Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 27 Apr 2016 (Wednesday) 14:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1D X Mark II Owners Unite! Discuss & Post Photos

 
buddy4344
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Gallery: 400 photos
Best ofs: 14
Likes: 988
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Allentown, PA
     
Sep 01, 2016 14:19 |  #2536

cheffievrs wrote in post #18113789 (external link)
I wish I could say the same about it.. I just cant get it to work on my MK ii.

I keep on getting this error message, Tried the usual tricks but still the same..
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by cheffievrs in
./showthread.php?p=181​13789&i=i169520672
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

Did you download the new software?
I assume you did check you are on single focus point in the center and in one shot mode.
I also assume you checked to make sure the target is properly aligned.

Also, I found best result with really bright direct sunlight. Back when I first got the software about a year ago, I got a message that may be similar to the one you are seeing. I charged camera battery (to make sure it had good power to drive AF) and re-tried in better light and it worked.

Good luck.


Buddy4344

Gear: Canon 1Dx MkII, 7D MkII, Canon Lenses: 100 macro, 100-400 Ver.IIL IS, 24-105L IS, Canon 17-40, Canon 1.4x TCon, Rokinon 14mm. Kenko extension tubes, Kenko 1.4x pro TCon.and Kiboko 30L and 22L+

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
cheffievrs
Senior Member
561 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 231
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Leamington Spa
     
Sep 01, 2016 14:26 |  #2537

buddy4344 wrote in post #18113802 (external link)
Did you download the new software?
I assume you did check you are on single focus point in the center and in one shot mode.
I also assume you checked to make sure the target is properly aligned.

Also, I found best result with really bright direct sunlight. Back when I first got the software about a year ago, I got a message that may be similar to the one you are seeing. I charged camera battery (to make sure it had good power to drive AF) and re-tried in better light and it worked.

Good luck.

Yep, Checked and re Checked..

I use Focal's large printed target which is nicely lit

I had ok results with previous versions of Focal on my 1DX and 1D MK iv


Queens Royal Hussars
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/59499293@N08 (external link) http://500px.com/jswoo​d (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sploo
premature adulation
2,409 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 463
Joined Nov 2011
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
     
Sep 01, 2016 17:13 |  #2538

jwcdds wrote in post #18113582 (external link)
I'm quite ignorant of the technical details. My understanding is that with 4 drives, it is built to survive the lost of one drive.

So with my 4x 4TB WD Red Pro drives (registering 3.6TB), the NAS is allowing me 10.8TB of storage space (instead of 14.4TB).

I'm new to NAS so I'm still fingering it out. I've been told by another friend (who's much more tech savvy) that this is a good system.

His words:

"Oh, the synology is a monster! It's practically a full fledged server! Have fun with it!"

"VPN, SQL, Web, Python, Backup, NVR, Mail, it does more than you get with WIndows Server!"

All that is techno jibberish to me. I just want a robust storage. I think I'll still enroll in cloud backup via CrashPlan. We'll see.

Erik is spot on with RAID5. It could be RAID3, but 5 is more likely these days I believe. You will get very good performance (though you can have issues with small files with parity RAID modes - but that's irrelevant if you're using it to store photos). Obviously it will still only tolerate the loss of one disk (you'd need RAID6 otherwise, and that gets pricey).

I use a simpler RAID setup at home, but also an "off site backup system"; namely... storage I leave at my workplace, and periodically take a portable USB drive into work to copy new files over. One of my colleagues (with a particularly fast home Internet connection) does his syncing across the 'net.


Camera, some lenses, too little time, too little talent

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
Avatar
18,378 posts
Gallery: 1835 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 55456
Joined Jul 2013
     
Sep 01, 2016 18:02 |  #2539

cheffievrs wrote in post #18113789 (external link)
I wish I could say the same about it.. I just cant get it to work on my MK ii.

I keep on getting this error message, Tried the usual tricks but still the same..
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by cheffievrs in
./showthread.php?p=181​13789&i=i169520672
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

Strange. Just FoCal'ed the 300/2.8isii, the 70-300L on 7Dii/5Dsr/and the 1DXii....like clockwork. The 300/2.8 needed the least on any body
and the 70-300L needed the least on the 1DXii.
So after having done a few lenses and bodies I can say that the big whites and the 1DXii need the least adjustment period; but you'd kind of
expect that eh :)


flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
robamy
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 31491
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Chepachet, RI
     
Sep 01, 2016 18:37 |  #2540

IMAGE: https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8288/29345253096_470e849543_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/LH96​nA  (external link) Curious fawn (external link) by A & R Photography (external link), on Flickr

small clip of the fawn

https://youtu.be/Cuf3z​HJZh1k (external link)

flickr https://www.flickr.com​/photos/robamyphotos/ (external link)
Instagram #RobAmyNature
YouTubehttps://www.youtube.co​m …/UCXHzc4eU2AfHU​CuGW31GNdA (external link)
Vimeo https://vimeo.com/roba​myvideos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tc202
Goldmember
Avatar
1,942 posts
Gallery: 436 photos
Best ofs: 8
Likes: 5405
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Cody, WY
     
Sep 01, 2016 19:43 |  #2541

Willet

IMAGE: https://c5.staticflickr.com/9/8328/29286296492_daeb225568_c.jpg

Alotech Camera Bags (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HKFEVER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,978 posts
Gallery: 143 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1292
Joined Oct 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Post edited over 3 years ago by HKFEVER.
     
Sep 02, 2016 01:18 |  #2542

bps wrote in post #18113707 (external link)
Very, very nice Julian!! That is a top-shelf product you have there. It will serve you well. I've been running a RAID 5 setup now for almost two years and I love it! I went with a localized RAID 5 (versus a shared NAS) simply in the interest of speed. But wow, your setup is super nice and you have the distinct advantage of sharing/accessing that RAID from any device you want, anywhere you want. Congrats!

Now this is the gold standard of proper backups! Of course, I would expect nothing less from Erik. ;-)a

Since we're sharing storage solutions amongst friends, here are a couple of snapshots of my set-up. I don't consider it to be too off-topic since this one of the devices in which my Canon 1D X Mark II photos are stored upon. ;-)a

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: https://photos.smugmug​.com …i-Q8RkKBx-XL.jpg&lb=1&s=A  (external link) on Smugmug

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: https://photos.smugmug​.com …i-zMCJLHW-XL.jpg&lb=1&s=A  (external link) on Smugmug

I also back up this RAID 5 setup to a separate system on-site via Apple's Time Machine and then I also back up to an off-site system that is brought back to the house once a month to facilitate the off-site backup. I feel like this is a pretty solid method of protecting my work.

Cheers,
Bryan

This is by software raid, it will use up to 10% of your CPU and 200mb ram too.

From time to time computer or software freeze and need cold reboot, what will this impact on OWC's software raid volume after each freeze and hard reboot? Or even loose power!

Also, do you need to power down OWC before turn off your computer?

The above is my main concerns that stop me moving from NAS's hardware raid to OWC's software raid.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,628 posts
Gallery: 1653 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 4533
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Sep 02, 2016 01:57 |  #2543

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Family/My-Precious-Abigail/i-NrW25GM/0/X2/20160822-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20II-1DX24302-X2.jpg

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Family/My-Precious-Abigail/i-FbHdBtW/0/XL/20160823-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20II-1DX24339-XL.jpg

Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
Avatar
18,378 posts
Gallery: 1835 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 55456
Joined Jul 2013
     
Sep 02, 2016 02:11 |  #2544

HKFEVER wrote in post #18114217 (external link)
This is by software raid, it will use up to 10% of your CPU and 200mb ram too.

From time to time computer or software freeze and need cold reboot, what will this impact on OWC's software raid volume after each freeze and hard reboot? Or even loose power!

Also, do you need to power down OWC before turn off your computer?

The above is my main concerns that stop me moving from NAS's hardware raid to OWC's software raid.

My gold standard backup is Flickr and Smugmug :)


flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
Avatar
18,378 posts
Gallery: 1835 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 55456
Joined Jul 2013
     
Sep 02, 2016 02:13 |  #2545

Did I ever tell you guys I live in a rain forest?
10 days of rain. 1 day of mixed sun and cloud. Now it's raining again.
The plus is it is always lush and green. Another plus is you don't blow
out the exposure :)
So I added the 70-300L for the 5Dsr. Awesome combo; with the cropability of the
5Dsr the 70-300 is way much more. Regardless we FoCal'ed it on all the bodies
and since it was crap low light I used the light king for this shot-

IMAGE: https://c5.staticflickr.com/8/7788/29291256612_f0343d7e89_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/LCnm​6J  (external link) Cardinal in the rain (external link) by MedicineMan4040 (external link), on Flickr

flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,628 posts
Gallery: 1653 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 4533
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Sep 02, 2016 02:27 |  #2546

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Misc/Lens/Canon-50L/i-THnrhkt/0/XL/20160901-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20II-1DX25182-XL.jpg

Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HKFEVER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,978 posts
Gallery: 143 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1292
Joined Oct 2004
Location: Hong Kong
     
Sep 02, 2016 03:24 |  #2547

MedicineMan4040 wrote in post #18114240 (external link)
My gold standard backup is Flickr and Smugmug :)

I have all the NAS, Time Machine, another remote NAS ..... So I though I was safe. :grin:

But end up deleted some of my photos without noticed (human error). So after couple backup.... they were gone with the wind. :cry:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
snoylekimchi
Member
48 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 173
Joined Jun 2016
     
Sep 02, 2016 11:31 as a reply to  @ post 18113616 |  #2548

Synology uses a Hybrid RAID as default which is effectively a RAID-5 . It works . I had a drive fail in my 4 drive Synology .. the NAS kept on ticking ( warning about slight degradation) . Popped a new 4 T drive in .. it detected and prompted for the rebuild .. a few hours later .. success , and nothing lost . One can specify other RAID protocols , but what they default to is perfectly adequate ..




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MedicineMan4040
The Magic Johnson of Cameras
Avatar
18,378 posts
Gallery: 1835 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 55456
Joined Jul 2013
     
Sep 02, 2016 12:49 |  #2549

HKFEVER wrote in post #18114277 (external link)
I have all the NAS, Time Machine, another remote NAS ..... So I though I was safe. :grin:

But end up deleted some of my photos without noticed (human error). So after couple backup.... they were gone with the wind. :cry:

HK SmugMug has unlimited uploads....just saying :)
Then there is also Caronlite as you know.
Nothing on premises is safe. Nothing in cloud is safe. Sometimes best to enjoy the memory.


flickr (external link)
Vid Collection: https://www.youtube.co​m/user/medicineman4040 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scrumhalf
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,415 posts
Gallery: 61 photos
Likes: 3894
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Portland OR USA
     
Sep 02, 2016 13:07 |  #2550

If you have Prime, Amazon cloud is free to store photos. And RAW files are classified as photos, so you can save pretty much everything you have up there in the cloud. I am in the process of doing that.


Sam
5D4 | 6D | 7D2 (2 bodies) | Reasonably good glass
Gear List

If I don't get the shots I want with the gear I have, the only optics I need to examine is the mirror on the bathroom wall. The root cause will be there.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,763,341 views & 15,068 likes for this thread
1D X Mark II Owners Unite! Discuss & Post Photos
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Kévin
2168 guests, 274 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.