Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 08 Apr 2014 (Tuesday) 22:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Bet detail after an 'image crop'

monkey44
724 posts
Joined Jul 2003

Apr 08, 2014 22:52 |  #1

I'm not very tech-smart, started with film years ago, and the tech stuff sometimes eludes me as I have limited background in it.

SO, leads me to this question:

When I capture an image, and crop and enlarge, it loses some degree of detail, or becomes 'fuzzy' after a certain point. But, I'm not sure if it's something I do, or don't do, that loses the detail.

So, wonder if there is a step I'm missing that "compresses the image" into a more "compact" size, and then when we crop and enlarge, we gain some detail in the image "AND KEEP IT" as the compressed image enlarges again. But I think I'm asking this the wrong way, because compressing is not really the term for what I mean.

Not sure I'm explaining this exactly. Most of the time, I can enlarge as much as I want in any image (I shoot RAW with 5DM3 and 7D) ... so the detail is there generally. But, sometimes, even enlarging a half-crop and it looks like half the photons, or whatever creates the dots (pixels) seem to disappear. Not on all shots, just on some - and the shots look similar upon first examination -- only after enlarging does the lack of detail appear.