Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 20 Jan 2016 (Wednesday) 19:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How Rename A Layer in Photoshop CC 2015

 
drisley
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,866 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Jan 20, 2016 19:00 |  #1

I've been using Photoshop extensively for 15 years on a PC. I just upgraded to a new iMac and got Photoshtop CC 2015.

I'm used to double clicking a layer to change the layer name, but on the mac with CC 2015, usually if I do that all I get is the name “greyed out” and I can’t do anything to it. The History tab adds a state that says “Color Change” which I don’t even know what that means! I have to click a THIRD time to get the layer name to become blue, and therefore editable.

This isn’t always the case, sometimes a double click will work, layer becomes blue and I can rename it. It seems so random! I’ve never seen this before

https://youtu.be/ZqDmp​mqOQ0s (external link)


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
groundloop
Senior Member
976 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Jun 2012
     
Jan 23, 2016 12:44 |  #2

On my PC I double click directly on the text (layer name). Don't know if it should be different on a Mac.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ThreeHounds
Senior Member
Avatar
716 posts
Gallery: 71 photos
Likes: 306
Joined Mar 2014
Location: Delray Beach, Fl USA
     
Jan 23, 2016 16:45 |  #3

Exactly the same on a Mac


5D MkIII | 7D | Bronica ETRS
EF 24-105 f/4 L | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 17-40 f/4 L | EF 70-300 f/4 L | 105 f/3.5 Zenzanon | Tamron SP90 f/2.8 Di Macro VC USM
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,866 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Jan 24, 2016 23:42 |  #4

Apparently there is an issue with PS CC 2015 then. I have confirmation now about this bugginess from other people. Sometimes 2 clicks on the layer name turns the text grey and you can't edit it (as in the video). Very annoying.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
groundloop
Senior Member
976 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Jun 2012
Post edited over 2 years ago by groundloop.
     
Jan 25, 2016 10:02 as a reply to  @ drisley's post |  #5

That's strange, I've never had an issue on my PC (most recent version of Photoshop CC). The only time it acted up turned out to be operator error, when I didn't double click directly on the text.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,866 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
Post edited over 2 years ago by drisley.
     
Jan 26, 2016 00:30 as a reply to  @ groundloop's post |  #6

I just realized something, if I have the PS images in default "tabbed view" then renaming a layer works perfectly fine every time with a double click on the layer name.

But if I have the images in their own windows (which I prefer) that's when I have the problem.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AceCo55
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 58
Joined Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
     
Jan 26, 2016 01:59 |  #7

Thanks for the information.

If you don't mind - can you explain why you prefer to have each file in its own window rather than tabbed view?
The only time I use the separate window is when I want to drag a layer into another file.
I find the tabbed view easier to move from one file to another ... but I am keen to hear your reasoning as I may be missing something that could be more advantageous. :-)


From the "Land Down Under" ... South Australia

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shumicse
Member
160 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Aug 2013
     
Jan 26, 2016 03:54 |  #8

drisley wrote in post #17873157 (external link)
I just realized something, if I have the PS images in default "tabbed view" then renaming a layer works perfectly fine every time with a double click on the layer name.

But if I have the images in their own windows (which I prefer) that's when I have the problem.


thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by drisley in
./showthread.php?p=178​73157&i=i211733388
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing

thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by drisley in
./showthread.php?p=178​73157&i=i97227504
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing

I have not ever seen such way of renaming any layer, so cant help you. But why the layer need to open in separate window? Why don't you use the previous one, is there any reason for this?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hen3Ry
Goldmember
Avatar
1,049 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Aptos, CA, USA
     
Jan 26, 2016 09:48 |  #9

drisley wrote in post #17866323 (external link)
I've been using Photoshop extensively for 15 years on a PC. I just upgraded to a new iMac and got Photoshtop CC 2015.

I'm used to double clicking a layer to change the layer name, but on the mac with CC 2015, usually if I do that all I get is the name “greyed out” and I can’t do anything to it. The History tab adds a state that says “Color Change” which I don’t even know what that means! I have to click a THIRD time to get the layer name to become blue, and therefore editable.

This isn’t always the case, sometimes a double click will work, layer becomes blue and I can rename it. It seems so random! I’ve never seen this before

https://youtu.be/ZqDmp​mqOQ0s (external link)


Try turning off Application Frame on the Window Menu


***************
Je n'avais pas besoin de cette hypothèse-là.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,866 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Jan 26, 2016 11:44 |  #10

Hen3Ry wrote in post #17873504 (external link)
Try turning off Application Frame on the Window Menu

Holy smokes, you are a genius! This worked!! THANKS!!!! :)

For others, double clicking a layer to rename it was buggy in CC 2015 on my new iMac. Sometimes it worked sometimes it didn't (and would require 3 clicks). Now I see it's because of the Application Frame setting. Weird.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hen3Ry
Goldmember
Avatar
1,049 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Aptos, CA, USA
     
Jan 27, 2016 10:56 |  #11

drisley wrote in post #17873646 (external link)
Holy smokes, you are a genius! This worked!! THANKS!!!! :)

:)


***************
Je n'avais pas besoin de cette hypothèse-là.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,866 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Jan 27, 2016 12:58 as a reply to  @ Hen3Ry's post |  #12

Apparently another work around is to undock the Layers panel, then renaming will work even with Application Frame enabled. So bizarre


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,492 views & 1 like for this thread
How Rename A Layer in Photoshop CC 2015
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jwinslow7
863 guests, 389 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.