Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 28 Jan 2014 (Tuesday) 18:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Career change – want to become a photographer and make a living by it.

wisdom2thewise
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013

Jan 28, 2014 18:06 |  #1

Hi guys.

This is a call out for me to get some feedback and guidance into making a career change into Photography. I’ve been a hobbyist for the past year, by taking picks of my kids, places of interest and the odd birthday occasion, where feedback from others have been overwhelmingly positive.

My career up to this point has been working in the consumer electronics business, as an Internal Sales Manager for a local wholesaler, selling fridges, washing machines etc. Recently, I’ve encountered what you might say as a “wake up call” and mentally, I’m burnt out in my role and have decided to call it a day.

I have a passion for photos and its artwork and wanting to embark on something new and completely different in my life. How does one get started in this industry?
I’ve looked into the short courses side of things, but I feel that I’m more inclined to learn hands on with someone, rather than be confined in a classroom environment. I need to learn all aspects of photography and would like to use this skill to provide me a reasonable income. I have no knowledge of running my own business, nor how to make a webpage and blogs.
I’m new to post processing (Lightroom) though, I do need some training.

Anyone think I’m crazy?

Stephen.