Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 15 Jun 2015 (Monday) 23:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

SkyNet has become Self Aware...

 
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
Combating camera shame since 1977...
Avatar
9,897 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 2364
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
Jun 19, 2015 20:39 |  #16

Integrated video?


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Avatar
12,899 posts
Gallery: 42 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Mar 2003
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
     
Jun 19, 2015 21:24 |  #17

impressive that should be good for the 5Ds files


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited over 4 years ago by CyberDyneSystems.
     
Jun 19, 2015 21:38 |  #18

Left Handed Brisket wrote in post #17603882 (external link)
Integrated video?

I actually tried to use integrated Intel video, I am not a gamer, and don't need hardware 3D acceleration, and NO ONE makes a good 2D card ever since Matrox quite doing so.. oh a decade or so ago,..

However, the Intel graphics REFUSES to allow me to run the correct resolution and refresh on my very old but unbeatable SONY CRT :)

So I switched over to an old passively cooled Nvidia Gforce which is running both monitors perfectly, and without registry hacks or any other tweeking.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Avatar
12,899 posts
Gallery: 42 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Mar 2003
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
     
Jun 19, 2015 21:50 |  #19

that's where I would recommend a quadro card.

Windows 7 and above support all support gpu rendering for desktop and even some apps like photoshop and lightroom are starting to have GPU support.

http://www.nvidia.com …/quadro-desktop-gpus.html (external link)

the quadro series of cards aren't designed for gaming, they are designed for the workstation.


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 19, 2015 22:06 |  #20

System Properties;



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 19, 2015 22:11 |  #21

Mark0159 wrote in post #17603938 (external link)
that's where I would recommend a quadro card.

Windows 7 and above support all support gpu rendering for desktop and even some apps like photoshop and lightroom are starting to have GPU support.

http://www.nvidia.com …/quadro-desktop-gpus.html (external link)

the quadro series of cards aren't designed for gaming, they are designed for the workstation.

I was considering one, but again, would have been happy with integrated, and now I am pretty pleased with my free old Asus Gforce.

that said, if I were to buy a card it would be one of the lower end Quadros for sure.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 19, 2015 22:22 |  #22

Mark0159 wrote in post #17602814 (external link)
I see your skynet and raise you The Machine

Cool, Plugged in the speakers! :)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Jun 20, 2015 20:26 |  #23

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #17603954 (external link)
I was considering one, but again, would have been happy with integrated, and now I am pretty pleased with my free old Asus Gforce.

that said, if I were to buy a card it would be one of the lower end Quadros for sure.

Did you look into them?
I need to buy one just to get a 4K screen running,
Do you think the K620 Quadro with 2 gb ram is good enough for photo editing, or do I have to go up to the K2200 that has 4 GB ram onboard. ( but its more than 3 times the price )

I dont use it for gaming, but might in the future do some minor video editing,


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 20, 2015 21:42 |  #24

I have not found that a graphics card helps in post processing speed.
The only effects I have registered is that some make a monitor look better, than others, and some are incapable of running some resolutions.

I think any new Quadro will run a 4k now, but that would be my only concern if I was in the Quadro/4K market. All the rest is "cuda cores" which is again mostly not for running RAW processors or Photoshop.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kolor-Pikker
Goldmember
2,790 posts
Likes: 59
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Moscow
     
Jun 21, 2015 05:27 |  #25

Submariner wrote in post #17604833 (external link)
Did you look into them?
I need to buy one just to get a 4K screen running,
Do you think the K620 Quadro with 2 gb ram is good enough for photo editing, or do I have to go up to the K2200 that has 4 GB ram onboard. ( but its more than 3 times the price )

I dont use it for gaming, but might in the future do some minor video editing,

For visual processing of any kind, the only real reason you may want a Quadro is for 10-bit color output in supported applications (Photoshop mostly), but then you'd also need a pricey new display with true 10-bit (not 8-bit with FRC).


5DmkII | 24-70 f/2.8L II | Pentax 645Z | 55/2.8 SDM | 120/4 Macro | 150/2.8 IF
I acquired an expensive camera so I can hang out in forums, annoy wedding photographers during formals and look down on P&S users... all the while telling people it's the photographer, not the camera.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,651 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 3924
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
Post edited over 4 years ago by EverydayGetaway.
     
Jun 21, 2015 20:34 |  #26

Submariner wrote in post #17604833 (external link)
Did you look into them?
I need to buy one just to get a 4K screen running,
Do you think the K620 Quadro with 2 gb ram is good enough for photo editing, or do I have to go up to the K2200 that has 4 GB ram onboard. ( but its more than 3 times the price )

I dont use it for gaming, but might in the future do some minor video editing,

1GB of VRAM should be fine for a 4k display, especially just for photo editing.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-H1 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)www.LucasGPhoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
14,845 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 159
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Jun 21, 2015 21:48 |  #27

The Intel HD4600 GPU integrated into the current i7 is quite capable of running a 4k monitor over displayport.

And I know from personal experience that an old HD4000 is quite capable of running two 24in monitors (1920x1200) and have more than enough grunt to run everything that Photoshop can throw at it.

I don't think people fully realise just how powerful Graphics processors have become, and just how little processing power is needed for 2D work, and how little use Photoshop makes of the GPU.


Most motherboards that support the Intel HD graphics will run 2 monitors, and there are some now that will run 3.
The only reason I use a discrete GPU is for gaming and video editing with Premiere Pro. I use a fairly old mid range consumer gaming card, an Nviida GTX 670, it has more than enough CUDA cores for Premiere pro and is easily made to work using a little tweak from here: http://www.studio1prod​uctions.com/Articles/P​remiereCS5.htm (external link)


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
Post edited over 4 years ago by CyberDyneSystems. (3 edits in all)
     
Jun 21, 2015 23:21 |  #28

Indeed, knowing that the onboard intel was specced to run 4K over the display port I was very dismayed that I could find NO WAY to get it to drive the FW900.

It has the horsepower to do so and then some, but the driver is inflexible, and will not talk to a non communicative monitor, nor allow itself to be adjusted manually.

There are hacks out there for tasks like this, I recall re-wring the registry to get my onboard ATI contrller to do the same task about two years back, ( and believe me, I am willing to try anything in that regard) but the Intel would not budge, and does not even have the registry keys to hack that the ATi did.

It's funny, it's kind of like the clock multipliers that intel was so guarded against 10 years ago on CPUs that now they use as a selling feature, they should loosen up with there graphics driver a bit too.

If ai had new monitors, the onboard intel would handily run 4K via display port alongside another monitor via the DVI, VGA or HDMI output. (it might even be able to run three at a time?)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Avatar
12,899 posts
Gallery: 42 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Mar 2003
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
     
Jun 22, 2015 01:50 |  #29

perhaps it's time to upgrade the monitors?

even professional video editors and the like now use flat screen monitors.

http://www8.hp.com …t-detail.html?oid=748318​2 (external link)


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,094 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6807
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 22, 2015 02:34 |  #30

You have never sat in front of an FW900 :) :)

Here are 635 pages of Forum posts dedicated to keeping this monitor alive;

http://hardforum.com/s​howthread.php?t=952788 (external link)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,026 views & 5 likes for this thread
SkyNet has become Self Aware...
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is lf_alex
925 guests, 309 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.