Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 31 Aug 2015 (Monday) 12:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom converting raw images to jpeg proofs

 
rwong2k
Goldmember
Avatar
1,759 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 183
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Coquitlam,BC,Canada
     
Aug 31, 2015 12:21 |  #1

Hi Everyone,

just a quick question, I use a program called ACDSEE for marking raw photos for editing (culling) and it's fast. When i convert say 2000 photos (say from a wedding) it converts to jpeg quite fast but the colours are a little bit off, when I use lightroom to convert and resize to jpeg, the colours 'look' better on screen and it's super slow.

Hardware wise, what should I be considering that will affect the lightroom conversion speed from raw to jpeg? Is it the cpu? core? memory? (it's a ssd drive already)

just trying to figure out why my lightroom's conversion takes forever while the other program is quite quick/

thanks in advance

ray


5DMK3 + Contax CY Lens
http://rw-photography.ca/ (external link)

http://www.facebook.co​m/RwPhotographyVancouv​er (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Merlin_AZ
Senior Member
Avatar
869 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Mar 2010
Post edited over 4 years ago by Merlin_AZ.
     
Aug 31, 2015 12:26 |  #2

What CPU do you have and how much RAM?
GPU?
Are your GPU settings on or off? Some say it's better with it on, others with it off depending on response to drivers.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,999 posts
Gallery: 542 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1615
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Aug 31, 2015 14:15 |  #3

I beleive that the ACDSEE program is simply pulling the JPEG preview from the CR2 file when doing quick extractions, while LR is doing a full conversion for each image.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

673 views & 2 likes for this thread
Lightroom converting raw images to jpeg proofs
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is 7DMalinois
803 guests, 217 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.