Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 17 Feb 2016 (Wednesday) 23:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

80D is here

 
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,203 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5946
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 12, 2016 08:52 |  #526

We have no idea what the sensor is on the 80D, like if there is ADC moved or not. Canon has long since stepped away from that statement even on the 1DX2. So whatever the sensor design is on the 80D, it is still fairly speculative.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1061
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Post edited over 3 years ago by gabebalazs.
     
Apr 12, 2016 09:18 |  #527

TeamSpeed wrote in post #17969255 (external link)
We have no idea what the sensor is on the 80D, like if there is ADC moved or not. Canon has long since stepped away from that statement even on the 1DX2. So whatever the sensor design is on the 80D, it is still fairly speculative.

May well be, but one thing is for sure, it is not the same sensor as in the M3. I've researched it a lot and there is some pretty convincing info on DPreview, including photos of the actual sensors. Also read an interview with a Canon executive about ADC and he said there are some sensors that are already produced with that tech and Canon intends to fully move to on-chip ADC in the future.


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlakeC
"Dad was a meat cutter"
Avatar
2,673 posts
Gallery: 372 photos
Likes: 676
Joined Jul 2014
Location: West Michigan, USA
Post edited over 3 years ago by BlakeC.
     
Apr 12, 2016 09:20 |  #528

gabebalazs wrote in post #17969289 (external link)
May well be, but one thing is for sure, it is not the same sensor as in the M3.

doesn't matter anyway. its not the same camera. they operate completely differently and have different abilities. its not just the sensor that makes the camera


Blake C
BlakeC-Photography.com (external link)
Follow Me on Facebook (external link) , Instagram (external link), or Google+ (external link)
80D |70D | SL1 - Σ 18-35 1.8 ART, Σ 50-100 1.8 ART, Σ 17-50 2.8, Canon 24 2.8 Pancake, Canon 50 1.8 STM, Canon 10-18 STM, Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gabebalazs
Bird Whisperer
Avatar
7,640 posts
Gallery: 52 photos
Likes: 1061
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
     
Apr 12, 2016 09:22 |  #529

BlakeC wrote in post #17969291 (external link)
doesn't matter anyway. its not the same camera. they operate completely differently and have different abilities. its not just the sensor that makes the camera

Yes, that's absolutely true. Again, I just brought this up in connection with that Amazon review which was exclusively focusing on the sensor being the same or not.


SONY A7RIII | SONY A7III | SONY RX10 IV | SONY RX100 | 24-70 2.8 GM | 70-200 2.8 GM | 16-35 F/4 | PZ 18-105 F/4 | FE 85 1.8 | FE 28-70 | SIGMA 35 1.4 ART | SIGMA 150-600 C | ROKINON 14 2.8
Gabe Balazs Photo (external link)
Nature Shots Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlakeC
"Dad was a meat cutter"
Avatar
2,673 posts
Gallery: 372 photos
Likes: 676
Joined Jul 2014
Location: West Michigan, USA
     
Apr 12, 2016 09:23 |  #530

gabebalazs wrote in post #17969292 (external link)
Yes, that's absolutely true. Again, I just brought this up in connection with that Amazon review which was exclusively focusing on the sensor being the same or not.

o i know...i was taking your side...i was saying it more to the reviewer...lol


Blake C
BlakeC-Photography.com (external link)
Follow Me on Facebook (external link) , Instagram (external link), or Google+ (external link)
80D |70D | SL1 - Σ 18-35 1.8 ART, Σ 50-100 1.8 ART, Σ 17-50 2.8, Canon 24 2.8 Pancake, Canon 50 1.8 STM, Canon 10-18 STM, Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sploo
premature adulation
2,417 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 465
Joined Nov 2011
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
     
Apr 12, 2016 16:26 as a reply to  @ BlakeC's post |  #531

gabebalazs wrote in post #17969217 (external link)
I have to revise my statement a bit. After doing a few more tests and comparisons, the 80D is actually a little bit better at high ISOs than the 70D. I mean the difference is still small but in my previous post I may have sounded like they were even. No, the 80D is a little bit better, especially if you compare images via DPP with 0 NR for both. Also, the 80D responds a little better to NR softwares too.
Still, not necessarily a deal breaker and deciding factor between these 2 cameras (there are a ton of other, more significant features, improvements in the that make the 80D the better camera.)

I understand the noise character on the 7D2 is much improved vs earlier models - such that although the quantity of noise isn't massively better, it's much less objectionable.

The 80D (to my eyes) shares that trait, but adds some low ISO DR too - meaning the combination of quantitative and qualitative improvements makes quite a difference (specifically, I tested against the 60D and 5D3).

I haven't edited 70D files, but I'm assuming the noise character may not be quite as good as the 80D, even if the actual quantitative DR were similar at high ISO settings.

gabebalazs wrote in post #17969231 (external link)
I've been following 80D reviews on Amazon. Well, it didn't take long for the nonsense 1-star reviews to appear :)

Yea, I always check out the 1-star reviews on a site; mostly to assure myself that it's whinging by @ssclowns, rather than any actual flaw in the product.

Perhaps if Amazon had separate ratings for the product and service that might help prevent some of the "product great but delivered late, therefore 1 star" review idiocy.


dave_bass5 wrote in post #17969250 (external link)
Just wondering if it would be quicker to grade the actual video directly in LR. Wouldn't that save time?

Sadly you can't edit video in that way in Lightroom - attempting to open the Develop module on a video isn't permitted. It would be great if it were possible though.

dave_bass5 wrote in post #17969250 (external link)
Back on topic. Since getting rid of my 60D to get a 5DMKIII back in 2012 ive not kept up with Canon releases, bur after reading a few reviews i think ill be trading my 5Dmkiii in for a 80D.
While i expect ill miss the clarity of FF ive always felt ive missed having a crop camera. I was tempted to go for a 7Dmkii last year, but it lacked certain features i had on my Sony a6000 so seemed a compromise. Now the 80D has arrived, and it seems to glowing reviews, it seems to be more what i was looking for. The main feature ive missed is the fold out screen.

Think carefully about that. I've been shooting the 5D3 and 80D side by side. The 80D is a very good camera, but it doesn't have the build or feel of a 5D3.

The 5D3 is also still a good stop-and-a-bit better at high ISO (e.g. ISO 3200 on the 5D3 is better than ISO 1600 on the 80D) - even if the noise character on the 80D is better.

If you're more of a landscape guy, then the 80D may be the better choice (higher MP, better DR at low ISO). The combination of Dual Pixel AF and the folding screen would also (IMHO) make the 80D a better macro shooting camera, as well as clearly the better casual video camera (arguably a full rig and HDMI output may make the 5D3 better for the pros).


Camera, some lenses, too little time, too little talent

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlakeC
"Dad was a meat cutter"
Avatar
2,673 posts
Gallery: 372 photos
Likes: 676
Joined Jul 2014
Location: West Michigan, USA
Post edited over 3 years ago by BlakeC.
     
Apr 17, 2016 09:46 |  #532

shot a soccer tourny yesterday. Took about 2500 shots through the day. My 80D kept randomly shutting off. But it wasn't like a full shut off cycle. It would flicker off and on like it wasn't getting power. The LCD was even flickering. It was the fully charged battery that came with it. I even tried with a couple lenses to rule out a bad lens connection. Exchanging it today.

Good thing I kept my 70D for a backup!


Blake C
BlakeC-Photography.com (external link)
Follow Me on Facebook (external link) , Instagram (external link), or Google+ (external link)
80D |70D | SL1 - Σ 18-35 1.8 ART, Σ 50-100 1.8 ART, Σ 17-50 2.8, Canon 24 2.8 Pancake, Canon 50 1.8 STM, Canon 10-18 STM, Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,911 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Likes: 499
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
Post edited over 3 years ago by mwsilver. (2 edits in all)
     
Apr 17, 2016 10:10 |  #533

BlakeC wrote in post #17974678 (external link)
shot a soccer tourny yesterday. Took about 2500 shots through the day. My 80D kept randomly shutting off. But it wasn't like a full shut off cycle. It would flicker off and on like it wasn't getting power. The LCD was even flickering. It was the fully charged battery that came with it. I even tried with a couple lenses to rule out a bad lens connection. Exchanging it today.

Good thing I kept my 70D for a backup!

Since you took 2500 shots, I assume you were using more than one battery unless you were shooting in high speed mode with no chimping. If that was the case did you try a different battery to see if that was the issue?

By the way, unless you're a pro, I'm impressed that you're willing to take the time to review 2500 images from a one day shoot. Even if you only spent 10 seconds per image to review and subsequently delete those that are not keepers, it would take at least 7 hours to go through them all. Fifteen seconds each would take closer to 11 hours. This of course assumes you shot in JPEG and have no plans to PP anything.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kamae
Hatchling
4 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2016
     
Apr 17, 2016 11:43 |  #534

BlakeC wrote in post #17974678 (external link)
shot a soccer tourny yesterday. Took about 2500 shots through the day. My 80D kept randomly shutting off. But it wasn't like a full shut off cycle. It would flicker off and on like it wasn't getting power. The LCD was even flickering. It was the fully charged battery that came with it. I even tried with a couple lenses to rule out a bad lens connection. Exchanging it today. Good thing I kept my 70D for a backup!

Have you tried the 70D battery in your 80D if the problem remains?

Today, I've been at a car racing (ADAC GT Masters) and took 2100 shots with my 80D without a problem. It has been way better than last year with my 70D! Because of the bigger buffer and faster write speed to the memory card, I haven't had slow-downs when the cars passed like with the 70D last year. I really like the 80D!

But I have to admin that I used the 70D battery because I kept the new 80D battery as a backup (and to keep the charge cycles for the new battery low :-).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheNewGuy01
Member
Avatar
45 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2010
Location: LI. NY.
Post edited over 3 years ago by TheNewGuy01.
     
Apr 17, 2016 16:25 |  #535

Just received my 80d to replace my XSi (450d). Big upgrade.

I also have a 430exii flash. I was under the impression that with both the 80d and 70d I could use it remotely as a slave flash. I can not find this functionality yet. I have set the flash as a slave but how do I set the 80d as a commander. Trying to find in manual, have skimmed it 4 times now. Doing a detailed every page read now. Am I missing something? Thank you in advance for any insight.

Just an edit. There are 2 owners manuals. The basic one that comes in the box 200+ pages and one that can be obtained online 500+ pages. My answer was in there.


EOS 80D, EOS 450D/XSI, EF 50mm F1.8 STM, EF 100mm F/2.8 macro, Tamron SP 17-50MM F/2.8 XR Di II VC, EF-S 18-55mm IS, Tamron 70-300 Di VC USD, 430EXII
Ricoh KR-5 Super 52mmf2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlakeC
"Dad was a meat cutter"
Avatar
2,673 posts
Gallery: 372 photos
Likes: 676
Joined Jul 2014
Location: West Michigan, USA
     
Apr 17, 2016 17:11 as a reply to  @ Kamae's post |  #536

Yup, I actually tested it again today before I decided to exchange it. I put my 70d canon battery in it and put the 50 1.8 stm on it. All i did was turn it on and look around and focus on things. Within 1 minute it started doing it again. Just flickering in and out like its not getting power. My new one will be in tues/wed this week.

Just wanted to post about it here bc this is the 80D thread and ALL experiences should be shared (good AND bad).

Im not worried about it. There are bound to be issues here and there.

Other than that, the AF system is awesome! I did have to MA +5,+10 for my sigma 70-200 tho.


Blake C
BlakeC-Photography.com (external link)
Follow Me on Facebook (external link) , Instagram (external link), or Google+ (external link)
80D |70D | SL1 - Σ 18-35 1.8 ART, Σ 50-100 1.8 ART, Σ 17-50 2.8, Canon 24 2.8 Pancake, Canon 50 1.8 STM, Canon 10-18 STM, Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,911 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Likes: 499
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Apr 17, 2016 22:14 |  #537

BlakeC wrote in post #17975143 (external link)
Yup, I actually tested it again today before I decided to exchange it. I put my 70d canon battery in it and put the 50 1.8 stm on it. All i did was turn it on and look around and focus on things. Within 1 minute it started doing it again. Just flickering in and out like its not getting power. My new one will be in tues/wed this week.

Just wanted to post about it here bc this is the 80D thread and ALL experiences should be shared (good AND bad).

Im not worried about it. There are bound to be issues here and there.

Other than that, the AF system is awesome! I did have to MA +5,+10 for my sigma 70-200 tho.

Yep, sounds like you got a clunker. Send it back ASAP.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BlakeC
"Dad was a meat cutter"
Avatar
2,673 posts
Gallery: 372 photos
Likes: 676
Joined Jul 2014
Location: West Michigan, USA
     
Apr 18, 2016 07:33 |  #538

mwsilver wrote in post #17975571 (external link)
Yep, sounds like you got a clunker. Send it back ASAP.

I was at Best Buy when they opened yesterday and already got the new one on the way. Luckily, they have a 15 day return policy so I didn't need to deal with Canon Warranty.


Blake C
BlakeC-Photography.com (external link)
Follow Me on Facebook (external link) , Instagram (external link), or Google+ (external link)
80D |70D | SL1 - Σ 18-35 1.8 ART, Σ 50-100 1.8 ART, Σ 17-50 2.8, Canon 24 2.8 Pancake, Canon 50 1.8 STM, Canon 10-18 STM, Canon 18-135 STM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Frodge
Goldmember
Avatar
3,080 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Nov 2012
Post edited over 3 years ago by Frodge.
     
Apr 18, 2016 21:27 as a reply to  @ BlakeC's post |  #539

I would keep your 70d as a backup. It's a nice option when one or the other body stops functioning and you can just keep shooting. I also like two bodies to have two totally different kind of lenses on at a time.


_______________
“It's kind of fun to do the impossible.” - Walt Disney.
Equipment: Tokina 12-24mm, Canon 40mm 2.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 XR Di, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 70-300VC / T3I and 60D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

117,188 views & 146 likes for this thread
80D is here
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is atomanth
1015 guests, 234 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.