Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Oct 2013 (Tuesday) 09:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you save all your 5Dmk3 camera settings to your PC?

 
Nick_Reading.UK
Senior Member
Avatar
836 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
     
Oct 15, 2013 09:40 |  #1

Can you save all your 5Dmk3 camera settings to your PC?

As "Other" people do like to Mess things up within the settings..


EOS 5Dmk3 X2, 60D, EF24-70mm f2.8L mk2, EF70-200mm f2.8L IS mk2, EF85mm f1.8, EF50mm f1.4, EF50mm f1.8 mk1(350D with 18-55mm Sh"kit" lens).
Speedlite 600EX-RT, 430EX II Flash. manfrotto 190XDB tripod, Giottos GTMML 3290B Monopod, B+W 77mm 110 Single Coated filter, Hama 77mm Variable Neutral Density Filter.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,866 posts
Likes: 726
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Oct 15, 2013 12:52 |  #2

Go to the thread at https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1215497. A few models, like the Canon 1DMkIV, support what you desire. When you get to the link, go to the 2nd page where an individual mentions a utility that might do this. I didn't try it back then nor now so you get to be the test case.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
Oct 15, 2013 12:58 |  #3

Didn't they add this feature to EOS utility but it only works some bodies? I haven't got around to installing it on my new laptop as I don't use the Canon software that often and the need for it hasn't came up, otherwise I'd verify if it is there and works on the 5DIII.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,866 posts
Likes: 726
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Oct 15, 2013 14:10 |  #4

lovemyram4x4 wrote in post #16373146 (external link)
Didn't they add this feature to EOS utility but it only works some bodies? I haven't got around to installing it on my new laptop as I don't use the Canon software that often and the need for it hasn't came up, otherwise I'd verify if it is there and works on the 5DIII.

Interesting point you bring up. I only have the Help File for EOS Utility version 2.9.0 and I've attached two pages that indicate some items can be "registered" which I assume means saved to the PC. The current version is 2.13.25.1 - I'll have to update and give it a try.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
virsago_mk2
Senior Member
Avatar
600 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Perth (Australia) & Semarang (Indonesia)
     
Oct 15, 2013 21:06 |  #5

AFAIK that feature is exclusive for 1D series bodies.

So for a 5D3 users like us, we'll have to write down the settings ourselves & keep it safe somewhere.


Gear: Here | Portfolio: Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
Oct 15, 2013 22:51 |  #6

virsago_mk2 wrote in post #16374277 (external link)
AFAIK that feature is exclusive for 1D series bodies.

So for a 5D3 users like us, we'll have to write down the settings ourselves & keep it safe somewhere.

If that's the case, it seems pretty silly to support it on bodies that can already save settings to CF/SD card.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,984 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 267
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Oct 16, 2013 14:44 as a reply to  @ lovemyram4x4's post |  #7

The registration mentioned in the extract from the manual above is the setup of the six items you can bring together in the User's menu, a feature introduced with the 40D/1D Mark III.

There are a few other settings you can do via EOS Utilities too, but not an overall storage of all settings, like the 1DX can do to its memory card.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,347 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you save all your 5Dmk3 camera settings to your PC?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is aaalex7
1068 guests, 326 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.