Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Dec 2014 (Friday) 19:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6D focus Screen

 
Chief_10Beers
Didn't get his vaccinations . . .
Avatar
487 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 120
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Kenly, North Carolina
     
Dec 12, 2014 19:39 |  #1

Hey ya'll, I have a 6D coming from PMI and I also ordered a Grid Focus Screen from B&H. I watch the youtube videos on changing out the Focus screen. My question is, is it as easy on youtube as it looks? Anything to look out for?...............


ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
I am John Galt
TVC15
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
BrandonSi
Nevermind.. I'm silly.
Avatar
5,306 posts
Gallery: 62 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 144
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
     
Dec 12, 2014 19:45 |  #2

Chief_10Beers wrote in post #17329128 (external link)
Hey ya'll, I have a 6D coming from PMI and I also ordered a Grid Focus Screen from B&H. I watch the youtube videos on changing out the Focus screen. My question is, is it as easy on youtube as it looks? Anything to look out for?...............

I've never done it on the 6D, just the 5D II. It's very easy.. Just do not touch the screen with your hand (or anything, for that matter). It shoud come with a little grippy tool that makes the whole thing much easier. Store the one you're taking out in the packaging of the new one, again, not touching the old screen.

These things will scratch or get crap on them if you look at them wrong.. they're very fragile, and a speck or scratch on the focusing screen will show up very prominently in your viewfinder.


[ www (external link)· flickr (external link)]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
melcat
Goldmember
1,122 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
     
Dec 12, 2014 21:39 |  #3

I don't have this particular model of camera, but you can hold focussing screens by the edges if you have to, for example if they look like they'll slip out of the supplied tweezers.

Make sure you do the change somewhere fairly clean of dust.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mclaren777
Goldmember
Avatar
1,482 posts
Likes: 85
Joined May 2012
Location: Olympia, WA
     
Dec 13, 2014 02:32 |  #4

It's easy to change out, but I didn't notice a meaningful upgrade so I switched back to the standard screen.

My "high precision" screen is collecting dust somewhere...


A simple comparison of sensor technology: Nikon vs. Canon (external link)
A technical comparison of sensor technology: Exposure Latitude (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chief_10Beers
THREAD ­ STARTER
Didn't get his vaccinations . . .
Avatar
487 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 120
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Kenly, North Carolina
     
Dec 13, 2014 08:16 |  #5

mclaren777 wrote in post #17329538 (external link)
It's easy to change out, but I didn't notice a meaningful upgrade so I switched back to the standard screen.

My "high precision" screen is collecting dust somewhere...

I bought the Eg-D to help me out with Landscape/ Architecture, I have a hard time keeping it level and straight..............​.


ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
I am John Galt
TVC15
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,653 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 3933
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
     
Dec 13, 2014 12:40 |  #6

It's stupid easy. Took me about 30 seconds.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-H1 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)www.LucasGPhoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

987 views & 0 likes for this thread
6D focus Screen
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Adams603
842 guests, 274 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.