Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 01 Oct 2017 (Sunday) 08:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is my Sigma 100-600 C Lens Faulty

 
Orias
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 08:12 |  #1

Hi guys,

I recently picked up a Sigma 100-600mm Contemporary lens in a pretty good deal. Seeing as I mostly photograph wildlife, I thought this would be a good option for me with double the reach of my existing lens. However, I have been trying in vain to get any sort of sharp image out of it on my 70D.
I have done a number of shots, and have been comparing to to my Canon 70-300L, and it doesn't even come close. I don't expect it to be better, but I have yet to see one usable shot .. it almost looks like all images have motion blur, even when tripod mounted at 1/1000s.

Here is what I see at 600mm, the aerial was about 50m away, the crane about 500m away. I also can't seem to get a sharp image using the viewfinder at 10x zoom. Something that I don't have an issue with on the Canon 70-300L

Is it possible that I got a dodgy unit?

Cheers


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
12,729 posts
Gallery: 1114 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 8161
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Oct 01, 2017 08:22 |  #2

Turn IS off on the tripod maybe?

How do your hand held shots look?

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 08:34 |  #3

Hey there,

IS was off on the Tripod on all shots. At 1/1000s the shots look pretty much the same as with the tripod. Generally blurry and soft at 600mm. But I also tried at 500 and 300, and it's really not much better at all.
Here is a comparison of my Canon 70-300L @ 300mm vs. the Sigma 100-600 @ 300mm.

Both are Tripod mounted, F8, IS Off, Remote Shutter Realease. And in both cases I was focusing on the "0" on the ruler. As you can see, the Canon is much sharper and the Sigma just looks like motion blur when there was really no chance of that!


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
12,729 posts
Gallery: 1114 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 8161
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Oct 01, 2017 08:46 |  #4

It's gotta be faulty then. It looks like the stabilization is on and actively correcting when it shouldn't be.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,008 posts
Likes: 491
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 9 months ago by John from PA.
     
Oct 01, 2017 08:56 |  #5

Orias wrote in post #18463861 (external link)
Hi guys,

I recently picked up a Sigma 100-600mm Contemporary lens in a pretty good deal.

Did you mean 150-600mm? Does this mean you picked it up used? If so, I wonder if the previous owner had used a dock and configured the lens to their specific body, and now you are attempting to use it with totally incorrect settings. That lens is generally known to be fairly sharp.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CheshireCat
Goldmember
Avatar
2,303 posts
Likes: 405
Joined Oct 2008
Location: *** vanished ***
Post edited 9 months ago by CheshireCat. (4 edits in all)
     
Oct 01, 2017 09:17 |  #6

Unacceptable. It seems the lens is front-focusing by quite a bit.

As discussed in other threads, I am totally against the Sigma “have naive users spend more money for a dock product to fix lens production issues” mentality.
My money is perfectly working, so lenses must be perfectly working out of the box. Other users will disagree.

Different lens, but similar problem:
https://www.the-digital-picture.com …News-Post.aspx?News=14462 (external link)
Note that if the lens is tilted or decentered, the dock is useless but Sigma will be happy to keep your money.


1Dx, 5D2 and some lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 09:23 |  #7

Sorry, yes ... I did mean 150-600 :D

And it's brand new, not 2nd hand, so there shouldn't be any issues with previous users' configurations. I actually already had the Sigma dock, so I know that all of the settings are default, and the Firmware is already updated to the most recent version.
It's looking more and more likely that I might have got a bad one :(

Thanks for the feedback so far, much appreciated.
Cheers


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jethr0
Senior Member
Avatar
954 posts
Gallery: 69 photos
Likes: 596
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
     
Oct 01, 2017 09:48 |  #8

What do you have the second from the top switch set to?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


www.jefflowe.ca (external link)
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jeff​lowe.ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
3,229 posts
Likes: 359
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Post edited 9 months ago by davesrose.
     
Oct 01, 2017 09:50 as a reply to  @ Orias's post |  #9

The Sigma is a bit softer at 600mm, but especially on my 5D3, have been pretty impressed with its sharpness for the money (don't use long telephoto as much, so this lens was my top choice for its performance and weight). It works great out of the box, and seems compatible with my Canon bodies, so have never felt the need to get the Sigma dock. Is the distance limiter set to Full, and have you tried the two different Custom modes? The lens might have a default C1:speed, C2:accurate focus. If any of those settings make a difference, then that may reveal where the fault lies.


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 10:02 |  #10

Jethr0 wrote in post #18463915 (external link)
What do you have the second from the top switch set to?

I've got that set to FULL at the moment

In terms of the Custom Settings, right now they are both at the defaults out of the box, but I have that set to "OFF" for these tests. I just did a couple of shots on the dogs with a flash, handheld at 1/250. The first one was at 150mm and it's nice and sharp, so very happy with that. The 2nd one was at 600mm (but I was only about 3m away), and it's not too bad really. Not 100% on the focus, but salvageable in editing I think.

The lens definitely works better with the light from a flash, but it still doesn't explain why my crane/aerial shots are so fuzzy, when they were tripod mounted and there was enough light to get 1/1000s at F8. There's every chance that this could be user error, but I am pretty experienced with my Canon 70-300L, so maybe the Sigma is just a lot less forgiving


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,008 posts
Likes: 491
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Oct 01, 2017 10:09 |  #11

Orias wrote in post #18463900 (external link)
Sorry, yes ... I did mean 150-600 :D

And it's brand new, not 2nd hand, so there shouldn't be any issues with previous users' configurations. I actually already had the Sigma dock, so I know that all of the settings are default, and the Firmware is already updated to the most recent version.
It's looking more and more likely that I might have got a bad one :(

Since you have the dock, have you tweaked it for your specific camera body?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 10:58 |  #12

The problem with this is that it's very hard to see if it's front or back focusing. I don't have enough space to test it properly at 600mm (need about 30m or so), and when I do try and test it, pretty much the whole image appears as out of focus, like the original measuring stick one I posted above.

It seems like it's sharper around the 6 or 7 on the marker, which would seem to indicate that it's front focusing, but this is over a distance of 10m, so it's not really an accurate representation of the focus at 600mm where I need about 30m

Cheers


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jethr0
Senior Member
Avatar
954 posts
Gallery: 69 photos
Likes: 596
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
     
Oct 01, 2017 11:10 |  #13

Maybe the crane was moving slightly in the wind?

Mine is sharp everywhere (IMO). Maybe exchange it?


www.jefflowe.ca (external link)
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jeff​lowe.ca (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Orias
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
109 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 85
Joined May 2011
Location: Madrid, Spain
     
Oct 01, 2017 11:20 |  #14

Jethr0 wrote in post #18463962 (external link)
Maybe the crane was moving slightly in the wind?

Definitely no wind out here today, I'm stuck out in Madrid and it's generally warm and mild today :lol:
I'll take the lens to the zoo tomorrow and see what happens. I'll get a few hundred shots with it at least, which will allow me to make a more informed decision.

I'll definitely take the Canon 70-300L too, so it's not a total waste of a day if the Sigma turns out to be faulty!


Canon EOS 70D + Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6L IS USM + Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM + Canon 10-18mm IS USM, Canon 18-135mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 55-250mm IS + Canon Speedlight 430 EXII
My Site - Arup Photography (external link)
500px - http://500px.com/arnie​arup (external link)
Flickr - James Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Phoenixkh
a mere speck
6,697 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Likes: 1276
Joined May 2011
Location: Gainesville, Florida
     
Oct 01, 2017 11:48 |  #15

Orias wrote in post #18463966 (external link)
Definitely no wind out here today, I'm stuck out in Madrid and it's generally warm and mild today :lol:
I'll take the lens to the zoo tomorrow and see what happens. I'll get a few hundred shots with it at least, which will allow me to make a more informed decision.

I'll definitely take the Canon 70-300L too, so it's not a total waste of a day if the Sigma turns out to be faulty!

Those of us who own the 70-300L are generally happy with it...and often compare future long lenses to the results we got with our 70-300L. I ended up getting a 100-400Lii... much more expensive than your Sigma... and I love it.

I still can't bring myself to sell the 70-300L. They aren't worth all that much these days, so I am keeping mine. I'm trying to get my wife to use it.

Anyway, sorry for thinking in font. I'd take your Sigma back. It sure looks like there is an issue with it. I guess you'll know better after your zoo trip.


Kim (the male variety) Canon 1DX2 | 1D IV | 16-35 f/4 IS | 24-105 f/4 IS | 100L IS macro | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 100-400Lii | 50 f/1.8 STM | Canon 1.4X III
RRS tripod and monopod | 580EXII | Cinch 1 & Loop 3 Special Edition | Editing Encouraged

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

39,224 views & 9 likes for this thread
Is my Sigma 100-600 C Lens Faulty
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is foxier22
500 guests, 384 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.