Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 10 Jun 2016 (Friday) 15:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Window 10 and MSI GTX 1070 drivers ... Are the drivers there from initial load.

 
Submariner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Jun 10, 2016 15:52 |  #1

Probably a complete novice question. I want to upgrade to the GTX 1070 just to get a dual DP connection for the second screen.

When I install it initially how will I see the Bios screen? I have no onboard graphics?
Will windows 10 have a driver for this new card? When it loads.

My concern is to get the latest NVIDIA driver I need windows loaded? But until Windows 10 actually loaded, how does the display work?

Just rather confused about the sequence.

I suppose I could download the driver when the GTX 970 is still loaded. But surely I cant install it then or the GTX would stop working?

How do I check the GTX 1070 will work with my SM x10SRA motherboard? Do I ask Supermicro?

Any help on these basics much appreciated.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
waylandcool
Senior Member
485 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 22
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Far NW Suburbs of Chicago
     
Jun 10, 2016 16:43 |  #2

Generally, if a PC detects a video card without a driver, it will load whatever generic VGA driver that is built into the OS. It will probably give you a basic 1024x768 display once the OS loads. You can pull down the latest Geforce driver after that.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Jun 10, 2016 18:04 |  #3

waylandcool wrote in post #18035452 (external link)
Generally, if a PC detects a video card without a driver, it will load whatever generic VGA driver that is built into the OS. It will probably give you a basic 1024x768 display once the OS loads. You can pull down the latest Geforce driver after that.

Oh thanks so much, that makes sense I was a bit scared Id end up unable to pull down any driver, and I suppose my 4K screen will just downsize to macht the signal.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
Jun 12, 2016 12:37 as a reply to  @ Submariner's post |  #4

If you installed the geforce experience software latest drivers the 1070 is included.

Doesnt the 970 support up to 4 dp connections?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
-dave-m-
Senior Member
491 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 49
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Post edited over 3 years ago by -dave-m-.
     
Jun 12, 2016 19:20 |  #5

FerozeK wrote in post #18037090 (external link)
If you installed the geforce experience software latest drivers the 1070 is included.

Doesnt the 970 support up to 4 dp connections?

His MSI 970 only has 1 DisplayPort but it also has a HDMI 2.0 input which fully supports 4k@60Hz monitors, running dual 4k monitors for non gaming would be no problem for the 970. He has previously asked about that.


5D MkII Gripped | 7D MkII Gripped | 200 f/2.8L | 17-40 f/4L | Σ 24-105 OS f/4 Art | Σ 50 f/1.4 Art | Σ 150-600 OS f/5-6.3 C | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
Jun 13, 2016 04:43 as a reply to  @ -dave-m-'s post |  #6

Thanks, I never say his previous posts. I have a Nvidia 770 reference card so just assumed the higher ones have the same ports




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Jun 21, 2016 12:40 |  #7

FerozeK wrote in post #18037090 (external link)
If you installed the geforce experience software latest drivers the 1070 is included.

Doesnt the 970 support up to 4 dp connections?

Thanks no its only got one DP 1.2 on the MSI version :( the Geforce spec says 2 - I didnt double check, but then at the time I thought one screen would be fine.)


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Jun 21, 2016 17:58 |  #8

-dave-m- wrote in post #18037348 (external link)
His MSI 970 only has 1 DisplayPort but it also has a HDMI 2.0 input which fully supports 4k@60Hz monitors, running dual 4k monitors for non gaming would be no problem for the 970. He has previously asked about that.

My HDMI on the monitor is only V.1.4 so I am limited to HDMI at 24 HZ. :(
Hence will go the GTX 1070 route, and swallow the loss upgrading.
However thanks to faulty MBs I only get 2 month usage, before one sees a Pascal GPU, which is OK as it solves my dual screen issue.
But also out of the blue looks like we will see an E5 Xeon V4 come through.
Looks like I just bought right before some major upgrades came through.
The Dual processor ones are out, so might hesitate to see if they bring out a big advancement, on the uniprocessors like an E5 1650 V4 and what turbo speed and single core performance is like.
If it was huge I might do that upgrade first.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,044 views & 0 likes for this thread
Window 10 and MSI GTX 1070 drivers ... Are the drivers there from initial load.
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is pius
1822 guests, 231 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.