Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 16 Apr 2016 (Saturday) 13:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can my laptop support a 4TB external HD?

 
Perfectly ­ Frank
I'm too sexy for my lens
3,660 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1110
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 16, 2016 13:32 |  #1

I have a Dell XPS L502x laptop (about 3 to 4 years old).
I'd like to connect an external 4TB hard drive using a docking station and USB port.

I read somewhere on the net that the laptop's hard drive controller must be able to support
a 4TB drive, or else it can't be used. I've been searching the net to see if this 4TB HD is
compatible with my laptop, but can't find an answer.

Also, is a hard drive controller software or hardware? If s.w. maybe it can be upgraded.

BTW, here's the HD I have in mind. It seems to get pretty good reviews, and the price is right.

http://www.frys.com …te=sr:SEARCH:MA​IN_RSLT_PG (external link)


My flickr albums (external link)
My Best Aviation Photos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
12,702 posts
Gallery: 1093 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 8034
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Apr 16, 2016 13:48 |  #2

Heya,

You should be able to by using GPT instead of MBR. I use a 4TB external on an even older machine just fine, with Windows 7. I simply went to Disk Manager (Admin Tools) and selected the volume, deleted the volume, changed the format to GPT so that it can go beyond 2TB, and reformatted it with a new volume in that container. It reads as a 4TB drive no problem. Did the same thing with a 4TB internal too.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Perfectly ­ Frank
THREAD ­ STARTER
I'm too sexy for my lens
3,660 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1110
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 16, 2016 14:03 |  #3

MalVeauX wrote in post #17973873 (external link)
Heya,

You should be able to by using GPT instead of MBR. I use a 4TB external on an even older machine just fine, with Windows 7. I simply went to Disk Manager (Admin Tools) and selected the volume, deleted the volume, changed the format to GPT so that it can go beyond 2TB, and reformatted it with a new volume in that container. It reads as a 4TB drive no problem. Did the same thing with a 4TB internal too.

Very best,

Great, thanks for the info!


My flickr albums (external link)
My Best Aviation Photos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Perfectly ­ Frank
THREAD ­ STARTER
I'm too sexy for my lens
3,660 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1110
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 16, 2016 15:28 |  #4

Interesting...I just noticed this feature listed for the HD...

HGST GPT Disk Manager to overcome the 2.2 TB limitation of Windows systems


My flickr albums (external link)
My Best Aviation Photos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,938 posts
Likes: 467
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Apr 25, 2016 19:37 |  #5

What you do is somewhat dependent on the O/S. See https://support.micros​oft.com/en-us/kb/2581408 (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gomar
Senior Member
Avatar
527 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Sep 2010
Location: NYC
     
May 11, 2016 18:23 |  #6

Why not get an external 4TB instead of risking it and having to return it?
Even if the ext doesnt work with old USB, when you get a new laptop it sure will anyway.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,938 posts
Likes: 467
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
May 12, 2016 06:02 |  #7

Gomar wrote in post #18003990 (external link)
Why not get an external 4TB instead of risking it and having to return it?

OP already stated

Perfectly Frank wrote in post #17973866 (external link)
I'd like to connect an external 4TB hard drive using a docking station and USB port.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,829 views & 1 like for this thread
Can my laptop support a 4TB external HD?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sureshot99
847 guests, 391 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.