Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 08 Jan 2015 (Thursday) 17:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Undoing a preset in Lightroom?

 
kaitlyn2004
Goldmember
1,676 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 08, 2015 17:24 |  #1

Say I do a whole bunch of things, including (in this order):

1) Profile calibration
2) Crop
3) Preset: Whatever preset...
4) Many healing brushes
5) Gradient
6) Brush strokes

Is there any way to UNDO/REMOVE the applied preset, keeping everything before+after?


My Landscape Photography Videos (external link)
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mrfixitx
Senior Member
Avatar
607 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 265
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Omaha NE
     
Jan 08, 2015 17:35 |  #2

With the image history you can undo everything in reverse order, however you can not undo step 3 and keep steps 4-6.


Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships! - Ansel Adams (external link)
http://www.brandons-photography.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
14,845 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 158
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Jan 08, 2015 17:58 |  #3

All a preset does it change the values on selected modifiers.
So to undo it without going back in the history, all you have to do is to go down the development panel and reset all the sliders that you have not adjusted afterwards.
Double clicking them will reset them to the default.


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitlyn2004
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,676 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jan 08, 2015 18:04 |  #4

Seems weird to me you cannot undo a single step :( Also have to create many steps of history just to undo what ONE preset history line did :(

Considering how non-destructive the editing is, I'm rather surprised you can't just "Remove history step" sort of thing...

Is it possible via the XMP or some other file to remove a step? :)


My Landscape Photography Videos (external link)
My Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AnnieMacD
Oops, me again
Avatar
3,810 posts
Gallery: 699 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 8127
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Applecross, Scotland
     
Jan 08, 2015 18:05 |  #5

As mrfixit said you can undo using the History panel on the left side. You can also jump around to different entries. However, once you select an entry (let's call it A) and make another adjustment everything between A and the top entry will be erased. Hope this make sense - try it and you'll see what I mean!


flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nathancarter
Cream of the Crop
5,474 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 601
Joined Dec 2010
Post edited over 4 years ago by nathancarter.
     
Jan 09, 2015 10:05 |  #6

Here's a workaround:

1) Make a virtual copy of the image. (cmd+apostrophe or ctrl+apostrophe)
2) Go into the virtual copy, in the develop module click "Reset" the the bottom right corner
3) Go back to the edited image, click "Copy" in the bottom left
4) Check ONLY the boxes of the edits you want to preserve: Calibration, crop, brushes, gradient, spot heals - then click OK
5) Go to the virtual copy, and Paste those copied settings (bottom left, next to Copy)

That should get you to approximately where you want to go.

Virtual copies are great, for a variety of reasons.


http://www.avidchick.c​om (external link) for business stuff
http://www.facebook.co​m/VictorVoyeur (external link) for fun stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,552 views & 1 like for this thread
Undoing a preset in Lightroom?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is pasztun
666 guests, 353 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.