Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 05 Jul 2014 (Saturday) 17:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

YongNuo YN-622C/YN-622C-TX Controller Triggers 2

 
mpstan
Senior Member
298 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 168
Joined Dec 2007
Location: USA
     
Nov 21, 2014 01:33 as a reply to  @ post 17282663 |  #466

Guys, admittedly I've not tried to absorb the manual, but perhaps I'm missing something very basic.

Attached my new YN622C-TX to my 5D3, and my new TN622C to either of my flashes: a 580 EX or 550EX. When I adjust output on my 622c-TX either in TTL or manual I get zero difference in flash output.

1. I'm not doing it right since others have similar equipment and it works fine

2. The equipment won't work as I've combined them

3. No clue

Any help would be appreciated. Hoping to use them at a concert event Saturday night.


5D Mk 3/// Canon 70-200 f/4L /// Canon 24mm 2.8 ///Sigma 85 1.4 ART ///Sigma 35 1.4 ART/// Godox AD360/// Flashpoint Li-Ion x 2
//Manfrotto 055XPRO /// Manfrotto 498 RC2 Ballhead///Jinbei HD-600///

.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
R.I.P.      He will be missed
Avatar
3,272 posts
Likes: 42
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Tauranga, NZ
     
Nov 21, 2014 02:10 |  #467

Manual control of those flashes (Class 2 - see TOYUG p.17) requires a special setting to be enabled.

ETTL should be variable by using FEC (TOYUG p.39).

See my signature for TOYUG.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.10 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
in_04
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2014
     
Nov 21, 2014 04:54 |  #468

rejay14 wrote in post #17284312 (external link)
Brand new alkaline Duracells... I can't enable the radio mast icon with the TX attached. Lightning bolt on and off is what I meant.

Hi,
strange, if I attached the TX to my 7D MK2 the menu shows the wireless radio mast greyed and I can't change it in the group menu.
Only if I switch to ETTL menu there is the Lightning bolt.
Maybe I make a user error? Don't know where I switch between radio mast and lightning bolt.
On the 7D it was OK to attached the devices and just start to set the flash exposure.
Done the same on the 7D MK2. Just mount the TX and make the settings on the TX. I thought this was the way to go?
Currently I have lean my 622C devices so I couldn't test anymore.
Hope that the Yongnuo guy could find a solution.

Thanks to all and good light to everyone :)


Bye
Markus

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
     
Nov 21, 2014 07:12 |  #469

in_04 wrote in post #17284930 (external link)
Hi,
strange, if I attached the TX to my 7D MK2 the menu shows the wireless radio mast greyed and I can't change it in the group menu.
Only if I switch to ETTL menu there is the Lightning bolt.
Maybe I make a user error? Don't know where I switch between radio mast and lightning bolt.
On the 7D it was OK to attached the devices and just start to set the flash exposure.
Done the same on the 7D MK2. Just mount the TX and make the settings on the TX. I thought this was the way to go?
Currently I have lean my 622C devices so I couldn't test anymore.
Hope that the Yongnuo guy could find a solution.

Thanks to all and good light to everyone :)

The radio mast wireless is the Canon RT wireless protocol that is only available with the 600EX-RT Flash and compatible RT protocol triggers. The 622 triggers do not support this newer wireless protocol. The lightning bolt setting is what you want to use with 622 triggers. That is the optical wireless protocol the 622's are built on.


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,353 posts
Gallery: 432 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6264
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
     
Nov 21, 2014 08:30 |  #470

Just a question:

When a new canon camera - 7D2 or newer - is to be used with the 622c, it is now a must to use a 622TX in the hotshoe for proper functionality?


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rejay14
Goldmember
Avatar
1,033 posts
Gallery: 42 photos
Likes: 535
Joined Mar 2009
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
     
Nov 25, 2014 03:36 |  #471

draderusa wrote in post #17284999 (external link)
The radio mast wireless is the Canon RT wireless protocol that is only available with the 600EX-RT Flash and compatible RT protocol triggers. The 622 triggers do not support this newer wireless protocol. The lightning bolt setting is what you want to use with 622 triggers. That is the optical wireless protocol the 622's are built on.

That makes sense..I was using 580ex-II's


1DX Mark II, 5D Mark IV, 40D,Rebel XT :lol:, 70-200L 2.8 IS II, 100-400L IS II,24-105 II L, 100mmL 2.8 IS, 16-35L 2.8 II, 24-70 2.8L II, Sigma 50mm 1.4 Art, Sekonic 758DR, Pixma 9500 II, Pixma 9000 II, Think Tank Airport Accelerator v2.0, Canon 600EX-RT x 5, Profoto B1 Kit with too many modifiers http:// …www.PrestigePhotoPro.c​om (external link) Portfolio (external link)
Concert Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
     
Nov 25, 2014 07:23 |  #472

ptcanon3ti wrote in post #17285103 (external link)
Just a question:

When a new canon camera - 7D2 or newer - is to be used with the 622c, it is now a must to use a 622TX in the hotshoe for proper functionality?

I have not had any problems using my 622C's with my 7D2. I specifically tested this when others suggested there may be problems with the combination.

Here are the details of my test: https://photography-on-the.net …?p=17284432&pos​tcount=465


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
R.I.P.      He will be missed
Avatar
3,272 posts
Likes: 42
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Tauranga, NZ
     
Nov 25, 2014 14:20 |  #473

draderusa wrote in post #17291980 (external link)
I have not had any problems using my 622C's with my 7D2. I specifically tested this when others suggested there may be problems with the combination.

Here are the details of my test: https://photography-on-the.net …?p=17284432&pos​tcount=465

I understand that the problem is with Manual settings producing full dumps, whereas E-TTL
produces controlled exposures.

Perhaps the "PW problem" is in effect - older technologies/processor​s/frequencies are not able to sync with the newest processors in the camera.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.10 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lianggc
Member
97 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Aug 2012
     
Nov 26, 2014 00:57 |  #474

I have figured out the root cause and the test team is testing the new firmware.


This post is intended to be read on photography-on-the.net only. Please don't repost/quote it on other websites without permession.
Yongnuo Products Support: service@hkyongnuo.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Whortleberry
Goldmember
Avatar
1,719 posts
Likes: 53
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Yorkshire, England
     
Nov 26, 2014 01:10 |  #475

lianggc wrote in post #17293635 (external link)
I have figured out the root cause and the test team is testing the new firmware.

Now this sounds exciting. Eagerly awaiting the results and upgrade.


Phil ǁ Kershaw Soho Reflex: 4¼" Ross Xpres, 6½" Aldis, Super XX/ABC Pyro in 24 DDS, HP3/Meritol Metol in RFH, Johnson 'Scales' brand flash powder. Kodak Duo Six-20/Verichrome Pan. Other odd bits over the decades, simply to get the job done - not merely to polish and brag about cos I'm too mean to buy the polish!
FlickR (external link) ◄► "The Other Yongnuo User Guide v4.12" by Clive Bolton (external link) ◄► UK Railway Photographs 1906-79 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
in_04
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2014
     
Nov 26, 2014 10:22 |  #476

lianggc wrote in post #17293635 (external link)
I have figured out the root cause and the test team is testing the new firmware.

Good to hear.

Will this new firmware for the YN-622C or the YN-622C TX?
If it is the YN-622C it will take some time until they are available worldwide :(

Until the retailer didn't confirm that the YN-622C work I will not order new ones.

Bye

Markus


Bye
Markus

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
     
Nov 26, 2014 13:28 |  #477

CliveyBoy wrote in post #17292662 (external link)
I understand that the problem is with Manual settings producing full dumps, whereas E-TTL
produces controlled exposures.

Perhaps the "PW problem" is in effect - older technologies/processor​s/frequencies are not able to sync with the newest processors in the camera.

Oh. That is a shame since I normally shoot manual rather than ETTL. I guess I'll have to stick with using the TX on camera and using the 622C's as receivers only.

Now if they could just extend the useable range of the TX...;) I had always thought I could swap out the TX if the required range caused it to be erratic, but I guess that will not be an option now with the new body. I could always use the old Rebel body for that but that is a less than perfect solution.


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
540 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Jan 2009
     
Nov 26, 2014 13:33 |  #478

in_04 wrote in post #17294201 (external link)
Good to hear.

Will this new firmware for the YN-622C or the YN-622C TX?


Markus

Doubt it will be for the 622c, it doesn't have a usb port for firmware upgrades.

The 622c tx does, however.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
draderusa
Senior Member
Avatar
317 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Missouri, US
     
Nov 26, 2014 13:53 |  #479

Trailboy wrote in post #17294581 (external link)
Doubt it will be for the 622c, it doesn't have a usb port for firmware upgrades.

The 622c tx does, however.

Ok. Now I'm really confused. If the problem exists solely with the 622C's in manual mode, what will updating the 622C-TX firmware accomplish?? I completely agree that they have no way for the user to update firmware in existing 622C's, but it seems like those would be the units that would require updating. Correct?


Dave
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS T4i -- EFS 18-135 STM, EFS 10-22 USM, EF 40 f2.8 STM, EF 50 f1.4, 600EX-RT (3), YN-E3-RT, AD-360, FT16 (2), YN560II, YN622C (4), YN622C-TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,187 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1312
Joined Dec 2006
     
Nov 26, 2014 14:50 |  #480

draderusa wrote in post #17294619 (external link)
Ok. Now I'm really confused. If the problem exists solely with the 622C's in manual mode, what will updating the 622C-TX firmware accomplish?? I completely agree that they have no way for the user to update firmware in existing 622C's, but it seems like those would be the units that would require updating. Correct?

No. The problem lies with the 622c interpreting the camera information. If the 622tx interprets it so the recievers can work then its no problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

261,034 views & 38 likes for this thread
YongNuo YN-622C/YN-622C-TX Controller Triggers 2
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bushpilot
1008 guests, 304 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.