Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 09 Dec 2013 (Monday) 16:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5d mk3 Ai servo and recompose at half pressed button

 
Nick_Reading.UK
Senior Member
Avatar
836 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:14 |  #1

I noticed that on AI servo and having the focus point central that once I recomposed (button still half pressed) it tried to re- focus on the centre point again..
Am I doing something wrong (settings)?


EOS 5Dmk3 X2, 60D, EF24-70mm f2.8L mk2, EF70-200mm f2.8L IS mk2, EF85mm f1.8, EF50mm f1.4, EF50mm f1.8 mk1(350D with 18-55mm Sh"kit" lens).
Speedlite 600EX-RT, 430EX II Flash. manfrotto 190XDB tripod, Giottos GTMML 3290B Monopod, B+W 77mm 110 Single Coated filter, Hama 77mm Variable Neutral Density Filter.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Wallace ­ River
" ...a bit of a pervy voyeur "
Avatar
12,529 posts
Gallery: 139 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 3394
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Wallace, Nova Scotia
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:16 |  #2

AI Servo is for things in motion. If you're shooting still subjects, use oneshot. AI Servo will follow the established focus point if you move the camera.


IAN - Living life on the shores of the Wallace River in northern Nova Scotia, Canada :
Canon 1D4, 1D-X, almost enough glass.
My Flickr (external link).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Avatar
880 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:18 |  #3

You should be using the back button focus function.


My website (external link) | My facebook (external link) | My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick_Reading.UK
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
836 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:20 |  #4

Wallace River wrote in post #16514378 (external link)
AI Servo is for things in motion. If you're shooting still subjects, use oneshot. AI Servo will follow the established focus point if you move the camera.

Yes but many on this forum believe that AI servo is the best setting even with portraits as the subjects can move a lot..


EOS 5Dmk3 X2, 60D, EF24-70mm f2.8L mk2, EF70-200mm f2.8L IS mk2, EF85mm f1.8, EF50mm f1.4, EF50mm f1.8 mk1(350D with 18-55mm Sh"kit" lens).
Speedlite 600EX-RT, 430EX II Flash. manfrotto 190XDB tripod, Giottos GTMML 3290B Monopod, B+W 77mm 110 Single Coated filter, Hama 77mm Variable Neutral Density Filter.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:27 |  #5

Nick_Reading.UK wrote in post #16514396 (external link)
Yes but many on this forum believe that AI servo is the best setting even with portraits as the subjects can move a lot..

In this case you select the proper Af point.

For recompose you can either use BBF with AF removed from shutter(lift thump off back button when recomposing) or you could also set back button to AF stop which will stop the shutter from focusing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
saea501
... spilled over a little on the panties
Avatar
6,662 posts
Gallery: 43 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 9117
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Florida
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:28 |  #6

Wallace River wrote in post #16514378 (external link)
AI Servo is for things in motion. If you're shooting still subjects, use oneshot. AI Servo will follow the established focus point if you move the camera.

This..

Nick_Reading.UK wrote in post #16514396 (external link)
Yes but many on this forum believe that AI servo is the best setting even with portraits as the subjects can move a lot..

I read this forum a lot and I don't remember seeing this.


Remember what the DorMouse said.....feed your head.
Bob
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/147975282@N06 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick_Reading.UK
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
836 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:49 |  #7

saea501 wrote in post #16514420 (external link)
I read this forum a lot and I don't remember seeing this.


https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1344042


EOS 5Dmk3 X2, 60D, EF24-70mm f2.8L mk2, EF70-200mm f2.8L IS mk2, EF85mm f1.8, EF50mm f1.4, EF50mm f1.8 mk1(350D with 18-55mm Sh"kit" lens).
Speedlite 600EX-RT, 430EX II Flash. manfrotto 190XDB tripod, Giottos GTMML 3290B Monopod, B+W 77mm 110 Single Coated filter, Hama 77mm Variable Neutral Density Filter.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kin2son
Goldmember
4,546 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:50 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

Al servo on 5D3 is *almost* as accurate as one shot even for still subject. Thus mine is on al servo 100% of the time.

To answer OP's question, of course the camera will try to refocus! That's the whole point of al servo!

People use 5D3 mainly to move away from focus recompose as it has so many available points for you to choose from.....using center point then recompose isn't how 5D3 is meant to be used....you have 6D for that :p

If you insist, either use bbf, assign a button to stop AF, or switch to one-shot mode.


5D3 Gripped / 17-40L / Σ35 / 40 Pancake / Zeiss 50 MP / Σ85 / 100L Macro / 70-200 f2.8L II IS / 430 EX II / 580 EX II / Canon 2xIII TC / Kenko Ext. Tubes
EOS M / EF-M 18-55 / EF-M 22f2 / Ricoh GR aka Ultimate street camera :p
Flickr (external link) | My Images on Getty®‎ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick_Reading.UK
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
836 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
     
Dec 09, 2013 16:53 |  #9

kin2son wrote in post #16514481 (external link)
Al servo on 5D3 is *almost* as accurate as one shot even for still subject. Thus mine is on al servo 100% of the time.

To answer OP's question, of course the camera will try to refocus! That's the whole point of al servo!

People use 5D3 mainly to move away from focus recompose as it has so many available points for you to choose from.....using center point then recompose isn't how 5D3 is meant to be used....you have 6D for that :p

If you insist, either use bbf, assign a button to stop AF, or switch to one-shot mode.

True, I need to get quicker at moving my focal points... bw!


EOS 5Dmk3 X2, 60D, EF24-70mm f2.8L mk2, EF70-200mm f2.8L IS mk2, EF85mm f1.8, EF50mm f1.4, EF50mm f1.8 mk1(350D with 18-55mm Sh"kit" lens).
Speedlite 600EX-RT, 430EX II Flash. manfrotto 190XDB tripod, Giottos GTMML 3290B Monopod, B+W 77mm 110 Single Coated filter, Hama 77mm Variable Neutral Density Filter.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Dec 09, 2013 17:00 |  #10

Nick_Reading.UK wrote in post #16514367 (external link)
I noticed that on AI servo and having the focus point central that once I recomposed (button still half pressed) it tried to re- focus on the centre point again..
Am I doing something wrong (settings)?

Yes, you are doing something wrong, you cannot focus recompose with AI servo active. To be able to recompose the picture you need to lock focus before you move the AF point, in one shot focus the camera locks the focus when you half press the shutter, so you can move the camera around and focus doesn't change. The whole point of AI servo is that it never locks focus, so long as your finger is pressing the button it will continuously be refocusing on whatever is under the AF point.

Therefore if you focus on your subject and recompose so the AF point is over something else, it will focus on that instead (as you are seeing). You can use back button focusing to select focus on your subject, then release the back button to lock focus and allow you to recompose, but then you are effectively using one shot and not AI servo.

If you want to use AI servo, then you need to select a suitable AF point and keep that where you want to focus (on the nearest eye in the case of a portrait).

AI servo can be better for portraits when either you or the subject are moving, particularly when shooting wide apertures for shallow DOF. If you are using smaller apertures and neither of you is moving around much, then one shot and focus recompose will be OK.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
5,351 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1640
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Dec 09, 2013 17:33 |  #11

Nick_Reading.UK wrote in post #16514367 (external link)
I noticed that on AI servo and having the focus point central that once I recomposed (button still half pressed) it tried to re- focus on the centre point again..
Am I doing something wrong (settings)?

Just confirming what was said above, you are using the wrong AF mode. AI servo is designed to track moving subjects. It does this by constantly refocusing (never locks focus in the way One Shot does). So, when you move the AF point off your subject to recompose the camera refocuses on whatever is now under the selected FP.

Two solutions.
1. Change to one shot mode.
2. Set up the camera for Back Button Focus - This takes focusing off the shutter button onto a separate button. You can then press the back button to fucus, release it to "lock" focus, recompose and then press the shutter button to take the image without the camera refocusing.

I use option 2 as my camera is almost always in AI Servo mode.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Dec 09, 2013 23:00 |  #12

Nick_Reading.UK wrote in post #16514490 (external link)
True, I need to get quicker at moving my focal points... bw!

Setup separate points for horizontal and vertical shooting positions. In addition program AF-ON button to use center AF point.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Dec 09, 2013 23:07 |  #13

On 5dmk3 I don't mind using AI servo even for still targets. Just need to make sure 1) Keep AF point on target all the time, or 2) Release back button focus and make sure shutter is not setup to AF. In my older camera moving AF from shutter button to back button would remove AF from the shutter. On 5dmk3, you can have AF both on the shutter and back buttons (* and AF-ON) at same time, so 3 separate buttons doing AF in AI servo mode.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
viljolingg
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2013
     
Dec 09, 2013 23:16 |  #14

You should be using the back button focus function.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
MIME changed to 'text/html' | Content warning: script



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Dec 09, 2013 23:18 |  #15

Even with BBF if OP re-composes, he is messed up, isn't it?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,154 views & 0 likes for this thread
5d mk3 Ai servo and recompose at half pressed button
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
1035 guests, 314 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.