than that.

You'll find that it's closer to the cost of a Mac Pro than half price.

There is a very detailed step by step guide in this link, perhaps will help clear some of the FUD that has been posted.

What FUD has been posted?

Luckless wrote in post #16360330 (external link)
Will 128 GB of ram out preform 64GB in many applications that most users will run into?

No, but that's not the point. The point is you can't build a Mac Pro-equivalent hackintosh for $1350. You can build an iMac-equivalent hackintosh but it will be about the same cost, sans display. I went through this a few years ago. In the end, with all the features of an iMac minus the cost of a 27" H-IPS display, the hackintosh was a bit more expensive, and that's not counting my time assembling it and troubleshooting the installation.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jrafael
Member
134 posts
Joined Jul 2012
Location: London, UK
     
Oct 10, 2013 10:55 |  #44

Tony-S wrote in post #16360451 (external link)
Thanks for showing you can't build an equivalent to the Mac Pro for £850 ($1350).

Really, again check OVER HERE http://nofilmschool.co​m …a-hackintosh/comparisons​/ (external link)
they show you a startup mac pro for $900.

And the other builds I linked was to respond to the other user saying that you couldn't build a fast hackintosh.

BTW here its another system for ~$1,148

http://9to5mac.com …h-mac-pro-specs-for-1148/ (external link)

Another build for less than $1300

http://jmprocreative.c​om …ustom-mac-pro-hackintosh/ (external link)

More Mix-and-Match hardware suggestions:

http://www.tonymacx86.​com …ember-2013.html#custo_pro (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,903 posts
Likes: 204
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Oct 10, 2013 11:11 |  #45

jrafael wrote in post #16360532 (external link)
Really, again check OVER HERE http://nofilmschool.co​m …a-hackintosh/comparisons​/ (external link)
they show you a startup mac pro for $900.

You need to reread that link. The $900 is the starting point for an i5 hackintosh. Not even close to a Mac Pro. Their "Mac Pro" hackintosh is based on an Ivy Bridge processor, not a Xeon processor.

Again, if you build a PC to the same specifications and features of a Mac Pro, it will cost just about the same as a genuine Mac Pro. No one is saying you can't build a cheap hackintosh, but by the time you add all the components to it, you'll be in the same ball-park price as a Mac.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

11,527 views & 0 likes for this thread
IMac, Mac Mini, or Mac Pro?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jgozzi
812 guests, 214 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.