Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff Forum Talk 
Thread started 24 Sep 2014 (Wednesday) 18:29
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

This looks like the subforum to introduce myself....

skifastbadly
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Sep 2014

Sep 24, 2014 18:29 |  #1

Hi. My name is Craig and I've just joined the forum. I would classify myself as a returning photographer. Which means that I used to be a very active amateur until I noticed that I couldn't buy the film I liked anymore. And then there wasn't any convenient place to have it processed. And pretty soon, it seemed more trouble than it was worth.

I bought my first Canon SLR in 1980-ish, a AE1 which I ran thousands of rolls of film through. It was an excellent camera (I still have it, in fact) in terms of quality, usefulness, and it was sufficiently manual in nature that I had to learn about what fstops were, how they impacted depth of field, etc. I love this camera.

In the mid 90s I bought the EOS Elan IIe. Now we were talking! Auto focus, auto this, auto that....my kids were young, so I splurged on both the 28-70 and 70-200 L lenses. I love that camera as well.

Well, like I said, pretty soon I was down to either mailing my film to a lab or trusting the teenagers at Costco, so I kind of just fell away from it.