Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 28 Jun 2014 (Saturday) 19:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Fill Flash Outdoors

Roxie2401
355 posts
Joined Jan 2009

Jun 28, 2014 19:06 |  #1

Probably a simple answer, but I'm just beginning to attempt using flash outdoors. Using the 600EX-RT on a 5D MK III. Was shooting some street characters, some wearing hats, so I wanted to try to eliminate facial shadows. Since I was outdoors, I had the flash pointed straight ahead, seeing no reason to use "bounce" since there was nothing to bounce off of.

Got great shots, except for one thing - a shiny spot on the person's forehead, everything was illuminated just fine.

I never liked the "Stofen" type diffusers but with the flash in the forward position, any solutions to the forehead reflection?

Thanks

sponsored links
DC ­ Fan
Cream of the Crop
5,881 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined Oct 2005

Jun 28, 2014 19:22 |  #2

Roxie2401 wrote in post #17000160 (external link)
I never liked the "Stofen" type diffusers but with the flash in the forward position, any solutions to the forehead reflection?

Thanks

Makeup. (external link)

mike_d
Cream of the Crop
5,417 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Aug 2009

Jun 28, 2014 23:26 |  #3

Get the flash farther from the lens axis or dial back the flash power a bit.

Roxie2401
THREAD ­ STARTER
355 posts
Joined Jan 2009

Jun 29, 2014 12:46 |  #4

mike_d wrote in post #17000470 (external link)

Mike, can you explain a little more about "farther from the lens axis?"