Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff AMASS Forum Software Talk 
Thread started 17 Dec 2014 (Wednesday) 19:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Any problems with Google Chrome (Blowing up in AMASS)?

 
this thread is locked
ross13
Member
151 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2012
     
Dec 24, 2014 14:53 |  #16

I had this problem twice. I was using Chrome and Trend MIcro. Both times I was typing. So I'm doing this using Firefox. It looks like it's working.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
18,018 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1912
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Dec 24, 2014 15:19 |  #17

ross13 wrote in post #17349374 (external link)
I had this problem twice. I was using Chrome and Trend MIcro. Both times I was typing. So I'm doing this using Firefox. It looks like it's working.

Is there a way to add POTN to trusted/exception list for Trend Micro?

PS. Avast is another problem suite, it is known to mess/crash sites, including Google.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kelstar
Goldmember
Avatar
1,425 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 974
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Wellington, NZ
     
Dec 25, 2014 00:47 |  #18

I'm having the same issues with Google Chrome and Trend Micro as well. It seems to crash as soon as the auto-draft/preview is saved. If I type a short post before the draft has a chance to save it will work fine. If I type a longer post, Trend Micro deletes Chrome as soon as the auto-save kicks in. Posting with auto-save from IE seems to be fine.


flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ross13
Member
151 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2012
     
Dec 25, 2014 04:41 |  #19

Pekka wrote in post #17349401 (external link)
Is there a way to add POTN to trusted/exception list for Trend Micro?

PS. Avast is another problem suite, it is known to mess/crash sites, including Google.

I just checked, but it is not blocking POTN. It looks like I would have to add Chrome to the list. I assume it would then ignore anything Chrome did and I'm not sure I like that. I'm fine with using Firefox to come here until if/when it is resolved. Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 10:49 |  #20

Sorry, been away a couple of days.

I can't see any way to add trusted sites - like you can in IE.

My solution was in the Trend Micro Internet & Email controls to change the "Protection strength" from high to normal.

The bad news is it affects "ALL" my internet browsing but I can only hope that its still enough to keep my machines safe.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kelstar
Goldmember
Avatar
1,425 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 974
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Wellington, NZ
     
Dec 28, 2014 15:17 |  #21

It looks like there is a way to add trusted sites in Trend Micro. I'm running version 7.0.1255.

1. Open the main Trend Micro console.
2. Towards the bottom left, click the Settings (cog wheel) icon.
3. On the left menu, click "Exception Lists".
4. Under the Exception Lists menu item, click "Websites".
5. Click the Add icon near the top of the console window.
6. Enter https://photography-on-the.net/forum/ as the url. The Response should already be set to "Trust" by default.
7. Click Ok.
8. Click Apply on the Protection Settings window.
9. Click Ok on the Protection Settings window.
10. Close and reopen Google Chrome for the updated settings to take effect. :-)


flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 15:40 as a reply to  @ kelstar's post |  #22

I'll try this. I just did it on my laptop - but strange thing is my laptop is running the same version of Trend Micro and Chrome and it never had this problem.
I'll try it on my PC once my PC is free.

It must be caused by how Trend Micro works under Chrome with a specific extension. I have extensions on the PC for work (Cisco Webex etc) that are not on the laptop.

The other strange thing is that in the past, when Trend Micro found a problem with an executable it popped up a warning that allowed me to over-ride it.
With AMASS it just dumps me out of Chrome tells me there's a problem with something that edited chrome.lnk and then it deletes the chrome.exe.

Well, I'll post here after I test on the original problematic PC. I like keeping the protection to High - there's a lot of crap out there that hacks you via the browser.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
18,018 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1912
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Dec 28, 2014 15:46 |  #23

WaltA wrote in post #17354582 (external link)
I'll try this. I just did it on my laptop - but strange thing is my laptop is running the same version of Trend Micro and Chrome and it never had this problem.
I'll try it on my PC once my PC is free.

It must be caused by how Trend Micro works under Chrome with a specific extension. I have extensions on the PC for work (Cisco Webex etc) that are not on the laptop.

The other strange thing is that in the past, when Trend Micro found a problem with an executable it popped up a warning that allowed me to over-ride it.
With AMASS it just dumps me out of Chrome tells me there's a problem with something that edited chrome.lnk and then it deletes the chrome.exe.

AMASS is a website, it has not "permission" to do anything but run javascript inside the browser. This is a normal jQuery-driven site. I would very much like to know why you get that message. Perhaps you can send a question to Trend Micro about it. Does this happen on a specific page?

Of course pages have images that are served from all kinds of places, but as you can see AMASS does not display images that are not images or what they tell they are.

Then there is the Facebook snippet on the index page, that is handled by Facebook code.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 15:49 as a reply to  @ Pekka's post |  #24

Pekka, I'll try to get a screen shot of the message and send it to Trend Micro and see what they say.

Also I'll be looking on the Trend Micro users forum to see if anyone else has reported it.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
Post edited over 7 years ago by WaltA.
     
Dec 28, 2014 15:51 |  #25

Testing upload after making changes to Trend Micro as suggested above.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


This laptop worked OK before so I don't expect any problems.

Worked OK as expected

Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 16:05 |  #26

testing again with extensions



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Again ...

Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 16:06 |  #27

Strange - the original PC that was crashing is not crashing any more on Uploads.

Guess I'll keep looking for the scenario that caused it.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
18,018 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1912
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Dec 28, 2014 16:08 as a reply to  @ WaltA's post |  #28

Don't worry about it too much. It's Sunday evening, relax :)


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Dec 28, 2014 17:21 as a reply to  @ Pekka's post |  #29

Yeah, A glass of Pinot Noir later - all is well.

Cheers


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,455 views & 0 likes for this thread
Any problems with Google Chrome (Blowing up in AMASS)?
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff AMASS Forum Software Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is AnnyaNath
861 guests, 203 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.