Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Marketplace & Market Info Market Watch 
Thread started 06 Nov 2015 (Friday) 19:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Adorama Streaklight 360 Deal

 
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,436 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5549
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
Post edited over 3 years ago by TeamSpeed.
     
Dec 23, 2015 10:34 |  #151

After using this for 3 portrait sessions (families/couples), I have ordered a 2nd one. I got a bit tired of the Canon flashes taking much longer to cycle than the streaklight (yes, I could just buy a battery pack and power up the flashes), and decided to just get a 2nd one of these due to the low price. This means that I was again short a YN622 unit, but this time, I decided to pick up the TX transmitter, and relegate the transceiver over to 2nd streaklight. I love how I buy a $320 light kit, but then I have to buy $60 in other accessories... :)

(godox stand clamp, YN622, pc sync cable, 2 into 1 pb960 cable)...

If nothing else, I have a spare battery pack that can charge my phones, use it on a 580EX flash for power, etc. Also a spare streaklight should something happen to one of them.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Silver-Halide
Senior Member
818 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 241
Joined Jan 2015
     
Dec 23, 2015 14:48 |  #152

I thought this strobe comes with a transceiver(?) The strobe unit itself doesn't have the receiver built in? -?


Echoes in Eternity LLC | Tucson and Southern Arizona Wedding Photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,353 posts
Gallery: 432 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6264
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
     
Dec 23, 2015 14:51 |  #153

Silver-Halide wrote in post #17830050 (external link)
I thought this strobe comes with a transceiver(?) The strobe unit itself doesn't have the receiver built in? -?

It comes with a transmitter and a receiver that you attach via a usb port on the side of the flash.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,436 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5549
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 23, 2015 15:01 |  #154

If you want to do HSS, you cannot use the wireless devices that come with it. However the YN622 units work fine, and if you have the TX, you don't need the sync cables, else if you just get the transceivers, then you need the sync cables from the YN622 to the flash unit.

I only use the wireless transmitter that comes with this to control the settings remotely and nothing else.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,353 posts
Gallery: 432 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6264
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
     
Dec 23, 2015 15:04 |  #155

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17830069 (external link)
If you want to do HSS, you cannot use the wireless devices that come with it. However the YN622 units work fine, and if you have the TX, you don't need the sync cables, else if you just get the transceivers, then you need the sync cables from the YN622 to the flash unit.

I only use the wireless transmitter that comes with this to control the settings remotely and nothing else.


Yep. I keep the transmitter that came with the light in my pocket so I can change power. I let the 622 and TX do the firing. :)


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,723 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6389
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Dec 23, 2015 15:48 |  #156

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17829760 (external link)
... I love how I buy a $320 light kit, but then I have to buy $60 in other accessories... :)

(godox stand clamp, YN622, pc sync cable, 2 into 1 pb960 cable)...

Still less than a Canon 600 flash! And more power than 4 of them!


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
travisvwright
Goldmember
Avatar
2,042 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 210
Joined Feb 2013
Location: NC
     
Dec 24, 2015 10:11 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #157

I have this and a standard set of 622s what do I have to do?


I come here for your expert opinion. Please do not hesitate to critique or edit.
70D, T3i, Tamron 28-75 2.8, Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC, Canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.8 Macro, Canon 85 1.8, Canon 10-18 4.5 STM

Franklin NC Photographer Travis Wright (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,353 posts
Gallery: 432 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6264
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
Post edited over 3 years ago by ptcanon3ti.
     
Dec 24, 2015 10:26 |  #158

travisvwright wrote in post #17831028 (external link)
I have this and a standard set of 622s what do I have to do?

This is what I do but I use the TX as the trigger:

Set the 360 to "H mode" by pressing the "set" and "mode" buttons simultaneously.
Set your camera for HSS.
Attach a 622 to your camera and one to the 360. I've also seen that some folks attach the transmitter, that came with the 360, on top of the 622's hot shoe as well.
I also attach the receiver that came with the 360 so I can control the power on it remotely.

start shooting.

:)


I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong or missed something.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
travisvwright
Goldmember
Avatar
2,042 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 210
Joined Feb 2013
Location: NC
     
Dec 24, 2015 15:37 as a reply to  @ ptcanon3ti's post |  #159

I tried that. But don't have a tx just transceiver.


I come here for your expert opinion. Please do not hesitate to critique or edit.
70D, T3i, Tamron 28-75 2.8, Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC, Canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.8 Macro, Canon 85 1.8, Canon 10-18 4.5 STM

Franklin NC Photographer Travis Wright (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AnnieMacD
Oops, me again
Avatar
3,575 posts
Gallery: 624 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 6949
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Applecross, Scotland
     
Dec 24, 2015 16:31 |  #160

travisvwright wrote in post #17831374 (external link)
I tried that. But don't have a tx just transceiver.

Try this: Set the Godox power to full (1/1) and have the USB receiver plugged in to it. Put your Yongnou transceiver on the camera hotshoe with the Godox transmitter on top. Set your camera shutter speed to something greater than the normal sync speed. Fire away.


flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,723 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6389
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Dec 24, 2015 18:49 |  #161

travisvwright wrote in post #17831028 (external link)
I have this and a standard set of 622s what do I have to do?

A pair of 622s will only work for HS sync if you do NOT use the hotshoe on the 360, instead you have to use the PC sync socket via a cable from the 622 to the 360. Not sure why, but it works perfectly this way, and does not work if attached to the hot shoe.

I did not realize the TX would let it work via the hotshoe, and again, not sure why?


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,353 posts
Gallery: 432 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6264
Joined Sep 2012
Location: NJ
Post edited over 3 years ago by ptcanon3ti. (2 edits in all)
     
Dec 24, 2015 21:44 |  #162

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #17831542 (external link)
A pair of 622s will only work for HS sync if you do NOT use the hotshoe on the 360, instead you have to use the PC sync socket via a cable from the 622 to the 360. Not sure why, but it works perfectly this way, and does not work if attached to the hot shoe.

I did not realize the TX would let it work via the hotshoe, and again, not sure why?


I was just sitting here playing around with HSS with the 360. Mine does HSS with either a TX, or another 622 transceiver, in the Camera's hot shoe. Both times I had a 622 on the hot shoe of the 360, and HSS was no issue at all. The only limit in HSS is that the light will not drop below 1/8th power in HSS mode.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,436 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5549
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 24, 2015 23:20 as a reply to  @ ptcanon3ti's post |  #163

What shutter speeds did you try? I could get mine to fire that way too, but once the shutter speeds are very fast you get light fall off. The sync cable or the tx will solve that issue.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,723 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6389
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Dec 25, 2015 11:14 |  #164

Try it shooting at a white wall and tell us what you see when you look at the resulting images @ 1/4000 or so. Maybe you have Magic 360s :)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,436 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5549
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 30, 2015 22:57 |  #165

So my 2nd light came in, I will need to at least test it, and then it will go to storage for a while. I really don't think I am going to need the 2nd transmitter/receiver, I hardly used the first one. I might be able to sell it for $40 or so perhaps? Just not sure...

Also, it seems I missed out on a great Pelican 1514 deal. I have one now for cameras/lenses and love it, and I think a 2nd one with cutouts for the 2 streaklights and 2 580 EX, along with all the transceivers and remotes would be great.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

26,058 views & 49 likes for this thread
Adorama Streaklight 360 Deal
FORUMS Marketplace & Market Info Market Watch 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bushpilot
943 guests, 224 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.